Snow Day!

January 30, 2010 at 9:44 am 13 comments

Well, we got real snow after all! Probably about 6 inches so far, and now it’s doing a nasty freezing rain – sleeting thing. I decided to wait a little while to go in to work just to make conditions a little better. So instead I’m enjoying my “snow day” morning!

 snow 10

snow '10

The husband told me last night if it snowed he wanted to celebrate with cinnamon buns, so being the good wife that I am, I listened. (Except I cheated with the help of Mr. Pillsbury). Only problem is he sleeps forever so I haven’t been able to put them in the oven yet!

 cinnamon rolls roll

cinnamon roll

I decided to tide myself over with some Kashi Honey Sunshine.

honey sunshine cereal

I love this cereal 🙂 It looks like it should be a kids’ cereal but still has a healthy taste. Yum. Plus, those cinnamon rolls never fill me up. This way I can enjoy them without eating the whole pan 😉

Then I made some latte – style coffee with Fresh Market Christmas Blend. (I hope I finish this bag before the next holiday comes around…haha) My mom sent me a tip that was written on the inside of her Dove chocolate the other day- to mix a little cinnamon in the coffee grounds before you brew. I decided to give it a try (even though my coffee already has cinnamon in it)! Yum! I could actually taste it! (and I LOVE cinnamon.)

coffee foam latte

 

I’m a little bummed though, I was hoping to watch some Today Show action since I was actually home in the AM for once, and it was pre-empted by local news snow-coverage. 😦 Oh wellll.

 

How do you spend snow days?! We rarely get them so I really want to go play in it, but it’s so wet and yucky right now I think I’ll wait.

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , , , .

Polenta Pizza Casserole My Favorite Running Gear- Winter Edition

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  January 30, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Cinnamon in coffee.. great idea! And I love cinnamon buns but I never make them because they don’t fill me up. But good idea of eating something else with them, that would work!!

    Sounds like you got more snow than we did! It’s sleeting here now too.. yuck. But the snow is really pretty! I’d like to go play in it too… but alas, I must go study. Fun stuff.

    Reply
  • 2. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  January 30, 2010 at 11:01 am

    Man, I have to say the one thing I miss the most since I moved to Arizona is a good snow day!

    Reply
  • 3. Danielle  |  January 30, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    We get a lotttt of snow over here. I usually just relax/do homework 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Estela @ Weekly Bite  |  January 30, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    Those pop open cinnamon rolls are my favorite!

    Enjoy your snow day!

    Reply
  • 5. fromatopink  |  January 30, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    I spend snow days snuggled up under a blanket with some hot cocoa and a book! Enjoy your day of relaxation (and those cinnamon buns, mmm).

    Reply
  • 6. Kristen @ Change of Pace  |  January 30, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    The snow is SO pretty! We bought that Christmas blend around Thanksgiving and it was gone waaay before Christmas! It’s really good and definitely puts you in a cozy mood 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Anna  |  January 30, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    I LOVE pillbury cinnamon buns! Such a guilty pleasure of mine…it reminds me of sleepovers 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Katie  |  January 30, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    Look at all that snow!!

    THose cinnamon rolls remind me of being a little kid – my dad used to make them on Saturday morning.

    Reply
  • 9. Matt  |  January 30, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    I LOVE THOSE CINNAMON ROLLS!

    I usually spend my snowday inside. I hate being cold!

    Reply
  • 10. marathonmaiden  |  January 30, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    i haven’t had a snow day in about 6 years. seriously. new englanders never cancel 😦

    but if i did get one i’d sit by my window reading with some tea and if i was feeling sassy i’d go make a snowman. i loved doing that when i was younger

    Reply
  • 11. Mel-2nd Chances  |  January 30, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    Sigh, having spent the last week in Florida, I’m not looking forward to return to the cold 😦

    Reply
  • 12. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  January 30, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Snow days can be so much fun! 😀 Usually I spend my day baking and listening to favorite tunes. I love lounging in my pjs and not feeling like I have to be anywhere. It’s especially nice when the snow day lands on a weekend. 😀

    Reply
  • 13. onelittlejill  |  January 31, 2010 at 8:13 am

    I am super thankful we only got a dusting. I HATE snow, unless it gives me a snow day! Usually when I have one, I scrapbook or organize things…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

