Stop Looking at Me Swan

January 30, 2010 at 10:11 pm 9 comments

Haha sorry, I’m watching Billy Madison. Such a good movie!

I’m so glad I went on a shell baking frenzy last weekend- it made dinner tonight super easy. I just popped a dish of the frozen shells in the oven for an hour and forgot about it until delicious smells started filling the house.

 stuffed shells

It’s about as close to having someone cook for me as I’m gonna get. 😉 I definitely love the addition of the Neufchatel cheese- it makes the filling so creamy and rich-tasting without sitting heavy in your stomach.

stuffed shells

Since dinner was a cinch, I had time to some experimenting in the kitchen for dessert, and boy was I ever happy with the outcome. Best dessert of the year. (Ok, that’d be more impressive if it wasn’t January.)

Blueberry Cream Crepes!

Crepes

1/4 cup buckwheat flour

1/4 cup all purpose flour

1 small container fat free yogurt

1/8 cup egg substitute

1/8 cup almond milk

cinnamon

splash of agave nectar (optional), but recommend if using buckwheat flour)

Mix ingredients together. Refrigerate for 1 hour. (Let’s bubbles dissipate and prevents tearing when you cook them!)

Filling

1 small container vanilla Greek yogurt (I used Oikos)

cinnamon & agave nectar to taste

Topping

Fresh blueberries (I had a little less than a 1/2 pint- would work with frozen too)

1 T sugar (the real deal here;))

1 t agave nectar

1 t cornstarch

splash of water (I actually used Crystal light lemonade just because I had it)

orange zest

 

Heat topping ingredients in small saucepan over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally. I smashed up the blueberries a little with the spoon once they had heated up. Simmer over low heat while you prepare crepes.

To make crepes, spoon small amount of batter in small pan. Be sure to coat well with non-stick spray, butter, etc. Use back of spoon in a circular motion to spread batter thinly. Cook 1 minute, flip, cook 1-2 more minutes. Set aside on paper towel. Makes about 4 crepes.

crepe

Spread filling down center of each crepe. Wrap crepe around filling. (Use an extra dab of yogurt to help hold crepe closed.)

Top each crepe with blueberry mixture. (I went heavy on the topping and only had enough for 2 crepes…it was good without it too.) Top with a little more orange zest and cinnamon. (Optional).

(The blueberry mixture itself would be awesome over ice cream.)

Eat like there’s no tomorrow.

Seriously.

blueberry cream crepe

blueberry cream crepe 

Amazingly good. Proof dessert can be healthy.

My only wish: I had more blueberries to make it again tomorrow 🙂

 

Hope you all enjoyed your Saturday!

Entry filed under: Dessert, Dinner. Tags: , , , .

My Favorite Running Gear- Winter Edition Good Ol’ Sunday Morning

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenna  |  January 30, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    Wow! Those look great!!

    Reply
  • 2. lindsayruns  |  January 30, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    Oh wow, those crepes look super pro. I love pulling out homemade frozen dinners!

    Reply
  • 3. Danielle  |  January 31, 2010 at 12:18 am

    Haha I read the title and laughed 🙂
    Crepes have always intimidated me but you make them look easy!

    Reply
  • 4. lessonstolearn  |  January 31, 2010 at 8:09 am

    I love crepes, but I can’t remember the last time I had one! Looks easy enough to do…

    Reply
  • 5. Anna  |  January 31, 2010 at 8:12 am

    Mmmm…I LOVE crepes! And I also love meals that you can freeze and reheat for delicious smells!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Matt  |  January 31, 2010 at 9:06 am

    Those crepes look really good 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  January 31, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    Oh man those crepes look fantastic!

    Reply
  • 8. shelly  |  February 2, 2010 at 10:02 am

    Those shells are such a great idea!

    Crepes, my hubby would love me if I attempted them. Cut and paste time!

    Reply
    • 9. Heather  |  February 2, 2010 at 12:03 pm

      They were SO much easier than I thought 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

