Best. Breakfast. Ever.

February 10, 2010 at 6:31 am 13 comments

I’m about to share with you the most amazing breakfast that’s ever come out of my own kitchen.

Introducing……

BAKED OATMEAL!!!

To be honest, I make it just like my regular oats, I just bake it in the oven instead of the microwave. I have no idea what makes it so good. But it comes out delicious- rich, thick, creamy, fluffy, I could go on and on. I wish I had smell-o-blog– it smells SO good.

(The only reason I don’t make it all the time is because I usually don’t want to wait 20 minutes for breakfast…I woke up early this morning though so I went for it!)

Today’s mix was my usual oatmeal combo & almond milk (whatever amount of oats you use, just use double the liquid), plus cottage cheese, a mashed banana, pecans, and a spoonful of almond butter. All mixed together and put into two baking dishes.

oatmeal

(I only put it in two because I don’t have a good size dish to put it all in one. Plus with two you get seconds ;))

I topped the oat mixture off with some more crushed pecans and coconut. Then into the oven at 375ish for about 20 minutes or so. (Time may vary based on size of dish).

baked oatmeal

more baked oatmeal

The only problem was having to wait so long to eat it because the dish was so hot!

This tastes so good I wouldn’t be embarrassed to serve it to guests…not that I’ve ever had guests that want oatmeal haha.

Now off to PiYo and Spin! Time to get some cross-training in!

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , .

SoS Tofu Tutorial Weather Wins Again

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  February 10, 2010 at 7:32 am

    I’ve always wanted to try making baked oatmeal, because just the idea of “baked oatmeal” sounds amazing. And it sounds so simple!! Adding this to my favorites list. 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Anna  |  February 10, 2010 at 8:32 am

    Yum! I’m always looking for new variations on the regular oatmeal theme 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. theprocessofhealing  |  February 10, 2010 at 9:00 am

    OH wow. Oh wow. I have to try that… sounds so so good!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Teamarcia  |  February 10, 2010 at 9:10 am

    Can I confess? I’ve never tried oatmeal. Not sure why. I’ve only made it once and that was for a friend visiting from Scotland and according to him I made it horribly. You inspire me to try again. That does look wonderful!

    Reply
  • 5. Teri [a foodie stays fit]  |  February 10, 2010 at 10:04 am

    hmmm…sounds good! i’ll be trying that soon!

    Reply
  • 6. Erin  |  February 10, 2010 at 10:12 am

    Yum! Just a note for anyone who, like me, makes their oats with water instead of milk — it won’t bake that way. You have to use at least some milk for baked oats. Speaking from experience… 😉

    Reply
  • 7. kt  |  February 10, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Thanks for the blog comment! My first ever, definitely made my day!

    I’ve kind of fallen out of love with oatmeal lately, odd bc I used to have it every single day… I think baking it like this could really make me start up our relationship again 😉 Looks delish!

    Reply
  • 8. Julie  |  February 10, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    Wow, that looks so good!! I am a huge coconut fan so I am sure I would of loved it:)

    Reply
  • 9. Kelly  |  February 10, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    Baked oatmeal is the BEST! I love it!!!

    Reply
  • 10. julia  |  February 10, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    Have to try that, sounds great!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

    Reply
  • 11. Erin Eats and Exercises  |  February 10, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    Looks great! Could you slice it like bread?

    Reply
  • 12. Danielle  |  February 10, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    I had baked oatmeal once and it was amazing! (I don’t know what it is…)
    I just wish it didn’t take so long to make!

    Reply
  • […] The best breakfast ever: Baked Oatmeal […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

