Liquid Motivation

February 2, 2010 at 1:06 pm 21 comments

That darn Groundhog saw his shadow…more winter here we come. Although I’m not surprised, considering the crazy weather we’ve been having! Spring will come soon enough 🙂

groundhog

 

On my way home from work I grabbed a cup of liquid motivation so I can get crack-a-lackin on some studying and distract myself from the miserable weather.

DSCN0462

Liquid motivation aka Starbucks Skinny Cinnamon Dolce Latte.

I pulled up to the window and the guy in the magical box said “Can I interest you in a skinny cinnamon dolce latte?”

I said, “Well that’s actually exactly what I want!!” How did he know?! hahaa. It’s my fav. I always get it, even though I say I’m going to try something new.

My tips for controlling the Starbucks habit (if you have one) so your wallet doesn’t bust:

– Gift cards, gift cards, gift cards! I always ask for them for holidays

– Register your gift cards!! It gets you discounts like free coffee refills and free syrup and stuff. This would’ve been $3.50 but since I used my registered card it was only $2.75. That adds up!

Make your own. That’s what I usually do…but sometimes things just taste better when somebody else makes them 😉

 

Challenge Yourself to Do NEW Things

I constantly find myself thinking of things I would like to do or try, and then promptly forgetting them. Enough of that! This month I’m going to try to knock a few things off that list!

So I came up with—->

My New-Things February List: 

1. Make my own Greek yogurt. That stuff is $$$!

2. Make my own hummus. I’ve always avoided this because I couldn’t find tahini- I’m either going to find it or make it without it!

3. Start dancing again. I’ve dance my whole life, but gave it up when I hurt my feet. I know I’m still not ready for ballet or anything, but I’m thinking I might be able to handle something that involves sneakers 🙂

So there ya have it. What are you going to try new this month?!

Entry filed under: Other. Tags: , .

Did You Know Tuesday #2 A Tale of Two Salads

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  February 2, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    Ok so I had no idea you could register Starbucks gift cards. Thanks for the tip! I have a starbucks addiction but i’ve gotten a lot better. It adds up!!

    And great new-things in Feb list! I didn’t know you could make greek yogurt..

    Reply
  • 2. marathonmaiden  |  February 2, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    ahahahah when i first saw liquid motivation starbucks was not what i had in mind 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Morgan @ Life After Bagels  |  February 2, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    I just started making my own hummus last month and its so delicious . . . I also looked like a hero at a potluck last week for it being so good!

    Reply
  • 4. Kay  |  February 2, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    that is such a great idea to make your own greek yogurt – I should do the same because I eat it all the time!! can’t wait to see how it turns out 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Karissa @ CardioFoodie  |  February 2, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    I had no idea about registering gift cards either! Great tip!

    Reply
  • 6. lindsayruns  |  February 2, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    my own hummus doesn’t taste as good as the packaged stuff. I take one for the team and buy it anyways. My starbucks experience is coffee with two pumps of a random syrup or hot tea…nice that nothing’s over 2 dollars for me!

    Reply
    • 7. Heather  |  February 2, 2010 at 7:09 pm

      I need to try the coffee & syrup combo….

      Reply
  • 8. whydontcharun  |  February 2, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    Hummus? Oh, you must try this recipe!

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/dave-lieberman/hummus-dip-recipe/index.html

    It is hands down, the best hummus I’ve ever had. It uses sesame oil in lieu of tahini. Let me know if you try it and what you think. 🙂 ENJOY!

    Reply
    • 9. Heather  |  February 2, 2010 at 7:09 pm

      Oh thanks, I’ll definitely have to check that one out!!

      Reply
  • 10. Danielle  |  February 2, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Tahini isn’t usually found with the rest of the nut butters- but making your own hummus is worth it!

    Darn groundhog

    Reply
  • 11. Kara (@ Kara's Marathon)  |  February 2, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    Making your own hummus is a great idea — I’m definitely going to try that! I’m also going to try the water aerobics class at my gym (taught by a past Biggest Loser contestant!) that I’ve been meaning to go to for months now.

    Reply
    • 12. Heather  |  February 2, 2010 at 7:09 pm

      How cool!!

      Reply
  • 13. Gelareh @ Nutritious Foodie  |  February 2, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    I was talking to my mom earlier and she was saying the same thing.. that I should try to make my own greek yogurt.

    Reply
  • 14. Erin  |  February 2, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    I make hummus without tahini…just chickpeas, garlic, lemon juice, olive oil, and salt. I think homemade hummus is wayyyyy better than store bought anyway!

    Reply
  • 15. Anna  |  February 2, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    Ooh! I didn’t know that registering your sbucks card gets you discounts! I’ll have to do that– thanks for the tip!

    Reply
  • 16. Erin  |  February 2, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    Registering makes a big difference — I just realized that you could recently so I missed out on like a month of benefits haha — it’s great though to cut the extra $ from soy and flavors.

    Reply
  • 17. inmytummy  |  February 2, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    I’ve always heard that you can use peanut butter in hummus instead of tahini. I’ve never tried it though so don’t blame me if it’s bad!

    Reply
    • 18. Heather  |  February 3, 2010 at 8:36 am

      Haha I’d be willing to give it a try! 😉

      Reply
  • 19. Heather  |  February 4, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    I have to make my own hummus because I’m allergic to tahini!

    Making my own greek yogurt was going to be on my to-do list for this weekend – I agree – it is so expensive!

    Reply
  • 20. Laura Georgina  |  February 5, 2010 at 11:07 am

    If you can’t find tahini, you can sub in a bit of sesame oil and it will still taste right!

    Reply
    • 21. Heather  |  February 5, 2010 at 11:17 am

      Oh thanks, I’ll try that!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

