Smarty Pants Oats

February 4, 2010 at 7:01 am 33 comments

Guess who finally got smart with her oats?

——–> this girl! <———

Since emptying the pantry every morning can sometimes be quite the ordeal, I decided I was going to put together some pre-measured baggies for my oatmeal. However, 1. I didn’t have mini snack baggies and 2. that seemed awfully wasteful.

So I dumped all the dry ingredients that usually go into my oats into a re-sealable plastic container!

oats oats

oats

I put in oatmeal, wheat germ, flax seed, cinnamon, nutmeg, and coconut.

Now all I have to do is put in the wet ingredients and whatever mix-ins I want for the day.

It’s throwing off my dry-to liquid ratio just a bit since normally I start with plain oats, but I’ll have it perfected in no time for sure 🙂

oatmeal and almond butter

I went with almond butter this morning instead of peanut butter. Gotta give love to the other nut butters too 🙂

Have a great day!!

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , .

Unbaked No Bake Cookies Breaking the Rules

33 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  February 4, 2010 at 7:37 am

    You are a genius.

    Love this idea of pre-mixing everything!! 😀

    Reply
  • 2. diana  |  February 4, 2010 at 8:34 am

    Looks great!

    I am definitely going to make your oats in your last post!

    Reply
  • 3. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  February 4, 2010 at 8:38 am

    It’s all about streamlining the morning routine!

    Reply
  • 4. fitandfortysomething  |  February 4, 2010 at 9:03 am

    That is a VERY good idea……We should all do this!

    Have a great day!

    Reply
  • 5. Matt  |  February 4, 2010 at 9:34 am

    I am enjoying a really good bowl of oats right now 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Kay's Nutty Oasis  |  February 4, 2010 at 9:54 am

    almond butter always compliments oats perfectly in my opinion 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Erica  |  February 4, 2010 at 10:06 am

    I like the idea of pre-mixing a container of dry ingredients for oatmeal- great idea!!

    Isn’t Sea Biscuit the best? I could eat breakfast there every day 😉

    If it helps, I’m planning on posting my superbowl menu later today 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Anne Marie@New Weigh of Life  |  February 4, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Awesome idea!!

    Reply
  • 9. Ally @ Sweet & Savory  |  February 4, 2010 at 10:25 am

    I LOVE almond butter in my oatmeal!

    Reply
  • 10. LindsayRuns  |  February 4, 2010 at 10:25 am

    nice idea! I myself perefer almond butter to pb any day 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Erin (Travel, Eat, Repeat)  |  February 4, 2010 at 10:38 am

    What a great idea — I’ve totally never thought of that but am definitely stealing your idea. Helps save some time in the AM. 😉

    Reply
  • 12. Danielle  |  February 4, 2010 at 10:50 am

    That’s a really good idea. Knowing me, I’d probably pre-measure out the milk and banana too 😉

    Have a good day!

    Reply
  • 13. Rebecca  |  February 4, 2010 at 11:27 am

    Way to save time and a tree 🙂

    Reply
  • 14. Kelly  |  February 4, 2010 at 11:33 am

    Shoot anything that saves time is a winner in my book!!

    Reply
  • 15. Anna  |  February 4, 2010 at 11:47 am

    Smart lady!! Oats look delish! 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. Ameena  |  February 4, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    Great time saving idea. Every second counts in the morning, doesn’t it??

    Reply
  • 17. abbynormally  |  February 4, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    That is such a good idea!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 18. Erin Eats and Exercises  |  February 4, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    Great idea with the oats! Oats seem so simple but when you start adding all those delicious extras, it gets time consuming!

    Reply
  • 19. theprocessofhealing  |  February 4, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    Amazing idea girl!!!! And you gotta love some AB…

    And totally loving the new layout!!!!!!!

    (I just realized that I use a lot of exclamation points…)

    Reply
  • 20. Jamie  |  February 4, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    Smart idea about to pre-prepare all of the mix ins: I might try your method just because I often forget to add certain ingredients into my oatmeal! (usually flax)

    Reply
  • 21. Sonja @ ActiveFoodie  |  February 4, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    What a great idea! I throw in so many extra things in my oats too, would be smarter to just toss it all in a big tupperware!!

    Reply
  • 22. Heather  |  February 4, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    I am all about streamlining any morning routine I can – I also try to mix anything I can in a reusable container – saves money – no need to waste a bag!

    Reply
  • 23. Katie  |  February 4, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    That’s a fantastic idea! I keep mine all in a big jar (empty pickle jar..haha) but I love the idea of portioning it out.

    Reply
  • 24. Oats in a Jar Time! « with a Side of Sneakers  |  February 24, 2010 at 9:08 am

    […] I went to make my oatmeal, I realized I was about out of my oat mix, so I took a few minutes to make some […]

    Reply
  • 25. Spring is Coming « with a Side of Sneakers  |  March 1, 2010 at 7:15 am

    […] oat combo with cottage cheese, pumpkin, pecans, and Amazing Grass Amazing Meal […]

    Reply
  • 26. 5 Grain Kind of Morning « with a Side of Sneakers  |  March 4, 2010 at 8:36 am

    […] 4, 2010 Instead of my usual oat combo and almond milk, this morning I went for some Bob’s Red Mill 5 Grain Hot Cereal and rice […]

    Reply
  • […] morning’s mix was my oat combo with Amazing Grass powder, pumpkin, cottage cheese, and […]

    Reply
  • 28. Bye Bye Miss American Pie « with a Side of Sneakers  |  March 8, 2010 at 10:04 am

    […] apple pie oatmeal is my usual oat combo plus cottage cheese, roasted apples, wheat berries, and chopped walnuts. I added a spoonful of […]

    Reply
  • 29. Punkin Oats & DYKT #6 « with a Side of Sneakers  |  March 9, 2010 at 8:32 am

    […] was my usual oat combo plus Amazing Grass powder, cottage cheese, pumpkin, walnuts, and peanut […]

    Reply
  • 30. Almost Spring « with a Side of Sneakers  |  March 10, 2010 at 8:50 am

    […] 10, 2010 This morning’s oatmeal was just my usual oat combo plus cottage cheese & peanut […]

    Reply
  • 31. Serve Me Up Another « with a Side of Sneakers  |  March 11, 2010 at 7:16 am

    […] oat combo with pumpkin puree and cottage cheese stirred in, then topped with roasted apples, wheat berries, […]

    Reply
  • 32. Bowl ‘O Oats to Go « with a Side of Sneakers  |  March 18, 2010 at 6:36 am

    […] cup plus a little more oat combo (this means oatmeal, wheat germ, flaxseed, cinnamon, […]

    Reply
  • 33. Ch-Ch-Ch-Chia! « with a Side of Sneakers  |  March 25, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    […] 2010 Today started off with a huge new container of chia seeds!! I mixed up some more pre-mixed oat combo, and then made some pumpkin-chia oats for […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

