The Next New Super Food?

January 25, 2010 at 7:38 pm 18 comments

Please kindly update your readers to http://sideofsneakers.com Thank ya much!

 

Even though my new shoes are screaming “wear me, wear me!” my training schedule dictates otherwise. Today’s a “stretch and strength” day, so I did a series of strength exercises in my room.

weights

i prefer stretching after a good cardio sweat session, so I did a few light stretches and called it a day.

 

An important, yet often overlooked, part of living a healthy life is relaxation. Avoiding stress is better than dealing with (or ignoring) stress. It can’t always be avoided, but I like to try to keep my stress as low as possible.

I’ve been go-go-go lately, constantly thinking about everything I need to get done. I took a minute to examine my to do list when I got home from work this evening, and found there was nothing on it that was going to cause the world to collapse if I didn’t get it done in the next few hours.

So I’m prioritizing to put a little relaxation on the schedule tonight.

It started with this:

wine

A glass of Boordy Chilled Apple wine. I’d been saving this one for awhile. I thought it was going to be awesome but I guess I was expecting too much. Eh.

Then I tackled this:

purple sweet potato

The purple sweet potato! This one was grown in NC!

Did you know sweet potatoes are in the same family as the morning glory? I had no idea! They even flower:

sweet potato flower

Purple sweet potatoes get their color from a phytochemical called anthocyanin.

Anthocyanin has been shown to :

– lower risk of cancer

– decrease cardiovascular disease

– improve visual function

– decrease risk or slow down progress of some chronic diseases

– enhance memory

Cooking enhances the anthocyanin in the purple sweet potato by 150%!

(Antioxidants in many fruits and vegetables do these things too, but anthocyanin is thought to be especially powerful).

First I scrubbed the little guy (he was covered in dirt) and I could already see how purple it was!

purple sweet potato

Then the first scary slice….

purple sweet potato

Holy purple-y goodness!! This was some serious purpleness going on.

I couldn’t decide what I wanted to make with the purple sweet potato, so I opted to go with my favorite choice for the orange variety. Baked sweet tater fries!

(I also couldn’t decide if I wanted rounds or strips so I did a little of both)

purple sweet potatoes

purple sweet potatoes

I usually put spices like chili powder and cumin on my sweet potato fries, but this purple guy was just calling out to me “rosemary..rosemary…”

So I listened. Rosemary, basil, and marjoram were my spices of choice tonight.

Baked them in the oven about 30 minutes or so. While the oven was working it’s magic I prepared some kale chips.

Kale chips = baggie + olive oil + pepper + sea salt + shake shake shake and bake!

Pretty soon I had a gorgeous array of colors displayed on my plate.

veggies

kale chips purple sweet potatoes

Hmm something was missing……

burger and veggies

That’s better!!

Morningstar Farms Black Bean burger.

And the verdict on the purple sweet potato:

…..

……

tastes like a sweet potato!! Really, it tasted just like the orange kind. If you really twisted my arm I would venture to say it was slightly sweeter, but if you couldn’t see what you were eating you probably wouldn’t notice any difference.

What cool side dishes you could make with such a pretty colored veggie! They always say to “eat the rainbow” (all different color veggies) and you don’t often get the opportunity for purple!

 

Now for the relaxation part of the evening…I’m going to watch My Sister’s Keeper. I’m prepared to cry already.

I haven’t wanted to see it because it is my all time favorite book and knew the movie wouldn’t live up to it, but I’ve heard the ending is entirely different and my curiousity  has finally gotten the best of me.

I also see a cup of Purely Decadent in my future somewhere….. 😉

 

Stayed tuned tomorrow morning for the first edition of Did You Know Tuesday!!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Training. Tags: , , , , .

Reader Issues DYKT Edition #1

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  January 25, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    I had sweet potato “fries” for dinner tonight too! But mine weren’t purple… yours are special 🙂
    Haha but I will be on the search for those!

    Reply
  • 2. marathonmaiden  |  January 25, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    wow purple sweet potato is funky looking! cool. and i’m going to be relaxing tonight with jack bauer. okay so maybe being on the edge of my seat isn’t exactly stress reducing but it’s a start right? 🙂

    Reply
    • 3. Heather  |  January 25, 2010 at 9:55 pm

      I think it still counts 😉

      Reply
  • 4. Anna  |  January 25, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    Wow– that sweet potato is beautiful!! I’ve never seen a purple one in our grocery store!

    Reply
  • 5. Heather  |  January 25, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    I have never seen a purple sweet potato – so great that it is local too!

    I haven’t seen or read My Sisters Keeper but I hear it is quite the tear jerker.

    I am not so good with relaxing – I definitely need some help with it!

    Reply
  • 6. Julie  |  January 25, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    I am all about relaxing and the apple wine looks very refreshing! Also, I am a huge fan of sweet potatos. We actually have them at least two times a week. Enjoy your relaxing evening:)

    Reply
  • 7. Mae (OhhMay.Wordpress)  |  January 25, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    The sweet potato is so interesting. I bet it would be beautiful mashed!!! Hahaha I love how the new shake and bake is kale chips and olive oil. Maybe our society is making a comeback afterall!!

    Mae

    Reply
  • 8. Teacherwoman  |  January 25, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    Wow! That is a purple tator! Oh my goodness!

    Enjoy the movie. I cried, and my friend who read the book bawled her eyes out.

    Reply
  • 9. theprocessofhealing  |  January 25, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    I also just realized what your plate looked like and I definitely almost bought the same one today…

    Reply
  • 10. actorsdiet  |  January 25, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    love purple sweet potatoes! i’ve only had them in restaurants, have never had the pleasure of having them at home yet.

    Reply
  • 11. greensandjeans  |  January 25, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled for those purple sweet potatoes!

    Reply
  • 12. Aimee (I Tri To Be Me)  |  January 25, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    Your dinner looked so yummy! I make sweet potato fries w/ bocca burgers every once in awhile and my boys love it! I think they would definitely love the purple fries! I’ll have to look for them the next time I’m at the store!

    Reply
  • 13. thewhatkateateblog  |  January 25, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    what a gorgeous sweet potato! i love eating beautiful food.

    Reply
  • 14. Mel-2nd Chances  |  January 25, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    updated my reader! What a cool purple potato!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 15. Shannon  |  January 26, 2010 at 6:37 am

    I’ve never had a purple sweet potato. So pretty!

    I’m glad you had a relaxing night. It’s easy to lose sight of the importance of some downtime. Hope the movie was good. I read the book, but haven’t seen the movie for the same reason you hadn’t.

    Reply
  • 16. Katharine  |  January 26, 2010 at 10:04 am

    I’m interested to hear what you think about the movie. I read the book, too, and they are definitely different (but I won’t say anything yet so as not to spoil anything). I am now on a search for a purple potato! How pretty! 🙂

    Reply
  • 17. shelly  |  January 26, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    Can you eat the flower like you can eat a squash flower? They are quite yummy.

    Reply
    • 18. Heather  |  January 26, 2010 at 4:59 pm

      I don’t think you can but I’m not 100% positive…I think finding a sweet potato that’s actually flowered is pretty rare too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

