Odd Bites

February 10, 2010 at 9:40 pm 8 comments

Even I will admit I had an odd combination of things for dinner tonight. I was in and out of the house around dinner time, so I just grabbed a bunch of small things.

I may or may not have drank a good portion of cab before snapping a picture. 😉

wine

Some Morningstar Farms Chick’n Nuggets with some ketchup & jerk sauce mixed together for dipping.

fake nuggets

Then some more cheesy dip (sans explosion) & Tostitos Scoops.

cheese dip

Then some popcorn- Kettle Corn to be exact- I love the sweet & salty combo. I added a little nutritional yeast & cinnamon. Apparently too much cinnamon because I kept inhaling it and making myself cough. (Did anybody else get immense joy out of daring your friends to try to eat a spoonful of cinnamon in high school? No? Just me? ;))

kettle corn

I managed to burn the bag. Oh the difficulties of microwaving.

burned popcorn

Now this has nothing to do with anything at all except for that I think it’s cool. My mom’s been sending me tons of snow pictures (since she’s stuck inside thanks to snoverkill 2010) and this was one of them.

It’s the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier at Arlington National Cemetery. If you don’t know anything about the men that guard the tomb, you should look into it sometime, it’s pretty amazing. It’s a HUGE honor to be selected to guard the tomb, and it’s guarded 24 hours a day 7 days a week. That’s 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, since July 2, 1937! That includes inclement weather. Can you imagine standing outside guarding the tomb in the crazy snow that’s fallen this week? Wow.

(If you look closely you can see the one section not covered in snow- that’s where the guard marches)

arlington

(Image Credit: United States Park Police Rescue Technician – Paramedic Sergeant Klebaner – Aviation Section)

Have you ever seen the changing of the guard?!

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , , , , , .

Weather Wins Again Starting the Day Off Right

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly  |  February 10, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    Nice, I had some wine tonight also. I went to college in VA, so most of my friends live in the Arlington area. They have all been snowed in since the weekend. It’s crazy!

    Reply
  • 2. Jess (Fit Chick in the City)  |  February 11, 2010 at 6:50 am

    I’ve never heard that dare before! I have seen the changing of the guard, but it was many many years ago.

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  February 11, 2010 at 7:04 am

    I saw the changing of the guard once when I was really little and was too young to actually appreciate it. 😉 I’d love to go back and see it again.

    Reply
  • 4. Anna  |  February 11, 2010 at 7:59 am

    Yum! Your dinner does look like a strange (but delicious!!!) combination of flavors 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. marathonmaiden  |  February 11, 2010 at 10:11 am

    i saw the changing of the guard on my middle school trip to DC. i don’t think i was able to fully appreciate it at the time but it definitely helped solidify my strong feelings toward the military

    great picture!

    Reply
  • 6. onelittlejill  |  February 11, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    That is amazing photo! I have been there and think it should be on everyone’s list to get to before they die. D.C in general just has so much to see between the Holocaust Museum, Newseum, the wall and this wonderful sight!

    Reply
    • 7. Heather  |  February 12, 2010 at 8:09 am

      You know, I’ve been to DC probably 1,000 times, and I’ve never seen the Holocaust Museum OR the Newseum– the 2 things I most want to see!!

      Reply
  • 8. kt  |  February 11, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    That is really cool! I really want to visit D.C one of these days, there are so many things I’d like to see in person.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

