Dreaming of Paradise

February 15, 2010 at 10:03 pm 13 comments

Look what was waiting on my doorstep when I got home today:

 DSCN1538

A huge box of gourmet English muffins from my mom! Thanks Mom! These things are sooo good. We sure have a whole lotta English muffins to eat now- expect to see a lot of these in the next couple days. 🙂

Of course I immediately sampled one, you know, to see if they were ok…..

DSCN1543

They were 🙂 I just had half with some orange marmalade. Yum!

 

Dinner

For dinner I decided to make the husband’s all time favorite: chicken marsala!

Chicken Marsala

4 chicken breasts, pounded thin

1/3 cup flour, 1 T set aside

salt, pepper, basil

1/2 cup marsala cooking wine

1/2 cup milk

1 pt mushrooms

Season flour with salt, pepper, and basil. Dredge chicken breasts in flour mixture. Cook over medium-high heat just until cooked through. Remove from pan and set aside. Add mushrooms to pan and sauté. As mushrooms brown, add marsala wine, being sure to scrap up brown bits from bottom of pan. Add milk and extra flour, stir well to dissolve clumps. Add chicken back to pan. Simmer until sauce thickens.

DSCN1545

I love serving chicken marsala over angel hair pasta. I use the “enriched” pastas rather than true whole wheat pasta because I like the light, delicate texture. I tend to use the enriched pastas a lot- it’s a good compromise for me and the husband since he’s not particularly fond of the chewiness of whole wheat pasta. (My two favorites to use are Barilla Plus and Ronzoni).

DSCN1550

For a punch of green I roasted some asparagus with olive oil, salt, and pepper. (12 minutes at 375 degrees)

DSCN1548

It came out close to perfect tonight! So good! I usually add a diced shallot when I’m cooking the mushrooms but didn’t think about it at the grocery store- I didn’t even notice it wasn’t there.

DSCN1551

Since we had leftovers from Valentine’s Day, we had more strawberry shortcake for dessert. Yummmmm 🙂

DSCN1554 DSCN1552

All the good movies are always checked out on the weekends, so I grabbed Couples Retreat to watch tonight.

It wasn’t as funny as I was expecting, but it was ok. It made me realllllly want to go on vacation somewhere with huts over tropical waters, like this:

water cabana

I’m going to go to bed and dream of tropical places 🙂

Entry filed under: Dessert, Dinner. Tags: , , , , .

Veggie-less Fridge Banana Bread Oats & Race Results

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maria  |  February 15, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    That is a lot of english muffins. Enjoy! How nice. I love asparagus! Great side dish to any meal

    Reply
  • 2. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad  |  February 15, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    Good looking dinner and dessert! Lucky you, getting English muffins from your momma!

    Reply
  • 3. Matt  |  February 15, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    I love english muffins 🙂 What kinds did you get?

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  February 16, 2010 at 8:53 am

      Cranberry citrus, grain and honey, sundried tomato and herb, and jalapeno cheddar!

      Reply
  • 5. Lacey  |  February 15, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    i was wondering if that movie was any good! the previews looked pretty funny but i was kind of skeptical. i could live vicariously thru a vacation movie tho…

    mmm english muffins.. .gourmet? = awesome.

    Reply
  • 6. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  February 15, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    Moms always know exactly what to give!

    Reply
    • 7. Heather  |  February 16, 2010 at 10:52 am

      Yes they do!

      Reply
  • 8. Anna  |  February 16, 2010 at 7:27 am

    Yum!!! I love English muffins! And, that strawberry shortcake looks AMAZING. Swoon.

    Reply
  • 9. marathonmaiden  |  February 16, 2010 at 7:50 am

    i wanted to dream of tropical places last night but (no joke) i had dreams of my quantum physics homework. definitely not the same!

    Reply
    • 10. Heather  |  February 16, 2010 at 8:54 am

      oh no! I would MUCH rather dream of tropical places than quantum physics….not that I know enough quantum physics to dream about it though haha

      Reply
  • 11. onelittlejill  |  February 16, 2010 at 10:34 am

    That strawberry shortcake looks AHH-MAZING!

    Reply
  • 12. Bike Envy « with a Side of Sneakers  |  February 16, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    […] theme of tonight’s dinner was Italian meets Asian. Dinner was leftovers from last night’s yummy Chicken Marsala. (I have to say microwaving it did it no favors. At least it was a quick dinner!) On the side I […]

    Reply
  • 13. shelly  |  February 17, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    That meal looks so yummy. You can cook for me anytime!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

