Banana Bread Oats & Race Results

February 16, 2010 at 8:06 am 16 comments

 DSCN1527

I completely forgot to grab a new container of cottage cheese at the grocery store yesterday, so I had to make do without this morning. For a little extra protein, I decided to add a little egg substitute to my oat combo. Plus a mashed banana and tons of walnuts. The end result was a slightly thicker oatmeal- somewhere between regular oats and baked oatmeal. I think I added just a bit too much egg because there was a kind of funny flavor hidden in there somewhere though. The peanut butter did a pretty good job of hiding the funkiness though. 🙂

I forgot I had English muffins!! I guess they’ll make an appearance later in the day.

 

z

RACE RESULTS ARE IN!! (Finally!)

Check out my full race recap here if you haven’t already!

Overall: 40/105  3:41:15  8:21/M    (which is weird because I definitely had a cup of water in my hand and was walking back to the group when the clock was at 3:40…and it says the distance was 26.5 miles, not 26.2.)

Division: 10/37 4 person co-ed teams

My splits:

Lap # Total Lap (1.6m) Min/mile
Lap 4 12:54 8:04/M
Lap 8 12:51 8:02/M
Lap 12 13:18 8:19/M
Lap 16 13:09 8:13/M

Wait what? My pace really starts with an 8? That certainly says something about cold as a motivation factor. And knowing your only running 1.6 miles then you get to rest.

It’s fun to be able to see times like that!

They definitely make sense—the 3rd and 4th laps I ran were definitely harder than the first two!

What’s ironic is 10 people ran the whole thing solo; 7 of them finished before we did. I’m telling you, if you ever want to be inspired, stand near the finish line of a race!

Kelly and I all bundled up…actually I think this before we added extra layers…:)

2010-01-17 033

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Race. Tags: , .

Dreaming of Paradise Soy Times Two

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly  |  February 16, 2010 at 8:12 am

    I think as part of a relay sounds like a much better way to run a marathon then all by yourself!

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  February 16, 2010 at 10:51 am

      It was tons of fun! I’d I was still able to walk afterwards- not sure I could say that if I did the whole thing alone!

      Reply
  • 3. LindsayRuns  |  February 16, 2010 at 8:47 am

    awesome splits, good job at the race 🙂

    hope you have a great day!

    Reply
  • 4. Kelly  |  February 16, 2010 at 9:15 am

    I look huge and there are def. 5 layers on in that pic!

    Reply
  • 5. Salah  |  February 16, 2010 at 9:54 am

    Those oats look delish!!!! I would love to do a relay like that!

    Reply
  • 6. Matt  |  February 16, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Great job on the race!

    Reply
  • 7. Estela @ Weekly Bite  |  February 16, 2010 at 10:14 am

    What a great race! Congrats!

    Reply
  • 8. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  February 16, 2010 at 10:30 am

    Despite the cold, I have to say that race looked so fun! Congrats little Ms. Speedster!

    Reply
  • 9. Sophie  |  February 16, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Awesome race! Congrats =)

    Reply
  • 10. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad  |  February 16, 2010 at 11:17 am

    awesome splits! way to go!

    Reply
  • 11. Carolina John  |  February 16, 2010 at 11:36 am

    hey that’s pretty fast! good job.

    Reply
  • 12. Julie  |  February 16, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    Way to rock it!!

    Reply
  • 13. Amanda Thebe  |  February 16, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    Hi just found your blog – love it!! Why is it that that magic 8 min mile feels just so good. Now if only I could get to the 7.30 mark!! well done

    Reply
    • 14. Heather  |  February 16, 2010 at 3:35 pm

      Hi! Thanks for stopping by!! I have no idea where those 8’s came from- I’ve been hoping to get in the 9’s!!! haha

      Reply
  • 15. Kelly  |  February 16, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    AWESOME splits…you totally rock!!!

    Reply
  • 16. kt  |  February 16, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    Wow you did GREAT! Congrats!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

