Simple is Good

February 1, 2010 at 1:56 pm 9 comments

I continue to laugh at the overreaction NC has to snow. Schools were closed again today. Now, I understand about keeping buses safe and all that, but a delay would’ve even been pushing it. The differences in the way people act about weather in different states will never cease to amaze me. In MD, when it snows, everyone is out shoveling before it even stops, or else it gets to hard to shovel. They don’t stay home, even in a blizzard. If you can’t drive, you walk. Things don’t close. Here in NC, not one of my neighbors shoveled their driveway. (Me included- I don’t own a snow shovel). But I managed to get to work just fine in my non-four-wheel drive just fine.

Anyways. Lunch was an Amy’s veggie burger and bowl full of veggies, thanks to Mr. Green Giant. Easy, good, filling. Perfect for a Monday.

 burger and veggeis

veggies

Entry filed under: Lunch. Tags: , .

Welcoming February with Oats Kitchen Experiments

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maria  |  February 1, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    I ate steel cut oats for breakfast. Your lunch looks great too. I am getting hungry for mine now:)

    Reply
  • 2. abbynormally  |  February 1, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    Pennsylvania born and bred… southern states’ response to snow always makes me laugh!

    Reply
  • 3. Kristen @ Change of Pace  |  February 1, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    Haha I live in NC too but we didn’t get any snow! They really do overreact though. I remember when I was in high school they closed school for 2 weeks all because of a dusting of snow! Crazy 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Anna  |  February 1, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    Gotta love green giant frozen veggies 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. marathonmaiden  |  February 1, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    haha i’m in NE and nothing ever closes either. there is no such thing as too much snow for us 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Katherine @ Lipgloss and Spandex  |  February 1, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    I remember NC freaking out about snow! I’m in WA and we also panic at the first snowflake. I kind of like it that way. It’s funny, but better than having to get around in 3 feet of the stuff!

    Reply
  • 7. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  February 2, 2010 at 8:46 am

    It’s that way here in AR. Just mention winter weather and people flock to the stores and buy up all the milk and bread. They close the schools if a single flake falls. It’s nuts. Kind of funny though. Your lunch does look pretty tasty. Simple is sometimes the best way to go.

    Reply
  • 8. Becca  |  February 2, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Those are my FAVORITE veggies!!!!

    Reply
  • 9. Annie  |  February 3, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    You have to admit, sometimes its nice to have an excuse to stay home. Even though I’m a native, I never did understand the run on milk and bread. Are those that much yummier when you’re at home. Seriously, us South of the Mason Dixon liners freak out because we don’t get enough snow to own a snow shovel or learn how to drive in it.
    I’m definitely copying this lunch! Thanks for writing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

