Training Re-evaluation

February 8, 2010 at 1:33 pm 6 comments

Cheesy dip leftovers were calling my name from the fridge for lunch.

I gladly served them up with a side of veggies!

veggies and dip

Green Giant mix with added sundried tomatoes and Italian seasoning.

veggies

No idea what dip this is but it’s cheesy, spicy, and Tostitos scoops-able! And somebody left it here 🙂

chips and dip

I went back for seconds of the chips and dip…yum 🙂

Training Re-Do

When I was updating my training totals for the week, I noticed I’m really horrible at following a training plan. Some of it is because I’ve adjusted based on how I was feeling and because of weather, but some of it is because I’m  just bad at following it. I purposefully decided on this plan so I would have lots of room for cross-training. Guess how much of that I’ve done? Not much.

training plan

You can click to make bigger if you really want, but the point is this:training

I decided to re-do the plan in 2 ways:

1. I changed it so the mileage matched my current long runs. This also gives me more flexibility to adjust as needed and still get in adequate training miles.

(I also changed rest days to Saturday instead of Friday because I’m usually more in the mood for a rest day on Sats.

new training plan

(I’m not positive this is the plan I’m going to use, just what I’ve come up with so far. I’m going to do a little more researching other plans before I update it for sure. If you have any input I’d love to hear it.)

2. Added specific cross training for the next month. (Which is as far out as I can estimate my work schedule). Maybe having specific guidelines for cross-training will  make me more likely to do it.

feb training

It would also help if I remembered to LOOK at my training plan from time to time instead of making up random things in my head that I think are on there.

Ok that lunch didn’t even hold me over through this post, time to go for round 2!!

Entry filed under: Lunch, Training. Tags: , , , .

How Many Men Does it Take… Long, Lean, & Wonderful

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. marathonmaiden  |  February 8, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    good call changing up and re-evaluating the plan. flexibility is key so that you actually want to do the workouts and will stick with it 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  February 8, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    oh that lunch made me hungry just looking at it! Shame it didn’t have staying power though!

    Reply
  • 3. fitandfortysomething  |  February 8, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    I have a hard time keeping on a schedule too though it does not look too bad!

    Reply
  • 4. shelly  |  February 8, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    You have to be flexible. Life, the weather, loads of things come into play. Running is to help us relax (partly) not stress us out over missing a few miles.

    Reply
  • 5. Katie  |  February 8, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    Honestly, nothing ever looks more appetizing to me than a big old pile of veggies like yours. Yum, yum, yum.

    Reply
  • 6. Danielle  |  February 8, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    It totally fine to re-vamp the training plan. I’m thinking of tweaking mine too.
    Your veggies look so colorful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

