Get Your Game Face On!

January 28, 2010 at 6:56 pm 21 comments

For one of my classes, I’m required to attend a sporting event and write a huge paper analyzing it. Rough assignment, huh? (Well not the first paper maybe, but the paper writing is actually haha).

Tonight’s the night! The husband and I are going to see the only local game we could find that fit in our schedule before the paper’s due: the UNCG vs Elon Men’s basketball game.

zz z

Now, I’m not much for sport watching on tv. (Mostly because the husband watches it 24/7). Live, in-person games are a different story! Although I will feel like a huge nerd taking notes at a sporting event, I’m looking forward to a fun evening.

As I was getting ready to make dinner, the husband called and said he was bringing leftovers from another work event- wow twice in one week! (This never happens).

He ended bringing home some “traditional Southern food”- BBQ and hush puppies. I don’t particularly care for BBQ but don’t tell anybody in NC that or I’ll get shunned. I had some but mostly let the hubs chow on that. I do love hushpuppies, despite their utter lack of nutritional value. In case you’re not familiar with them, they’re basically fried cornbread turds. But good tasting turds.

I was already prepared to have dinner ready in time to go to the game, so I used the extra time to whip up some no-bake oatmeal cookies!!

no bake cookies

Usually the first step in a no-bake recipe is to boil bladda bladdy blah. In my book, boiling counts as cooking (or in this case baking). So I experimented with microwaving 🙂

This recipe is going to totally blow, just warning you. I was throwing this and that here and there, and hoping I’d end up with something edible. Since it turned out halfway decent, I’ll work on recreating it so I can get you better measurements. Really you probably don’t need the measurements- just throw stuff in until it looks good like I did. 🙂

Anyways, I used about 3-4 Tbsp milk (some almond, some skim), maybe 1/4c almond butter, and a dap of coconut oil. I microwaved it ‘til the almond butter melted (not long).

Then I stirred in old fashioned oats, probably about 1 cup, plus a couple tablespoons of wheat germ, a little flax seed, bunches of cinnamon, and a few squirts of agave nectar. After tasting I added a little more agave nectar to decrease the grassy taste of the wheat germ. So either more agave or less wheat germ I suppose.

Then I stirred, plopped onto some parchment paper and stuck it in the fridge til I couldn’t stand it. Probably not more than 15 minutes honestly, if that. Then I chowed down. 🙂  It made 6 pretty good size cookies, so adjust accordingly.

Mmm mmm good. Even the husband said they weren’t bad (and ate 3!), so I know they were pretty darn yum.

Perfect for impatient people like me that just want a cookie now! No silly waiting for baking. (Although you do lose out on the fresh-out-of-the-oven warm first bite.)

no bake oatmeal cookie

I’m fully expecting to enjoy a good beer at the game tonight (they just moved the games to the city coliseum where they serve LOCAL beer! It’s Natty Greene’s and it’s great! Yes, I’m biased, my husband’s friend brews it- but I still liked it before he started there).

OOoo homework and beer. I AM a rebel. 🙂

Entry filed under: Dessert, Dinner, School. Tags: , , , .

Run + Wrap…wrun and wrap?! Time to Do the Friday Dance!

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aimee (I Tri To Be Me)  |  January 28, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Sounds like a great homework assignment! How come I never had an assignment like that….ha ha! I hope you have a great time at the game!

    Reply
  • 2. marathonmaiden  |  January 28, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    so jealous of you going to the game! college basketball is amazing.

    Reply
  • 3. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  January 28, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    So fun! I’m going to a NBA game tonight, but my heart will always be with college ball! I’m sure you’ll have a blast!

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  January 29, 2010 at 9:17 am

      Have fun!!!

      Reply
  • 5. Anna  |  January 28, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    Mmmm…the cookies look great! Have a fun time at the game!

    Reply
  • 6. julie  |  January 28, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    Hi Heather,
    Those no bake cookies look so good! My mom made the non-healthy version and they were always one of my favorites:) I must try the healthy version!

    By the way, I love basketball and am a little jealous of your homework assignment:)

    Reply
  • 7. Heather  |  January 28, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    I love hush puppies – when I lived in Georgia, I was probably the only person in the state who did not like BBQ.

    Have fun at the game. My best friend works at Elon!

    Reply
  • 8. Shelly  |  January 28, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    Oh great. All I can think about are those no bakes!!! Is 11:24 too late to make them?

    Reply
    • 9. Heather  |  January 29, 2010 at 9:19 am

      Absolutely not! 🙂

      Reply
  • 10. whydeprive  |  January 29, 2010 at 12:49 am

    I havent had no bake cookies since I was little. Oh they were SO good!!

    Reply
  • 11. brandi  |  January 29, 2010 at 8:37 am

    what a fun assignment! hope you guys had a good time 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. J  |  January 29, 2010 at 8:49 am

    Now that is my kind of assignment!! I love it!

    Reply
  • 13. onelittlejill  |  January 29, 2010 at 9:02 am

    My friend went to Elon! This is the type of work I would love to do…going to games and writing. I love love love sports!

    Reply
  • 14. theprocessofhealing  |  January 29, 2010 at 9:03 am

    Yummy cookies!!!

    Oh gosh.. hushpuppies.. void of any nutritional value but OH so good!!!!!!! Fried bread…. how can you go wrong?

    Reply
  • 15. lindsayruns  |  January 29, 2010 at 11:16 am

    Yay for Natty Greenes! I love that bar! Who’d your root for at the game??

    Reply
    • 16. Heather  |  January 29, 2010 at 6:14 pm

      I love their Wildflower..mmm! The ended up not serving it at the game though 😦 I cheered for UNCG 🙂

      Reply
  • 17. Matt  |  January 29, 2010 at 11:16 am

    College basketball games are a lot of fun! I have only been to a few, but they are a blast.

    Good looking cookies 🙂

    Reply
  • 18. Whitney @ Lettuce Love  |  January 29, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Fun assignment! No-bake oatmeal cookies — yum 😉

    Reply
  • 19. Jenna  |  January 29, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Those look great!!

    Reply
  • 20. fromatopink  |  January 29, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    no bake cookies are my weakness. they are so fudgey and delicious and yum! see, i have a problem. (but i might just go home and make some tonight anyway!) have a good weekend 🙂

    Reply
    • 21. Heather  |  January 29, 2010 at 6:16 pm

      I know, I can’t stop eating them once I make them…I need to make some more already 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

