Red Take 2

February 12, 2010 at 7:34 am 20 comments

Did you catch the first edition of the Sports Nutrition Series on Hydration?! You should!

I definitely need to work on following my own advice on this issue! I’m horrible with drinking!! Know why you don’t see any drinks on the blog except for coffee or wine? I rarely drink anything else. Seriously. I know it’s bad. I’m working on it. I just don’t get thirsty and drinking makes me full and nauseous. I need to work on training my gut!!

I’m better about drinking water when it comes to exercise, but still have lots of room for improvement.

What are your strategies for drinking more? I try using low-calorie flavored beverages like Crystal Light and SoBe Lifewater (my fave!). I also drink more if I use a straw. (I know, I’m weird, I think we’ve established that.) I know lots of strategies- I just don’t use them!

Breakfast

This morning I’m eating my oatmeal out of my giant red mug in honor of GoRed attempt #2. Last Friday’s event was cancelled due to the stupid snow, so hopefully it will happen today as scheduled. I’ll tell ya all about it later this afternoon 🙂

mug of oats

DSCN122oats7 oatmeal

Just a typical oat combo: oats, wheat germ, flax seed, cinnamon, nutmeg, and coconut, with walnuts, banana, and PB!

I love this huge mug!!! It’s actually from our Red Cup Party in December- it’s what we were collecting coins in before it overflowed and we switched to a big box! I can’t believe I haven’t used it then…I’ll be able fit WAY more oatmeal in this than any of my other bowls 🙂

Olympics start tonight!! I thought of something to add to my bucket list:

Carry the Olympic torch!!! How cool would that be?! 🙂

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , , .

Sports Nutrition Series: Hydration Go Red & Blog Your Heart Out!

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nicole @ Geek Turned Athlete  |  February 12, 2010 at 7:50 am

    I might be alone here, but I LOVE water. It is easily the beverage of choice 90% of the time. Milk and tea take up the other percentage. For Some spa like tips to improve your h2o add these items to a pitcher of water:

    a Cinnamon stick

    or

    cucumbers and orange slices

    or

    sliced strawberries (you might have to strain the water out)

    Good luck with your hydration!

    Reply
  • 2. Kelly  |  February 12, 2010 at 7:52 am

    I used to be horrible about drinking water, but then I got a Camelbak, with a straw attached, and I drink so much more water now. I swear probably three or four full ones a day.

    Reply
  • 3. Christie @ Honoring Health  |  February 12, 2010 at 8:58 am

    I have a hard time drinking water. The only thing I have found that helps is drinking herbal tea. In the summer, it really isn’t a problem but during the winter it is pretty bad!

    Reply
  • 4. theprocessofhealing  |  February 12, 2010 at 9:54 am

    Can’t believe the Olympics are tonight!!
    Love the mug. I love love love big bowls..
    I also like Sobe.. and the 10 calorie Vitamin waters are really good!

    Reply
  • 5. Lacey  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:10 am

    hi Heather! thanks for the comment!! I feel like I have stopped by here before, through someone else’s blog 🙂 Hooray for the Olympics, pretty exciting. I actually got a lot more into it after watching the biggest loser this past week b/c they had some olympic athletes as part of the show, and showed training camp in colorado, etc. really got me into the mood 🙂 i’m going to add you to my google reader! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Sophie  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:25 am

    I keep a bottle of water by my desk at work…its hard to not constantly go for the free coffee all day, but I’m also trying to keep myself hydrated for workouts. I find if I don’t I get side cramps when I run!

    Reply
  • 7. fitandfortysomething  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:23 am

    does drinking herbal tea count as drinking water? i always wonder that….

    Reply
    • 8. Heather  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:59 pm

      Sure does!! 🙂 (really!)

      Reply
  • 9. Sarah  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:41 am

    I definitely am another with a tough time drinking enough water. I just get distracted with other stuff and forget. I’m trying to be better, but it’s tough!

    Reply
  • 10. kt  |  February 12, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    I’m weird on the opposite side of the spectrum–I don’t like to drink much besides water. Particularly anything sweet. It’s some weird thing I’ve had since childhood where I swear I can feel the sugar (or artificial sweetener) eating away at my teeth. How odd is that?
    That being said, I need to step up my H2O intake in the winter. I’m just so cold! I also can’t bring myself to drink plain water when I’m sick. It just tastes bad!

    Reply
  • 11. Estela @ Weekly Bite  |  February 12, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    I’m horrible at drinking water! I need to drink more of it!

    I’m so excited about the olympics starting!!

    Reply
  • 12. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  February 12, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    Crazy fact about me… I actually got to carry the Olympic torch before the Salt Lake Olympics! It went through my hometown and at the time I was the top ranked fencer in my age group in the country!

    Reply
    • 13. Heather  |  February 12, 2010 at 5:01 pm

      OH MY GOSH that’s officially the coolest thing I have ever heard!! That’s SO awesome! I bet it was an amazing experience 🙂 Wow you’re a good fencer too!!

      Reply
  • 14. Matt  |  February 12, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    I carry around a water bottle and it really helps me drink more.

    Reply
  • 15. Kristen @ Change of Pace  |  February 12, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    I bought a cute water bottle awhile ago and just carry it around with me everywhere. I’ve made it such a habit that I’ll actually turn around to get it if I forget it. I think it’s really all about making it a habit 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. Anna  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    I drink more if I drink through a straw too! And in the summer, I love Crystal Light, but I try to limit myself…I could drink A LOT of Crystal Light 🙂

    Reply
  • 17. Jamie  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    It takes such an effort for me to get to enough glasses of water a day! It’s not something I normally reach for so I appreciate your focus on water! (I tried to increase my water for a week but I still have lots of work left to do)

    Reply
  • 18. marathonmaiden  |  February 12, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    i’ve found that tea helps me drink more. it’s really flavorful and i can keep drinking it mug after mug

    Reply
  • 19. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad  |  February 12, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    My strategy for drinking more tends to be: buy as many flavors of tea as possible. That way I want to try them all and drink several cups a day!

    Reply
  • 20. Heather  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    I go through phases where I drink lots of water and not enough – like you, I tend to drink more through a straw.

    I drink a lot of tea so I try to make sure I drink lots of non-caffinated beverages. Also, some powdered lemon and a little sugar makes a great “warm lemonade.” Good luck with your quest to drink more water!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

