Adventures in Bok Choy

January 26, 2010 at 7:49 pm 8 comments

First, a pre-dinner snack.

almond butter

Whole wheat bread, almond butter, and cinnamon.

Then on to adventures in baby bok choy!

I love bok choy! I love how delicate the baby bok choy is too. 🙂

baby bok choy

Bok Choy & Shrimp Stir Fry

Baby bok choy

Shrimp

Lemon juice

Red pepper flakes

Chicken broth

Garlic, large slices.

Ginger

Low sodium soy sauce

Sesame oil

Sesame seeds

Black pepper

Wash bok choy thoroughly (may help to soak in bowl of water- dirt will sink to bottom), then chop into bite sized pieces. Cook shrimp in wok or pan until just turn pink. Top with lemon juice and red pepper flakes. Set aside.

shrimp

Saute bok choy just until it wilts. Splash with chicken broth. Add in ginger, garlic, soy sauce, sesame oil, and black pepper. Add shrimp back in. Sprinkle with sesame seeds.

stir fry

I also had some chicken vegetable soup as an appetizer.

soup

And Mocha Almond Purely Decadent for dessert.

purely decadent

And there ya have it.

By the way, I ended up liking My Sister’s Keeper. I was surprised. I it helped that I tried to think of the movie and book as two separate things. (I knew it wouldn’t be the same as the book, so I pretended it was a story I didn’t know…it sort of worked).

I won’t say too much so I don’t ruin it for anyone, but it was definitely different than the book. Same premise, but some of the details were different. The end was totally different. Still sad, but not as shocking in my opinion. I did like the way they approached telling the story by telling it from a variety of view points.

But of course, the book still remains WAY on top for me 🙂

iHerb giveaway over at Eating Bird Food and What’s for Dinner?!

Entry filed under: Dessert, Dinner. Tags: , , , , .

My Big Fat Greek Yogurt Today is Bananas B-A-N-A-N-A-S

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Runeatrepeat  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    I want to see that movie and I don’t. I hate sad movies, but I want to see it…

    Reply
  • 2. theprocessofhealing  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    Almond butter + cinnamon is sooo good!! And your dinner sounds yummy!

    i actually haven’t seen that movie because i’ve heard it’s so sad. I hate to cry in movies unless I WANT to .. you know?

    Reply
  • 3. Heather  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    Love the recipe with bok choy – we tried it for the first time a few weeks ago and I would love to experiment with it again.

    Reply
  • 4. marathonmaiden  |  January 26, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    i don’t think i’d like the movie (i like gun & bomb movies haha) but i think my taste in books is a little more varied. although i never cry over them so i always feel awkward reading really sad ones

    Reply
    • 5. Heather  |  January 27, 2010 at 7:38 am

      I never cried reading a book until I read that one….

      Reply
  • 6. Joanna Sutter  |  January 26, 2010 at 11:18 pm

    I loved the movie! I had a good cry for a solid 90 minutes! 😉

    Reply
  • 7. fromatopink  |  January 27, 2010 at 10:06 am

    I’m glad you ended up liking the movie! I tend to always enjoy the books more than the movie versions, and that was the same in this case. But still a good flick. 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. shelly  |  January 28, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    My sister’s keeper is a great movie. Amazing story.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

