Today is Bananas B-A-N-A-N-A-S

January 27, 2010 at 6:41 am 15 comments

(Anybody see that Office episode? Today is bananas, b-a-n-a-n-a-s…)

This morning called for stovetop oats even though it was a super-early one.

I tried toasting some of the wheat germ, coconut, and walnuts with the oatmeal before adding the liquid. I’d like to say it intensified the flavor, but it might possibly have been attributed to my imagination.

toasting

Then I stirred in some banana. I love slicing the banana as thin as I can then beating the oats until the banana completely dissolves. I don’t like banana chunks in my oats.

stovetop oats

I also had cottage cheese, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, and flax in the mix.

Oh creamy goodness!

oats in a bowl creamy oatmeal

A little coconut on top and a spoonful of peanut butter to get me through the day!

bowl of oats and pb

oatmeal and peanut butter

Today is a huge long day at work with two very important meetings around lunch, so I won’t be able to post 😦 I hope you have a wonderful Wednesday and I’ll see you all at dinner!

Happy Wednesday!

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , , .

Adventures in Bok Choy Lame-o-lame

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather  |  January 27, 2010 at 7:34 am

    Love the oatmeal – I mash my banana into one big mush before adding it to my oatmeal – it blends right in very easily.

    Good luck with all your meetings!

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  January 27, 2010 at 7:40 am

      That’s a good idea!

      Reply
  • 3. Anna  |  January 27, 2010 at 7:58 am

    lol– I posted that Kelly video on my blog the other day; I LOVE it when she says that!

    Have a great day!

    Reply
  • 4. Jenna  |  January 27, 2010 at 8:34 am

    On just makes everyhing that much better!!

    Reply
  • 5. Jenna  |  January 27, 2010 at 8:34 am

    Peanut butter*

    Reply
  • 6. Sarah  |  January 27, 2010 at 8:34 am

    ok that definitely kills my instant oatmeal.

    Reply
  • 7. marathonmaiden  |  January 27, 2010 at 9:32 am

    i put bananas in my oats, nothing fancy just sliced and then whatever amount of the banana isn’t in my oats gets slathered with pb 🙂 yum

    Reply
  • 8. Estela @ Weekly Bite  |  January 27, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Adding PB in oats is one of my favorites 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Reply
  • 9. fromatopink  |  January 27, 2010 at 11:13 am

    I need to get on the “bananas in my oats” train. I’m just fearful of chunks – but now I know to slice them really thin!

    Reply
  • 10. Erin  |  January 27, 2010 at 11:17 am

    That big scoop of PB makes me jealous — I came downstairs to make oats this morning and discovered that the jar of PB was already empty and in the recycling bin. Nooooooooo! 😦

    Reply
  • 11. Anne Marie@New Weigh of Life  |  January 27, 2010 at 11:51 am

    The oats look awesome!

    Reply
  • 12. theprocessofhealing  |  January 27, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    Good luck with the meetings! Have a fantastic day too!!

    And that’s also how I like my banana in my oatmeal. it makes it SO creamy!!!! It basically melts into the oats..yum..

    Reply
  • 13. julia  |  January 27, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Ha! I’m the same with the small slices when I add banana to my oats, so much better;)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

    Reply
  • 14. onelittlejill  |  January 27, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    Love the office!

    Reply
  • 15. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  January 27, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    oooh they look awesome 🙂 I want some!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

