No Overnighters

February 5, 2010 at 6:47 am 17 comments

A random sense of planning came over me last night and I decided to make overnight oats. My oat combo from my smart-move-moment yesterday, plus a little almond milk and Greek yogurt.

After a night in the fridge I was presented with this:

overnight oats

I took a bite, but I really prefer my oats warm, so into the microwave it went!

overnight oats

Plus I added some cottage cheese 🙂

oatmeal

It was a battle between the almond butter and the peanut butter….I just couldn’t let one win over the other, so both it was. 🙂

I don’t really see the point of overnight oats. (Unless you like them cold I guess). It doesn’t make the end result any creamier or thicker or anything-er. I actually prefer the way the oats swell when they absorb the liquid when they’re heated. Maybe I’m missing something here….

Are you wearing RED?! I’ll be back later this afternoon to tell you why I’m wearing red today!

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , .

Seeing Red Channeling the Mediterranean

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fitandfortysomething  |  February 5, 2010 at 8:42 am

    I agree about the overrnight oats! Maybe if it is hot out cold oats might be nice but otherwise I like them warm!

    Reply
  • 2. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  February 5, 2010 at 8:44 am

    I tried overnight oats for the first time this week, and while I like the consistency, I definitely like my oats hot!

    Reply
  • 3. Erin  |  February 5, 2010 at 8:54 am

    I usually nuke my overnight oats for 30 sec in the microwave just to take the chill off. I actually like the overnight consistency better than hot, but prefer my oats hot anyway.

    Wow, who knew oats was such a serious science?! 😉

    Reply
  • 4. theprocessofhealing  |  February 5, 2010 at 9:21 am

    I actually enjoy overnight oats a lot but I make mine with 1% milk and Greek Yogurt. I think the proportions of ingredients really make a difference. My overnight oats look a little creamier and… what’s the word, I’m not sure. But I’ve never heated them before. To each his own 🙂

    Reply
    • 5. Heather  |  February 5, 2010 at 9:30 am

      Maybe I just need to play with the liquids….

      Reply
  • 6. Anne Marie@New Weigh of Life  |  February 5, 2010 at 9:41 am

    I’ve never tried overnight oats because I’m not sure how I would feel about cold oats!

    Reply
  • 7. DiningAndDishing  |  February 5, 2010 at 10:06 am

    ummm almond butter AND pb?? that sounds like the best thing ever!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply
  • 8. Cait (Cait's Plate)  |  February 5, 2010 at 10:17 am

    i actually AM wearing red! it was completely accidental though…haha. but i am!

    and i’m so with ya on the warm oats. warm oats + a spoon of melty pb?? it really doesn’t get much better 😀

    Reply
  • 9. Erin Eats and Exercises  |  February 5, 2010 at 10:36 am

    I make overnight oat becuase it saves me time in the morning and I typically eat breakfast when I get to work. I micro them for about 1 min then at my PB or AB (tough call, I know haha) and enjoy!

    Reply
  • 10. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self  |  February 5, 2010 at 10:55 am

    I love overnight oats, but then again, I like cold oats!!! My husband loves hot oatmeal but cannot stand even the IDEA of cold oats! So I think it’s really about temperature, more so than consistency.

    Reply
  • 11. onelittlejill  |  February 5, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    I am wearing red!!! We do that every Friday in February!

    Reply
  • 12. Anna  |  February 5, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    Mmmm…I’m an overnighters fan!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 13. marathonmaiden  |  February 5, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    ive never had overnight oats because i don’t think i’d like the consistency. i like mine on the soupier side and i think overnight ones look too thick for my liking.

    Reply
  • 14. Kristen @ Change of Pace  |  February 5, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    A lot of times I do overnight oats if I know I’ll be busy in the morning. I don’t mind my oats cold and my breakfast is ready when I wake up! Love the almond and peanut butter together! 🙂

    Reply
  • 15. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  February 5, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    Did you mix in some yogurt the next morning? I tend to skimp on the liquid that it’s sitting in overnight, but add in a thick, creamy yogurt the next morning. Also, canned pumpkin is a great addition the night before, because it plumps up the oats and adds a ton of volume and flavor. 😀

    I love my oats hot and cold…they’re definitely two entirely different breakfasts! 😀

    Reply
    • 16. Heather  |  February 5, 2010 at 2:34 pm

      oo no, maybe I’ll try that! I LOVE pumpkin in my oats, but we’re still suffering from the great pumpkin shortage around here haha

      Reply
  • 17. Kelly  |  February 5, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    I am in my RED!!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

