Strawberries & Champagne

February 14, 2010 at 9:30 pm 5 comments

Running was a fantastic way to spend Valentine’s Day! Despite the biting cold, we had a blast…well I did anyway!! The results haven’t been posted yet and I”m miserable with using my watch, so you’ll just have to hold your horses and be patient 🙂

I’ll give you a full recap in the AM, but here’s a quick overview:

Freezing, bitter cold.

16 laps.

4 people.

1 race.

Tons of fun.

Fast fast paces!

As soon as the race was over we headed straight for our reward: pizza and beer! Perfect post-race fuel 🙂

The missing relay-team-spouses joined us and we headed to a little local pizza place. I got two slices- one grilled chicken and one pineapple. (You know, post race protein….). Then I switched half of each topping to the other slice for chicken-pineapple pizza 🙂

pizza pizza

The slices were gigantic! I finished a slice and a almost a half before I had to wave the white flag. It’s hard to eat a lot after running hard! Plus, I might have already filled my stomach with half a pitcher of Bud Light…

 

Valentine’s Day

To celebrate Valentine’s Day, I had my heart set on making chocolate fondue for fresh strawberries and drinking champagne. Would you believe the grocery store didn’t have any strawberries?! On Valentine’s day?! I quickly brainstormed plan two: strawberry shortcake! That would taste just fine with frozen strawberries. But no shortcakes! Ah. Plan three: angel food cake mix. I had no idea if I had the ingredients on hand, and there was NO way I was going back to the grocery store, so I just went with the mix.

 

So after I got home, iced my feet, got a nice hot shower, and was finally warm (!!) I made the angel food cake.  (I love batters of all kind- cake, muffin, cookie- angel food cake is NOT on that list- ew! I had to spit it out in the sink. It’s got to be the cream of tartar.)

angle food batter

angel food cake

It needed something besides strawberries and angel food cake, so I made some sweet vanilla cream to top it all off.

Sweet Vanilla Cream

1/2 cup milk

1 T sugar

1 T flour

squirt agave nectar

1 tsp vanilla

Heat milk, sugar, and flour over medium low heat, whisking constantly. Once thickened, turn heat to low and add vanilla and agave. Serve over strawberries 🙂

  vanilla sauce

strawberry shortcake 

Dinner of champions ohhh yeah. (We’d pretty much just had pizza anyways)

strawberries and champagne

 

Hubby got me chocolate-covered fortune cookies for Valentine’s day because he knows I like fortune cookies…he didn’t think so much about the chocolate part 😉

 fortune cookie

fortune

And now I’m totally wiped out and hitting the hay early! Race recap in the morning! 🙂

Entry filed under: Dessert, Dinner. Tags: , , , , .

I’m Running… Race Recap: Valentine’s Massacre Marathon Relay

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lessonstolearn  |  February 15, 2010 at 7:22 am

    What a day! How many people can say they ran a marathon on Valentine’s Day! I like the idea of a relay…all the excitement of a marathon….without all that training!

    Yummy dessert!

    Reply
  • 2. Teacherwoman  |  February 15, 2010 at 7:33 am

    Wow! What a day indeed. Umm, I like fortune cookies too and dipped in chocolate? What an added bonus!

    Reply
  • 3. Erin  |  February 15, 2010 at 7:37 am

    Awesome! Can’t wait to read your recap — you go girl! 😀

    Reply
  • 4. Anna  |  February 15, 2010 at 8:47 am

    Great job on the race! Can’t wait to hear the recap!

    Reply
  • 5. Lindsayruns  |  February 15, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    Angel food cake is my favorite… Yummy almond flavor! Glad your race was fun, pizza and beer was a good choice 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

