Run + Wrap…wrun and wrap?!

January 28, 2010 at 2:12 pm 20 comments

Ooo it’s supposed to get C-O-L-D this weekend!! Apparently a snow storm is coming our way Friday night into Saturday. Good thing my runs are scheduled for today and Sunday—let’s hope it clears up by then!

I got to run today in some beautiful weather—it was pushing 50 degrees! (Which makes the snow threat even more unusual.) It was one of those days when it’s hard to figure out how to dress. I wasn’t planning for it to be that warm, so I was in long pants, long sleeves, and a headband. I could’ve done without the headband and been more comfortable but then my hair would’ve been in my face. I was a little warm, but comfortable. I passed a guy in shorts and a t-shirt twice though and I felt I litle woos-y and overdressed 🙂

military park

I ran the same path I did on Tuesday, but I started at a different point to mix things up a little. From where I started measuring, I did 3.95 miles in 39.38, which makes 9:52 pace. I was really trying to make this more like a tempo run…so much for that? I really felt like I was trying to run faster, and I was wiped out at the end. What gives? Oh well, it was still a nice, hard run!

I did have some stomach troubles on this one though…there was a point that I realllllllly wanted to walk, but I knew I’d get to a bathroom faster if I kept running. (Don’t worry, I made it!)

AND…

I wore my NEW SHOES!!! It’s a little early to give a fair review, but so far….I LOVE THEM!!! The Mizunos are a little roomier in the toe box than the DS Trainers, and have a little stiffer sole. With the way my feet are now, this feels good to me! I think it’s important to note that as your body or stride changes, you need to re-evaluate your shoes!!!

I also wore my new socks, the Asics Hera low cut socks. I loved the way the formed to my feet, and I loved how they were low cut but still had little tabs with padding that kept my shoes from rubbing my ankles. They felt a little slippery in my shoes though, and I felt like my feet sweat more. Maybe that’s the way running socks are “supposed” to be. If so I’m not sure I’m jumping on the bandwagon- I’ll stick to my cotton Gold Toes (oooo bad I know!).

After my run I had some lunch. I was really craving a burrito with refried beans, but I didn’t have any veggies that I really wanted to put in a burrito. And a burrito with just a tortilla and beans wasn’t gonna cut it. I compromised by making a wrap and then having some chips and refried beans as a dip on the side.

chips and beans

Still loving these RiceWorks chips.

I made my wrap with Laughing Cow Light Swiss Cheese, some garlic, spinach, turkey, mozzarella cheese, and black pepper. At the last minute I decided not to “wrap” it and put it in the oven open-faced.

wrap pizza

Oh-my-gosh. You will seeing this again. SO good. I guess it was kinda like a wrap-version of pizza. But it was really good- just crispy enough, just chewy-cheese-y enough 🙂

melty cheese pizza wrap

Are you brand-loyal to your running shoes? Do you wear “running” socks? Why + what kind? Give me the scoop!

Entry filed under: Lunch, Training. Tags: , , , , .

Changing it Up Get Your Game Face On!

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne Marie@New Weigh of Life  |  January 28, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    I’m not much of a runner, but I had to comment on the pizza you made-it looks awesome!

    Reply
  • 2. marathonmaiden  |  January 28, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    ahhh don’t say the dreaded four letter word: snow!!

    Reply
  • 3. Kristen @ Change of Pace  |  January 28, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    I wear mizunos too and I LOVE them. I won’t wear any other shoe for exercise! Your pizza looks amazing! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. onelittlejill  |  January 28, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    I am not looking forward to the cold front coming in OR the wind that will be accompanying it! But I am still determined to do my miles outside this weekend!

    Reply
  • 5. Jenna  |  January 28, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    Hey!
    I just came across your blog and I can’t wait to read it and follow!
    I would love it if you could check out mine and follow:)
    Jenna

    Reply
  • 6. Laura Georgina  |  January 28, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    That pizza made my stomach growl somthing terrible… it looks too good for looking at while at work 🙂

    I didn’t think I’d be brand loyal, but after running in New Balance and Saucony shoes and switching to Nikes I think I’m a swish convert. They’re not super fancy and don’t make me fly or anything, but I forget that I’m wearing them and my feet don’t hate me afterwards. I’ve also just discovered the joys of running socks (albeit the cheap Target C9 brand), and I will NEVER go back to plain cotton.

    Reply
  • 7. MCM Mama  |  January 28, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    Ooh, that “pizza” looks yummy. So yummy in fact that I may be having something similar for dinner…

    I love Balega socks. I have a couple of other brands, but I always seem to go back to the Balega.

    I used to be an Asics girl, but my running store put me in a Mizuno for my last marathon. I liked it, but I lost a toenail. Right now, I’m alternating between Mizuno and Saucony, with the Saucony being my long run shoe. We’ll see how my toe does…

    Reply
  • 8. Jill  |  January 28, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    I think a good pair of running socks are vital! I love my Asics Gel runner’s but am not loyal. If the shoe fits! 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Matt  |  January 28, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Good looking wrap 🙂 Reminds me of a pizza that I make all the time!

    Reply
  • 10. Erin  |  January 28, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    I’m so NOT hardcore enough to have proper running socks but just simple Champions that do the job. 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Cassie  |  January 28, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    I recently tried running socks as well, and had the same reaction! They weren’t thick enough for my liking, and slid around in my shoe. I always get blisters with my cotton socks though, so hopefully I’ll get used to the running socks soon 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. Mae (OhhMay.Wordpress)  |  January 28, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    I liked my nike socks that had arch support, they were really fun. My good luck socks I wore on race day had cherries all over them… they were amazing!
    The wrap pizza looks good… One of my favorite lunch/dinners!

    Reply
    • 13. Heather  |  January 29, 2010 at 9:17 am

      Oo socks with arch support sounds super comfy!

      Reply
  • 14. Katherine @ Lipgloss and Spandex  |  January 28, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    Those new shoes look awesome! I personally am hooked on Nikes, because I like how narrow they are. But next time I go in to get fitted, I’ll try to be more open minded. And I’m a regular sock kind of gal as well–I’m obsessed with the Kate Bell socks from Costco. They’re the only socks I’ll buy.

    Reply
  • 15. fromatopink  |  January 28, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    I didn’t even know there were socks specifically for running. Reveals what a novice runner/walker I am. Oops! I am, however, looking into fitted for shoes. And I’m oddly excited. 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. Heather  |  January 28, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    I run in Brooks – I love them and have bought the same pair 3 times.

    I use injingi socks to run – without them I was getting horrible blisters on my toes. Since I switched to them, no blisters!

    Reply
    • 17. Heather  |  January 29, 2010 at 9:18 am

      I’ll have to keep an eye for them, I’ve never heard of those kind!

      Reply
  • 18. Shelly  |  January 28, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    I love saucony shoes! Very loyal. Love the weight and support of them.

    Running socks, yep! Not brand loyal there. I try what looks cute or comfy and stick with ones that work but styles change often so I stay open to trying whatever I find at the most reasonable price.

    Reply
  • 19. lindsayruns  |  January 29, 2010 at 10:34 am

    Soo brand loyal on shoes…I wear brooks adrenaline gts 9 right now. I have 3 pairs of model 8 and two of 9. I only wear the newest for runs and the second newest for the gym and walks. The the hirarchy goes down for bumming, then lawn work, etc… haha I keep a tally on the side of the shoe with a sharpie so I know what number it is and the pairs stick together!

    Socks? most are UA, but my favorites are my black balega hidden comforts…loooove

    Reply
    • 20. Heather  |  January 29, 2010 at 6:14 pm

      Haha I love your system!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

