Kitchen Experiments

February 1, 2010 at 8:44 pm 4 comments

Tonight’s dinner had not one, but two new ingredients for me. Leeks and pearl barley.

Chicken and Leek Soup

1 bunch of leeks

1 small onion

1 stalk celery

4 cups water

~1 cup chicken broth

1/2 cup pearl barley

2 chicken breasts

pepper

thyme

lemon juice

spinach

salt to taste

Chop all the veggies and throw them in the pan first to get a little color and a jump start on the cooking. Add water and chicken broth. Bring to a boil as you add the barely, chicken, and spices. I threw the chicken in whole and uncooked so it would flavor the broth as it cooked.  Once it boils, return to a simmer. Once chicken is cooked, remove and use two forks to shred. Set aside. Continue cooking until barley is soft but slightly chewy. (~30 min). Return chicken to soup, along with spinach and lemon juice. Cook until spinach wilts, then serve and enjoy!

chicken and leek soup

This would certainly be a hearty enough soup without the chicken too.

After dinner, I decided to hop on this banana soft serve train.

Dbananas

banana ice cream 

Just blend up frozen banana and voila, instant ice cream!! Mine was a little bit icy in texture, but I think my poor little mini food processor couldn’t handle the frozen banana. I literally had to hold it down with all my weight to keep it from bounding off the counter. I ended up adding a little almond milk and cinnamon, but I’m sure it’d be good just plain too.

 

Tomorrow’s Groundhog’s Day!! Are you hoping for shadow or no?! I’m looking forward to spring, but I’m not ready for the summer heat that follows!!

 

Don’t forget to check back in the AM for Did You Know Tuesday!!

Entry filed under: Dessert, Dinner. Tags: , , , , .

Simple is Good Did You Know Tuesday #2

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Estela @ Weekly Bite  |  February 1, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    Frozen bananas makes the best ice cream! It tastes so creamy!

    Reply
  • 2. Matt  |  February 1, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    Haha I forgot tomorrow was Groundhogs day! I am really ready for spring…

    Reply
  • 3. Danielle  |  February 1, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    Your dinner looks delicious- did you make that up yourself? If so, I’m impressed 🙂

    That darn groundhog better not see his shadow lol

    Reply
  • 4. Anna  |  February 2, 2010 at 7:58 am

    Now that I live in PA, I tried to convince my husband that we needed to go to Puxatawney to see the groundhog!! He wasn’t having any of it.

    I love pearl barley– such great chew!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

