Friday Dance –> Friday Run

January 29, 2010 at 4:10 pm 11 comments

North Carolinians notoriously overreact to snow storm warnings.You’d think the apocalypse was coming the way some people talk. I usually ignore all the talk until I actually see snow on the ground. After hearing countless and countless reports of all the snow coming, I decided maybe I should give the weatherman at least a little credit. There’s definitely something coming, and it’ll be cold.  We’re under a storm warning until 12am Sunday already, and they’ve already closed the public schools for the day. (Now that’s ridiculous)

It got me thinking about what the conditions at the park might be on Sunday for my long run. It takes forever to get roads cleared simply because they don’t have a lot of equipment to handle big snows.

So I did my long run today. Better to plan ahead and not need to, than wait and have to miss it. I did 7.14 miles in 1:15.28. Oops it was supposed to be 6!! Oh well 🙂 10:32 a mile, not too much slower than me trying to go fast yesterday, haha. Funny how differently runs can go from day to day. This is officially the longest distance I’ve run since 2001!!

I wasn’t really hungry after my run, but eating is important! I had a double protein packed fajita!

I chopped up some leftover barbeque chicken with onions and peppers, and put it in a wrap with some refried beans and spinach. Yum-o! I think I’ll have a snack or another mini lunch when I warm up and get hungry!! My hands are still frozen 🙂

fajita fajita wrap

When you push yourself to go faster or longer, where do you feel it first- your lungs, your legs, or something else? I’d say for me it’s  my joints first!! I’m like an old lady 😉

Entry filed under: Lunch, Training. Tags: , .

Time to Do the Friday Dance! Polenta Pizza Casserole

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristen @ Change of Pace  |  January 29, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    Awesome job on your run girl! My legs start feeling like jello when I push myself!

    Reply
  • 2. marathonmaiden  |  January 29, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    i definitely feel it in my lungs first when i go faster but i feel it in my legs first when i go longer. great run 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Jenna  |  January 29, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    Yummmm wrap!

    Reply
  • 4. Allie (Live Laugh Eat)  |  January 29, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    JUST as I read this post, my roommates started screaming “IT’S SNOWING!!! THIS IS SOOOO MAGICAL!!!!” 🙂 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Anna  |  January 29, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    Yep– I feel it in my knees! I’m an old lady too 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. theprocessofhealing  |  January 29, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    That wrap looks SO good!!!!

    And yay for your long run!!! That must make you so happy!!

    When I push myself to run faster, I feel it in my legs during the run but my knees after… ouch..

    And about the snow, I so feel you. One snow flake and everyone freaks out. I wrote about it in my blog post too but I was at work and one of the teachers who who teaches there actually ran down the hallway screaming “it’s snowing!!!” at the top of her lungs. She was more excited than our 5,6, and 7 years olds.

    Reply
  • 7. Shelly  |  January 29, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    Great job!

    I feel it in my head!

    Reply
  • 8. Erin  |  January 29, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    I feel it in my legs like WOAH — my lungs aren’t exhausted but my legs start feeling like lead. And so far, the farthest I can run is 4 miles!

    Reply
  • 9. Onelittletrigirl  |  January 30, 2010 at 8:44 am

    People in NJ go nuts too. Milk bread and eggs are what everyone buys. Guess there is a need for French Toast in the snow?!?!?!

    Reply
    • 10. Heather  |  January 30, 2010 at 9:34 am

      Haha yup that and toilet paper!

      Reply
  • 11. inmytummy  |  January 31, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    They completely freak out in Georgia too.

    I think I feel it in my legs first.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

