Fueling to Run

February 14, 2010 at 7:06 am 11 comments

I started the day off with a nice, big bowl of oats to fuel up for today’s race!

oatmeal

It was just an almond butter AND peanut butter kinda day 🙂

oatmeal

I love letting the pb get all melty on the spoon, the I drizzle it all over the top so I can be sure to get some delicious nut butter in every bite.

RACE DAY!!!

Today’s marathon relay day!!

Most of the snow seems to have melted and it’s supposed to reach a high of 43 degrees today with a 20% chance of precipitation, so it should be a pretty good day weather wise! Except it’s only supposed to be 28 degrees by nine AM…hmm. It might be a little chilly in between laps!

Think I have enough gear?!

I’ve never done a race where you run a short distance then sit and wait, then run again…then wait…then run…you get the picture. I have no idea what to bring! Surely I’m going to get hungry judging by how long it’ll take for the overall event, but it’s not like I’m running far enough to really need “race fueling” per se. So I’m just going to bring a whole bunch of stuff with me so I can decide what I feel like I need or am in the mood for when the time comes 🙂

Post-race fueling is covered though: pizza and beer! Yum!

Oh I almost forgot-

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!!!!!

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , , .

Dessert Before Dinner I’m Running…

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  February 14, 2010 at 8:38 am

    Good luck at the race!! I think you’re doing the right thing to bring everything so that you’ll at least be prepared for any situation. 😉 I can’t wait to hear all about it…you’ll be great! 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Jess (Fit Chick in the City)  |  February 14, 2010 at 9:02 am

    I can’t wait to hear all the details about the relay! Have fun!

    Reply
  • 3. Anna  |  February 14, 2010 at 10:13 am

    Have fun! Good luck!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  February 14, 2010 at 10:28 am

    This race sounds so fun! Stay warm!

    Reply
  • 5. theprocessofhealing  |  February 14, 2010 at 10:57 am

    Good luck girl!

    Reply
  • 6. Teacherwoman  |  February 14, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    Have fun with the race, girl! Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Reply
  • 7. Heather  |  February 14, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    Good luck! Happy Valentines day!

    Reply
  • 8. fitandfortysomething  |  February 14, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    Sounds like a great day! Have fun…..

    Reply
  • 9. Angela  |  February 14, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Good luck at the race and happy valentines day!

    Reply
  • 10. abbynormally  |  February 14, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    Have a great time! Good luck!

    Reply
  • 11. Live, Love, Run, Pray  |  February 14, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    I think I have everyone on that table (if the white tank top is the one with the blue stars on it haha). those socks are my fave =) hope you had fun today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

