My Big Fat Greek Yogurt

January 26, 2010 at 2:59 pm 15 comments

If posts are showing up at weird times try updating your reader to http://sideofsneakers.com

 

What is it about cold weather that makes snot flow freely? Maybe it’s just me.

It wasn’t really that cold; about 47 degrees, but dry today!

I ran just over 4 miles in just over 40 minutes at the park this afternoon. The run felt great! I tried to keep my pace up through the whole run, and hold it strong at the end.

I was a little disappointed to see I average about 9:42 min/mile- I felt like I was pushing harder than that! I guess compared to my slow run on Sunday this was faster though! Either way, it felt great. My glutes were screaming thanks to my strength session yesterday.

To be exact I’d guess I  ran 4.18 miles in 40.33. (Like how I said to be exact and then I guessed?) You gotta do what you gotta do when you don’t have fancy-schmancy gadgets like a Garmin and what not!

I took my “splits” again just to compare to Sunday’s run:

 

  Sunday Today
Split 1 29.xx 27.16
Split 2 44.xx 40.33

(I found out today the Tobacco Road Marathon is completely sold out!! That’s a good sign for it’s first year!)

As I finished my run I noticed this on the side of the road:

 DSCN0720

a lost wallet 😦

Unfortunately I don’t think I was the first to stumble upon it….there was no money or credit cards. There was a license so I’m going to try to mail it back- hope his address is up to date!

I had some random eats today.

panera bagel

A whole grain bagel from Panera

 (Panera: you need to add peanut butter to your menu!) If I know I’m going I bring my own packet, but I didn’t know I was going and I’m out of PB packs!

Orange slices

oranges

Some Mrs. Fields cookies at work (that I didn’t take a picture of.) I had 2 mini peanut butter and 1 small cinnamon sugar cookie.

And then some Greek yogurt after my run.

oikos caramel

Kristina at Stoneyfield was kind enough to send me some coupons to try this stuff out! (Thanks Kristina!)

If you haven’t had Greek yogurt before, it’s strained to remove the whey, resulting in a thick, creamy yogurt with twice the protein and less sugar than traditional yogurt. Oikos, Stoneyfield’s brand, is made from organic milk, meaning it’s made without chemical fertilizers, antibiotics, or hormones. Sounds good to me!

This is the first Oikos I’ve tried. I usually prefer to use Greek yogurt as a substitute for sour cream because of it’s tanginess, so I wasn’t sure what to expect from a flavored Greek yogurt.

All I can say is wow! I really like this Caramel flavor. Seriously, it was dessert worthy. I’m not really too big on yogurt in general (except in baking) so it says a lot that I just chowed down on this like there was no tomorrow. I can’t wait to try out some of the other flavors I got.

I love the idea of Greek yogurt, but I have to say the price gets me every time. It’s pretty steep, so it’d have to be on sale or I’d have to have some good coupons to be able to add this to my regular diet.

 

I’m going to be SO ready for a nice, big dinner tonight!

Entry filed under: Lunch, Training. Tags: , , , .

DYKT Edition #1 Adventures in Bok Choy

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. marathonmaiden  |  January 26, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    agreed about panara needing pb on the menu! and i love being exact with my workout numbers too. i am a freak like that haha

    Reply
  • 2. Teacherwoman  |  January 26, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    I didn’t know they made caramel flavored greek yogurt, yum yum!

    That’s sad about the wallet. Seems like someone might have taken what they “wanted” and left the rest. Glad that you are going to try to return it to it’s rightful owner.

    BTW, love the plate you had your orange on … too cute!

    Reply
  • 3. Estela @ Weekly Bite  |  January 26, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    I have the caramel okikos in my fridge… haven’t tried it yet… maybe tomorrow 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Anna  |  January 26, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    Cute plate!! And that caramel oikos sounds delish!

    Reply
  • 5. Erin  |  January 26, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    I’d like to try Oikos but haven’t yet — the price is really off-putting. I’ve heard it’s great, though. 🙂

    I’m just impressed you make it out for a run in the cold. Total wimp right here!

    Reply
  • 6. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  January 26, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    I love it enough to get price amnesia I guess LOL. I have not seen the caramel – YUM!

    Reply
  • 7. theprocessofhealing  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    I have been looking for that yogurt everywhere!! Looks soo good! I happen to love love greek yogurt. Yogurt in general but Oikos and Chobani are awesome brands. The price is steep but it’s worth it to me. Yogurt is where I get most of my protein and dairy and I use it almost daily. Coupons are never turned down though 😉

    Reply
  • 8. Heather  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    I love the caramel yogurt!

    I switched to greek yogurt and find it hard to go back to regular – I try to find it on sale or with coupons – it is expensive.

    Reply
  • 9. fromatopink  |  January 26, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    I can’t wait until that yogurt hits shelves near me! And good job being a good samaritan – good karma’s coming your way! 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. lindsayruns  |  January 26, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    caramel sounds great, I love honey Fage… but I prefer plain with my own stuff mixed in cause I like swirls of goodies 🙂

    I’m not following your splits chart, but your run today sounded great! I know how you feel with out the fancy stuff…I only get a stop watch when I can get it off my husband’s wrist, totally need to buy my own (but I’m trying to convince him I need a garmin, not a cheapo. it’s not working)

    Reply
    • 11. Heather  |  January 27, 2010 at 7:39 am

      haha I just picked 2 places on my run and looked at my watch….not really splits, just so I could compare how my runs were 😉

      Reply
  • 12. lessonstolearn  |  January 27, 2010 at 8:26 am

    I love greek yogurt! I just wish it weren’t so expensive. The protein punch is great! I really want to try the chocolate and caramel Oikos, but I haven’t seen them.

    Reply
  • 13. onelittlejill  |  January 27, 2010 at 8:55 am

    My dad once found a wallet when we were on vacation, in the hotel lobby and it was FULL of money. He turned it into the hotel and later the lady at the desk gave my dad an envelope that had $50 and note inside that said: “This was all our trip money, thank you for being honest.” A few years later, on another vacation, my dad lost HIS wallet and a few weeks later it showed up in the mail. There was no return address which has always bothered him because he would have liked to have thanked the person for their kindness. I chalk this whole long story up to one thing: Karma! I beileve my fathers wallet was found and returned because he was once honest enough to do the same thing.

    Whew- sorry for the longest comment ever!

    Reply
    • 14. Heather  |  January 27, 2010 at 5:18 pm

      Wow that is good karma!!!

      Reply
  • 15. shelly  |  January 28, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    kuddos for returning the wallet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

