SoS Tofu Tutorial

February 9, 2010 at 7:07 pm 11 comments

Who left me alone with this for the week?!      Party time!

keg

Ahh I kid, I kid.

beer

But I did have a glass.

So many people tell me they wouldn’t mind trying tofu, but they’re scared of trying to make it. It may look scary, but I promise, it isn’t.

There are tons of ways to use tofu. Here’s how I make my regular old baked tofu. If you can handle baking it, you can handle using it for anything.

The part that sounds scariest is “pressing” it. (Putting the block of tofu between paper towels and putting something heavy on it for 20 minutes or so to drain the liquid) To tell you the truth- I usually skip that step.

Here’s my tofu process:

1. Poke hole in package and drain out water.

tofu

2. Cut tofu into desired shape/size. I usually do strips or squares, about 1/4” thick.

3. Blot between paper towels. (Just enough to get the excess moisture off)

4. Coat with marinade or rub. Honestly, anything that works for any other meat would probably work. I tend to like Asian-themed marinades.

Here’s the marinade I used tonight:

– honey, soy sauce, spicy mustard, ginger powder, onion powder (then sprinkled with sesame seeds)

tofu

5. Let marinade soak in for a few minutes. (If you plan in advance, go ahead and marinate it for real- I’m usually lazy and just let it sit for a few)

6. Bake! Time depends on thickness, but I usually do about 425 or higher for 20 minutes. (Be sure to use nonstick spray or some other coating!)

tofu

7. Enjoy!!

baked tofu

(If you have extra uncooked tofu, put it back in the package and fill it with water. Cover and refrigerate. Your supposed to change the water daily and eat in 5 days, but I rarely remember involved instructions like that)

I had the rest of my sushi while I was waiting for the tofu to bake.

sushi

Now for tough decisions:

banana ice creamno bake

Banana ice cream or raw no bake oatmeal cookie dough for dessert?

Check out Shut Up & Run’s giveaway and this one over at Simple Living Media!

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , , , .

Human Icicle Best. Breakfast. Ever.

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly  |  February 9, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    I was so close to buying tofu at the store tonight, but I chickend out! I wasn’t sure what to make with it/how to store it if I didn’t use the whole package. Maybe I will try it now.

    Reply
  • 2. fitandfortysomething  |  February 9, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    thank you for telling me what to do with tofu…..i am never sure if i am doing the right thing….

    Reply
  • 3. theprocessofhealing  |  February 9, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    If you buy the tofu that is already cubed, do you still need to press it?
    And I will have to try that. I’m one of those people who have been too afraid to try it at home. Yay! Thanks for the lesson!

    Reply
  • 4. EE  |  February 9, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    Looks like you could have had WAY too much fun if you wanted to. 😉 I love tofu!

    Reply
  • 5. sophia  |  February 9, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    What’s this? My tofu never looks that yummy! Man, you might make a tofu-lover out of me!

    Reply
  • 6. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad  |  February 9, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    Oh man, I totally ate some 10 day old tofu the other day. It had not been re-watered. It smelled fine, but I knew I was on the brink when I did it!

    Reply
  • 7. Teri [a foodie stays fit]  |  February 9, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    baked tofu AND sushi? swoon!

    can you not have both desserts? 😉

    Reply
  • 8. Ash @ Good Taste. Healthy Me  |  February 10, 2010 at 6:19 am

    Haha that keg brings me back to college! 😉

    Reply
  • 9. Anna  |  February 10, 2010 at 8:32 am

    Yum! Your tofu looks great! I want to try one of those tofu presses…I love making tofu, but HATE wasting so many paper towels on the process!

    Reply
  • 10. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  February 10, 2010 at 10:49 am

    Have you tried freezing it yet? It totally changes the texture and sucks up marinades so much easier. Freeze for 3 days then let thaw in freezer. Super easy to squeeze out liquid too.

    Reply
  • 11. Just a Quick One « with a Side of Sneakers  |  February 17, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    […] is how I prepare tofu.Tonight I used mustard, garlic powder, and agave nectar as my […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

