Breaking the Rules

February 4, 2010 at 2:11 pm 13 comments

After my rough experience on the treadmill yesterday, there was nothing that was going to stop me from running outside today. Except for what was going to stop me.

I pulled on my warm running tights and half-zip shirt, grabbed my gloves, headband, adn RoadID. I wrapped my Ipod band around my arm, and as I put my headphones on, I walked up to the crosswalk that leads to the park I run in.

And then I was greeted by this:

road closed sign

Nooooooooooooooo!!

I thought about my options.

1. Go to the gym and try the treadmill thing again.

2. Go home and run near the neighborhood.

3. Don’t run.

None of those options satisfied me.

1. I was dressed to run in 40 degrees- I can’t imagine running in that gear in the hot sweaty gym would be fun. Going home to change and back to the gym would take way too long, and there’s construction on that road making it take even longer to get there.

2. Running near my neighborhood means running on the hard cement sidewalks. My feet don’t care for cement.

3. Well now, that’s just silly.

So I went with option 4:

Duck under the gate and run in the park anyway.

I like option 4 🙂

Look closely at that picture….you can see asphalt behind the gate. That’s not hazardous. I was willing to risk it.

Being extra cautious, I decided to take the run slowly and even stopped to take a few pictures of the snow covered park. The part you can run in is really just a road that loops around an old military battle site. You can take a walking or driving tour that talks about the history of the battle, but I haven’t done that yet.

military park military park military park

The closed gate was kind of nice- I didn’t have to worry about getting in the way of any cars. (By the way- I was not the only one to sneak in- I passed plenty of dog walkers ;))I did the loop once, then turned around and did the loop the other way around.

I almost peed my pants when I saw a cop car driving towards me.

copper

Then I used my reading skills and saw it was only a park ranger. He just waved and kept driving. By the time I got back to the park entrance, the gate was open.

open gate

The ranger must have been scouting it out and realized it was not in fact hazardous.

I wore my old Asics today in case I needed to run through snow or enountered any mud. (Still don’t want the new shoes getting dirty yet!) I can now officially say I LOVE THE MIZUNOS!!! I thought it might be coincidence, but after a week of wearing the new Mizunos and not having many aches and pains, then a day in my Asics- it’s definitely the shoes. It still hurts a little, but it’s loads different. My feet don’t feel as beat and bruised in the Mizunos, and it takes longer for my knees to start hurting. I guess change can be good, huh?

After my run I came home and heated up a quick lunch of leftover baked pasta and a new flavor of RiceWorks chips- Parmesan and Sundried Tomato.

baked pasta

riceworks chps

The flavor was just screaming at me to try- it’s good, but I think I like the regular ones better. I probably won’t be buying these anymore though, the bag is more than half empty to start with—not cool.

rice chips rip off bag

Well I’ve got lots and lots to accomplish today! Being that procrastinating is probably my best skill, I’ve decided that if I knock off 80% of it by this afternoon, I’m rewarding myself. 🙂 (Of course with the stipulation that I finish all of it by the end of the day…)

Entry filed under: Lunch, Training. Tags: , , , , .

Smarty Pants Oats Seeing Red

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Naomi (onefitfoodie)  |  February 4, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    hahaah I would have peed my pants too if I saw taht cop, but park ranger?? they are harmelss right? beautiful pics!

    Reply
  • 2. Megan (The Runner's Kitchen)  |  February 4, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    Last spring when I was training for the Boston marathon, my running buddy and I decided to do a 20 mile long run along the edges of Manhattan. Unfortunately at E. 34th St, the river path ends and turns into the FDR highway. I convinced my friend it would be fine to run along the highway shoulder, but we actually got pulled over by a cop car. He drove us to the next exit and told us to stay off the highway. Hehe. But I’m still glad we were adventurous – a runner’s gotta do, what a runner’s gotta do 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Tricia  |  February 4, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    Such a rebel! And yippeee for Mizunos, my new love. 🙂 I was just coming by on behalf of the Tall Mom on the Run Club to check on your running and lo and behold you’re out breaking the law just to get a run in! No need to motivate you. 🙂 keep up the great work!

    Reply
  • 4. Erin  |  February 4, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    You have to figure: what are the cops going to do? Arrest you? (Okay, maybe… haha). At least you had a nice, beautiful run. I admire people who can get out in the cold. Total wimp right here! 😛

    Reply
  • 5. prettytimepiece  |  February 4, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    hi!

    ahaha way to run on the trail anyway ;p 🙂
    & i loooove rice chips! so yummy.

    thanks for visiting my blog ❤

    http://www.prettytimepiece.org

    Reply
  • 6. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self  |  February 4, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    Haha I loved this post! A passion for running makes rebels of us all 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. marathonmaiden  |  February 4, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    way to live dangerously 😉

    and i totally would have peed myself if i saw a cop or a ranger haha

    Reply
  • 8. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  February 4, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    You are such a rebel! I think that is the option I would have gone for too!

    Reply
  • 9. theprocessofhealing  |  February 4, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Haha you go girl, breaking the rules! No harm done. I would’ve DIED when I saw the cop (i’m a chicken lol).

    I hate it when bags are like that :/

    Reply
  • 10. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  February 4, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    Wow – great work on the chilly run! I am super impressed 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Shelly  |  February 4, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    So glad you ducked under that gate! I would have almost been disappointed if you hadn’t!!! I bet it was a great run!

    Reply
  • 12. lessonstolearn  |  February 5, 2010 at 7:19 am

    I would have done the same thing. I’m glad you got in a run out doors.

    Your baked pasta looks delicious!!

    Reply
  • 13. onelittlejill  |  February 5, 2010 at 10:23 am

    I like option 4 as well and that is exactly what I would have done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

