Dessert Before Dinner

February 13, 2010 at 7:50 pm 11 comments

After spending the afternoon at Barnes and Noble writing a paper for school and researching the art of gluten-free cupcake making for a future project, I was seriously craving some cupcakes!! Even a chai tea latte couldn’t stave off the craving 😉

chai tea   

Instead I opted for some red velvet flavored fro yo 🙂 Actually once I got to the frozen yogurt place I sampled the red velvet and it really just tasted like chocolate. I mean, it tasted just like red velvet cake, but let’s face it, red velvet cake is really just pretty chocolate cake. I don’t like chocolate ice cream so I got a couple other flavors instead: cheesecake (holy yum!) with Butterfinger pieces, peanut butter with a brownie chunk and chocolate sprinkles, and tart blueberry pomegranate with coconut. They were all out of rainbow sprinkles 😦

Oh my goodness, so so good.

frozen yogurt

When it came to dinner time I clearly had no idea what I was making, and I ended up with this:pasta

The bottom was a puree of white beans, tofu, sauteed bok choy greens, and some roasted red pepper pesto, plus some nutritional yeast, pepper, onion powder, salt, and basil. Topped with angel hair pasta tossed in more roasted red pepper pesto. At the last minute I threw on some sundried tomato pieces.

pasta creation

I’m glad I added the sundried tomato- it made the dish! To be honest, the bites without it were a little bland. It kind of tasted like some kind of vegan alfredo or something, I’m not sure. The dish wasn’t a homerun, but it’s definitely got potential!!

All together now:

dinner

How’d that glass of wine sneak in there?!? Don’t worry, it was only a baby glass- cuz we’re running in the AM!!

Entry filed under: Dessert, Dinner. Tags: , , , , .

Choosing Chocolate Fueling to Run

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather  |  February 13, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    What an interesting dinner creation – love the idea of adding mashed beans. Pasta never fills me up.

    Enjoy your night and have a great run tomorrow!

    Reply
  • 2. actorsdiet  |  February 13, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    i love your dinner! sundried tomatoes are a terrific last-minute addition, and you’re right – they’re always the special something in a dish…

    Reply
  • 3. Angela (the lady love to eat)  |  February 13, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Cheesecake froyo?! That sounds (and looks) pretty much amazing!

    Reply
  • 4. Erin  |  February 13, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    Mmmm fro yo! I haven’t had ice cream or fro yo in months and months but I’m craving it now! 😀

    Reply
  • 5. Matt  |  February 13, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    You got me craving fro yo now 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Ana-Maria  |  February 13, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    Yum! Awesome food!

    Reply
  • 7. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad  |  February 13, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    I wish there were a fro yo place here. I’d be hanging out there daily!

    My Starbuck’s drink of choice is always a nonfat chai latte. I love those things!

    Reply
  • 8. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  February 13, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    Red velvet fro yo?!! What kind of magical place has that flavor?!

    Reply
  • 9. Tall Mom Mel  |  February 14, 2010 at 12:08 am

    Yummers. baby glas to help you sleep 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. kt  |  February 14, 2010 at 1:31 am

    I can’t decide if I’m craving caffeine or fro-yo more now haha. One of these days, my city will get with the program and get a frozen yogurt place, I hope! I’m just grateful that we have a few Starbucks lol.

    Reply
    • 11. Heather  |  February 14, 2010 at 7:31 am

      Well we’ve only been on the fro yo bandwagon for about 2 weeks–hopefully you’ll get one too 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

