Cobb Pasta

January 25, 2010 at 12:26 pm 7 comments

Lunch today was a giant bowl-o-pasta. I saved the extra pasta shells I had from my marathon stuffed shell cooking session. They were only partially cooked, so I covered them in water and popped them in the microwave for a few minutes to finish the cooking process.

Meanwhile I started chopping the goods: spinach, basil, artichokes, and turkey.

spinach and artichoke

I thought it looked like a Cobb salad before I stirred it all together. Maybe it’s just me.

salad

Then I topped it off with some feta cheese, dried basil, rosemary, black pepper, and marinara sauce.

pasta bowl

Instant pasta 🙂

Now I’m brainstorming recipe ideas for some of my new exciting veggies from my trip to Whole Foods. I have leeks, baby bok choy, and a purple sweet potato!! I’ve never made any of these things, so I can’t wait to try them out!!

I’ve also been brainstorming ways to share all the information I learned at the conference I was at last weekend. I’m going to split it into series (and combine it with some other info too!). Every Tuesday morning I’ll be sharing a random tidbit of information and a little information about it. I’m also putting together a whole Sports Nutrition Series– information on hydration, pre and post exercise fueling, types of fuel, etc.

Tomorrow will kick off the first Did You Know Tuesday! Topics I’ll be touching on are obesity in professional athletes,whether all calories are the same, caffeine, muscle loss, sports drinks, and more. I can’t wait!

If you have a specific topic or question you want me to address feel free to let me know! You can email me at rungirlrunn at gmail dot com, or click on the “ask anything” box on the right sidebar. (You can also use that to ask anything at all you’re curious about!)

Entry filed under: DYKT, Lunch, SNS. Tags: , , , , .

Pantry Dump Reader Issues

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Haleigh  |  January 25, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    Pasta is excellent when you want something fast and tasty. Pasta can be a nice, elegant meal too… I just love pasta haha 🙂 It’s so versatile.

    Reply
  • 2. theprocessofhealing  |  January 25, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    That pasta sounds sooo good and i’m very excited about Did You Know Tuesday!! Great idea!!

    I love love leeks but i’ve never had bok choy or purple sweet potatoes.. intriguing!

    Reply
  • 3. Anne Marie@New Weigh of Life  |  January 25, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    I’m excited for Tuesday!!

    Reply
  • 4. Anna  |  January 25, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    Looks delicious! I love little mini-nutrition lessons too, so I’m excited for DYK Tuesday!

    Reply
  • 5. marathonmaiden  |  January 25, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    can’t wait for tuesday! great looking pasta. i wish i liked it more than i do (read: not at all!) because it always looks so yummy when people prepare it

    Reply
  • 6. Runeatrepeat  |  January 25, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    I’m excited about that purple sweet potato. Is it a taro? That series sounds good.

    Reply
  • 7. Shannon  |  January 25, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    I’ll look forward to the tidbits you share from your conference. I remember thinking it sounded like a very interesting conference when you wrote about it a couple weeks ago.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

