A Tale of Two Salads

February 2, 2010 at 7:41 pm 11 comments

Notice anything missing from my lunch post? Like….lunch?! Haha sorry about that.

Lunch was leftover Chicken and Leek Soup with some Wheat Thins and Sonoma Jack cheese. I got the Sonoma Jack cheese awhile back thinking it might be similar to Laughing Cow….not so much. Interesting flavor, but it has a rather “plastic-y” taste/texture.

wheat thins soup

Due to the nasty weather we’re experiencing, I thought it was best to take my run to the gym and treadmill it out. Apparently that’s what everyone else in town thought too. The gym was packed. Beyond packed. Not a treadmill open in sight. No open machines actually- no bikes, treadmills, ellipticals.

Luckily, I had my bathing suit in my gym bag, so I went into the locker room to change. As I walked from the locker room into the pool area, what do I see? A big empty concrete vat. No water. I finally see a little sign that said the pool would be closed for maintenance on Jan 28th. Umm hello? It’s Feb 2nd!!!! Plan 2 foiled.

I changed again, then went to check on the treadmill situation. Way down at the end of the gym, I happened to spot someone climbing off an elliptical. I figured what the heck, I’ll do that until a treadmill opened up. Twenty minutes later, no treadmill, and I had to go. Mega bummer.

 

Roasted Sweet Potato & Hot Chicken-Cranberry-Walnut Salad

My run may have been a fail, but my dinner was not!

I always always make fries when I have a sweet potato, so I thought I’d try something else for a change. I chopped the sweet potato into 1 inch cubes, tossed them in sesame oil, salt, and pepper, and popped them in the oven to roast.

While they roasted, I made a sauce of brown mustard, red wine vinegar, garlic, lime juice, and pepper. I also chopped some peanuts into small pieces and roasted them for a couple minutes. When the sweet potatoes were almost done, I tossed them, the peanuts, and the sauce together and cooked just a few minutes longer.

raosted sweet potatoes

Meanwhile, I sauteed a breast of chicken. During the last minute of cooking, I threw in some chopped walnuts to toast. Then I chopped the chicken and added Greek yogurt, a tiny dollop of olive oil mayo, black pepper, brown mustard, the walnuts, and some dried cranberries to make a chicken salad.

chicken salad

So dinner ended up being two salads…can I still call them salads if they’re warm? I say yes.

hot salads

 

Sweet Ending

Dessert was a single serving oatmeal cookie (I make it exactly like my morning oats, but add less almond milk and a splash of egg substitute(and stir in AB or PB instead of on top), plus some sweet treats like chocolate chips and peanut butter chips tonight) then pop it in the microwave until it looks cooked.

cookie mix

I overestimated cooking time a bit tonight and it got a teeeny bit burned on the bottom, but it just made it an extra crispy cookie 🙂 To soften it up a little, I added a scoop of Coconut Purely Decadent.

cookie and ice cream 

On second thought, on top is better 🙂

cookie and ice cream

I love a little something sweet at the end of the day 🙂

 

Enjoy your evening!!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Lunch, Training. Tags: , , , , , , .

Liquid Motivation Mystery Oat Ingedient

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. marathonmaiden  |  February 2, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    wow major bummer about the gym. i hate it when it’s wicked crowded like that! does your gym have a time rule? even at my schools gym we have a 30 minute rule. luckily i go at offbeat times so i don’t have to do it haha

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  February 3, 2010 at 8:35 am

      Nope 😦 My college gym did, but not this one.

      Reply
  • 3. Anna  |  February 2, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Mmmm…your dinner looks amazing, lady!

    Reply
  • 4. theprocessofhealing  |  February 2, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    Ok that is one delicious night of food. Those salads sound fantastic! Can’t go wrong with the sweet potatoes. I always do fries too.. maybe I should try something different.
    Wow your gym must’ve been craaaazy!

    Reply
  • 5. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  February 2, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    Argh I hate busy gyms!!! So frustrating! They make me want to buy a treadmill …. but we have no space at our little house *sigh*
    Love that dinner though!!!

    Reply
  • 6. Whole Body Love  |  February 2, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    I love the chicken salad idea! I am a fan of almost anything made with Greek Yogurt but that sounds awesome!

    Reply
  • 7. Mel-2nd Chances  |  February 2, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    Ooooh! Those two salads sound amazing! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 8. Matt  |  February 3, 2010 at 8:13 am

    I hate when the gym is packed! Hopefully it will start winding down now that we are into February.

    Reply
    • 9. Heather  |  February 3, 2010 at 8:36 am

      I hope so!

      Reply
  • 10. Erin Eats and Exercises  |  February 3, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    Wow dessert looks great! Is that a dairy free ice cream?

    Reply
    • 11. Heather  |  February 3, 2010 at 2:55 pm

      Yup, sure is! It’s the So Delicious Purely Decadent Coconut flavor

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

