Somebody Else’s Kitchen

February 12, 2010 at 7:46 pm 9 comments

Awhile back (I think when I was doing some kind of Christmas shopping) I walked by a cute little restaurant getting ready for it’s grand opening. Of course the word “kitchen” caught my eye 😉

zoes kitchen

There just happened to be someone official-looking setting a table up outside so I asked her what the place was going to be. It was Zoe’s Kitchen, a Mediterranean-inspired restaurant that prides itself on using fresh ingredients. Hello, sounds good to me! The woman gave me two coupons for a free meal, a reusable cup, and a divine piece of chocolate cake! (I wasn’t special- they were setting up a booth to give this stuff out to everyone that walked by.) I remember digging into that piece of cake while I was wrapping Christmas presents!

zoe's coupons

Anyways, I noticed the coupons expired TODAY!! Oh no! I can’t believe I hung on to them this long without using them, but out of sight, out of mind. The husband finally got home from his business trip, so I dragged him there for an early dinner. 😉

It’s a really cute place! Kind of like a modernized cafeteria I’d say.

zoe's kitchen

zoes kitchen

I got the Spinach Roll-Ups: tortillas, mozzarella, fresh mushrooms, feta, sun-dried tomatoes, scallions, and salsa. Plus a side of roasted vegetables.

rollups

I was a little surprised how small the portion was, considering the price on the menu. It was actually the perfect amount of food, but I’d have been disappointed I didn’t have leftovers if I’d actually paid for it 😉

roasted veggies

The veggies were pretty good- you could taste that they really had been roasted. Plus, I love when restaurants offer healthier sides like fruit and veggies instead of the standard pasta or potatoes. These were a little drenched in oil, but they still tasted fresh and crunchy.

spinach roll ups

The roll-ups were good too, but they were definitely lacking almost everything listed on the menu- no sundried tomatoes, no feta, maybe one itsy bitsy mushroom- it mostly just tasted like spinach and cream cheese. Not bad though.

Overall it was pretty good, but I’m not sure I’d go there again.

We’re going to Natty Greene’s tonight for some drinks and basketball watching!

In the meantime, I’m entertaining myself with a Wildflower and a cookie 🙂

wildflower beer

chocolate cookie

(How’d that end up coming home with me?!?!)

Happy weekend!!

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , , , , .

Go Red & Blog Your Heart Out! Melt Snow Melt

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  February 12, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    That cookie looks delicious!! And too bad about the restaurant. I hate it when you are super excited about something like that and it kinda is dissapointing.

    Reply
  • 2. Gelareh @ Nutritious Foodie  |  February 12, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    We have one here in Houston.. but we haven’t git it a try just yet.

    Reply
  • 3. Kelly  |  February 12, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    I’m so disappointed! I have been looking to go there with my free coupon!! I guess I’ll know not to try the spinach roll ups!

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:31 pm

      Try something else and let me know how it is!! 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    We have Zoe’s here in Phoenix and the sandwiches are wraps are REALLY good! Definitely worth giving it a second chance!

    Reply
  • 6. Heather  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    Sorry about your disappointing dinner – at least you had coupons!

    Enjoy the basketball watching – hope you have a great evening!

    Reply
  • 7. Anna  |  February 13, 2010 at 7:15 am

    Aww, looks like such a cute place! Too bad the eats were disappointing!

    Reply
  • 8. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  February 13, 2010 at 8:11 am

    Such a cute little place! I love the decorating inside, and your lunch looks wonderful. 😀

    Reply
  • 9. Shannon  |  February 13, 2010 at 8:25 am

    Looks like a fun restaurant…even though the food wasn’t extraordinary.

    That cookie looks amazing! I love chocolate cookies 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

