Human Icicle

February 9, 2010 at 2:06 pm 12 comments

I’m loving the discussion from this morning’s post about the skinny fat phenomenon!

The nasty winter weather is making a comeback today, so I made sure to get a run in before it was too miserable. The timing was perfect- the rain picked up on my way to the park, then eased off enough so I didn’t get completed soaked on my run, then picked up again on the way home. I’m absolutely frozen to the bone right now though!

Today was my first attempt at a tempo run. Tempo runs teach your body how to run at a faster pace for a longer period of time.  A tempo run is to speed what a long run is to endurance. Apparently the tempo run is a super important part of increasing your speed when training for a half or full marathon. Who knew?! There’s a good article talking about how to do tempo runs over at Runner’s World.

Technically a tempo run for half marathon training should be longer, but since it was my first attempt I kept it short- 1.6 miles. (Random number because that’s the length of one of the park loops- therefore easier for this technology-lacking runner to measure)

I still need a little work figuring out the whole tempo run thing- I ran the first 1.85 miles at a 9:23 pace, then did the 1.6 miles of tempo at 9:20, then the last 1.6 in 10:40. I’m still pleased overall because that meant I sustained about 9:43, which I still felt was good. Apparently I thoroughly tired myself out though and ended so slow!

Even though I avoided most of the “wintery mix” coming down today, I came home absolutely freezing cold. I had sushi waiting for me for lunch, but I had to start with something warm.

I opted for some yummy V8 tomato soup. I love V8’s soups- I might venture to say they’re my favorite store-bought soup- packed with veggies! They almost taste homemade 🙂

tomato soup

Then I dug into the sushi. I get the seaside combo since it’s the only one that doesn’t have cucumber in it. Cucumber = blech!

sushi seaside combo

I’m spreading out the sushi goodness and having half now and half with dinner. Unless I cave and go finish the rest right now 🙂

I wonder if I still have to ice since I feel like a giant ice cube right now anyways… haha

Entry filed under: Lunch, Training. Tags: , , , .

Oats, Oats, They’re Good for your Heart… SoS Tofu Tutorial

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anna  |  February 9, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    When I was training for my half-marathon, I got so confused by the whole tempo run thing! I finally gave up on it and just practiced my regular runs with a little speed thrown in there every other run or so. Very professional 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Chloe @ Project Live Well  |  February 9, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    How can you not like cucumber? Haha! I LOVE cucumber!

    Tempo runs are something I really need to get into. I’m training for a 10k and now that I feel pretty comfortable with the distance I want to start working on speed. Thanks for the link to the article!

    Chloe

    Reply
    • 3. Heather  |  February 9, 2010 at 7:19 pm

      ewww. I tried really hard to like it but I just can’t do it :/

      Reply
  • 4. marathonmaiden  |  February 9, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    great job on the tempo run. those suckers are pretty tricky!

    Reply
  • 5. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad  |  February 9, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    It’s so difficult for me to find a pace that is comfortable for X miles. I just like running! My Garmin has made it a lot easier to keep track of whether or not I’m doing “tempo” or “recovery” pace though.

    Reply
  • 6. crunchygranolagal  |  February 9, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    ahh, the tempo run. i am totally un-scientific about my running but am trying to get better. my version of tempo is catching speedy runner dudes in the park. good times.

    Reply
  • 7. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  February 9, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    Congrats on the tempo run 🙂 And the new blog design looks fantastic!!!!

    Reply
  • 8. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  February 9, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    I usually end up doing tempo runs on the treadmill because it takes the guess work out of my pace!

    Reply
  • 9. Amanda (Two Boos Who Eat)  |  February 9, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    sounds like the tempo run went great! I need to look into that. Right now I’m running 12 minute miles. I’d love to be able to do a 10 min mile!

    Reply
  • 10. Kelly  |  February 9, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    Tempo runs can be confusing but it sounds you did a good one! Keep up the good work!

    Reply
  • 11. onelittlejill  |  February 9, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    I almost always rely on the treadmil for tempo runs- much easier!

    Reply
  • 12. Shelly  |  February 9, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    Cucumber = yummy. Sushi = bluck

    Nice popsicle run!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

