Mystery Oat Ingedient

February 3, 2010 at 8:35 am 15 comments

I’ve been sneaking in a secret ingredient on you in my oats…

toasting oats

Can you guess what it is?

…..

…..

Coconut Oil!!!!

I’ve been using it to toast my oats in before I cook my oatmeal. Mmm. It complements the flavor of the unsweetened coconut flakes I usually put in.

It hasn’t been long yet, so I can tell you any serious results, but I’ve been trying to use my coconut oil in as many ways as possible:

– in my oats

– in cooking (stir-fry, etc)

– no-bake oatmeal cookies

– moisturizer (feels good- I’m cautious on my face though because I don’t want to break out. Some people say it helps them, others say it causes breakouts.)

– hair conditioner (I put it on the ends of my hair and left it in overnight, then showered in the morning)

Coconut oil has a ton of other uses, I just haven’t gotten to try them all yet! Other ideas include:

– It can be used in any cooking or baking instead of another oil (it can withstand higher heats than other fats)

– Under-eye cream

– Shaving cream

– Anti-chaffing gel

-Anti-frizz gel

– Face cleaner

– Lip treatment

– Massage oil

– Burn/cut treatment

– Magic chocolate “shell”…you know what I’m talking about?

At this point you might be saying, why would I want to eat coconut oil? It’s full of saturated fat!

Yes, it is. But they’re medium chain fatty acids (MCFAs), not long chain. This means they’re digested different than those “evil saturated fats”- they’re absorbed directly into the liver instead of into the blood. They’re then used for energy instead of stored as fat.

So what are some of the benefits of eating coconut oil?

The fat in coconut oil is rich in important fatty acids: lauric acid, capric acid, and caprylic acid. Lauric acid can help protect against infection and aids in inactivating viruses (it’s actually found in breastmilk).

Coconut oil has been said to help reduce heart disease, aid thyroid function, improve digestive disorders, delay osteoporosis, prevent tooth decay….the list goes on and on.

There’s a lot more to be said about coconut oil, but I won’t go on and on. Interesting concept though, no?

(I got my coconut oil from iHerb– you can get some too- use code GIR416 for $5 off. I’ve also seen it at Whole Foods and other health stores too. The best things to look for for “good” coconut oil are: raw, extra virgin, unrefined, organic.)

 

Now back to my oats!

This morning was stove top oats. I toasted the dry ingredients in coconut oil, then added the liquid and sliced bananas. Stir, stir, stir….

Beautiful oats!

oatmeal

Pretty much my standard mix of oatmeal, flax, wheat germ, cinnamon, nutmeg, unsweetened coconut flakes, and walnuts, plus chia seeds, bananas, and cottage cheese. Don’t fret, peanut butter is coming! 🙂

And nothing makes a morning better than a nice cup of Joe to go with delicious oats!

oats and coffee

Happy Wednesday!! We’re this much closer to another weekend!!

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , .

A Tale of Two Salads Huffing and Puffing

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Simply Life  |  February 3, 2010 at 8:47 am

    I’ve never used cocnut oil before – so good to know!

    Reply
  • 2. fitandfortysomething  |  February 3, 2010 at 9:11 am

    Thank you for telling me how to use coconut oil…….I have been wondering!

    Have a great day……

    xoxo

    Reply
  • 3. theprocessofhealing  |  February 3, 2010 at 9:12 am

    That is very interesting about the coconut oil. It’s been all over blogs lately and I’ve been wondering about it. Sounds like it has some amazing benefits!!!

    Reply
  • 4. thetwentyfifthyear  |  February 3, 2010 at 10:54 am

    I never knew you could substitute for other oils in cooking – what a great tip!

    Reply
  • 5. onelittlejill  |  February 3, 2010 at 11:09 am

    Might have to check this coconut oil stuff out!

    Reply
  • 6. Jessica @ Dairy Free Betty  |  February 3, 2010 at 11:15 am

    I heart coconut oil!! I didn’t realize all the benefits! PS I used it as a shaving cream and it was a BAD thing.. I ended up having terrible razor burn… but I do use it on my face, and it’s awesome!!

    Great post!

    Reply
  • 7. Erin  |  February 3, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    I’ve heard great things about coconut oil but never used it — might be worth picking up!

    Reply
  • 8. marathonmaiden  |  February 3, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    wow that is a lot of uses and benefits to coconut oil!

    Reply
  • 9. Naomi (onefitfoodie)  |  February 3, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    WHOA who knew there so many uses to coconut oil?! I want it to use on my split ends! what a fabulous idea…oh and obv in my oats too 🙂 yours look so fluffy and delish!

    Reply
  • 10. lessonstolearn  |  February 3, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    I keep hearing about coconut oil, but I haven’t researched it. Thanks for the info!

    Just saw your oatmeal cookie from last night…I love making things like that. Portion controlled yumminess!

    Reply
  • 11. lindsayruns  |  February 3, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Toasting oatmeal in coconut oil is my favorite…I burn through coconut oil, good thing it’s reasonably priced at my local store…I’d be heartbroken w/o it!

    Reply
  • 12. Danielle  |  February 3, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    I was just going to mention coconut in my post today! Love coconut oil 🙂

    Reply
  • 13. inmytummy  |  February 3, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    I bought coconut oil a few weeks ago and didn’t like the flavor of it. I only used it to cook eggs and vegetables though, maybe I’d like it better with something sweet.

    Reply
  • 14. Teri [a foodie stays fit]  |  February 7, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    great post! i’ll have to buy some!

    Reply
  • […] New ingredient: Coconut Oil […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

