Bike Envy

February 16, 2010 at 9:10 pm 13 comments

Ahh I SO desperately want a new bike. I love my bike, but I had no idea I would ever start doing triathlons when I bought it. Since I didn’t know what I wanted to do when I bought the bike (besides ride it, duh) I went with a hybrid. Made perfect sense at the time. Actually, I would have bought it all over again if I was just planning to ride for general fitness.

However, riding for fitness and riding to keep up in a race are two entirely different things. After my triathlon last summer, I knew I would eventually need a new bike if I wanted to be serious about this. That, however, is not in the budget, and won’t be anytime soon.

[(My personal opinion–> when you’re a beginner, use whatever you have!! I still finished and LOVED it!!!) But I seriously did have people flying by me on the course say things like “Wow, you’re working twice as hard as the rest of us on that thing” and “Good for you for trying on that bike”.]

I decided I’d do whatever I could to improve the bike I have now.

The three easiest things you can do to make a bike more tri-friendly are:

1. Change the tires

2. Add clip on aero-bars

3. Get clipless pedals/shoes

Unfortunately #2 isn’t an option for me: I can’t attach clip on aero-bars to the type of handlebars I have. Even if I could figure out a way, the frame of my bike isn’t suited for riding in the aero position. I was majorly bummed when I found this out.

However that still leaves two things I can do to improve the bike I already own! I can easily change to smoother, less knobby tires. They won’t be as good for riding in rough areas, but they will generate less friction and slow the bike down less.

I can also get new pedals so I can wear clip-in shoes. I was nervous about putting too much money into my current bike instead of working to save for a new one. I went to the local bike shop today to talk to someone who might actually know what they’re talking about. I asked him if most road bikes come with clipless pedals on them, or if I’d have to buy new ones anyways. Verdict- I’d most likely have to get new ones anyways! So if I decide to go that route, I just need to make sure I keep in mind what I might want to do with them in the future.

It was really hard looking at all the pretty shiny bikes for sale!!

I highly suggest going to your local bike shop and asking tons of questions. It may seem intimidating, but that’s what they’re there for! (It can also be helpful to go to a bike store that has a bike performance shop- that means there’s definitely someone there that knows the ins and outs of bikes very, very well!!)

Dinner

Apparently the theme of tonight’s dinner was Italian meets Asian. Dinner was leftovers from last night’s yummy Chicken Marsala. (I have to say microwaving it did it no favors. At least it was a quick dinner!) On the side I sautéed some bok choy in sesame oil with some garlic and ginger. I like the baby bok choy better- more greens!!

DSCN1570

DSCN1580 DSCN1578

Do you have a bike? What kind?!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Other. Tags: , , .

Soy Times Two Breakfast to Go

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  February 16, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    I don’t have a bike but I’d love to. Running is my first love but I’d like to try out biking.

    Reply
  • 2. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  February 16, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    I have a Jamis frame and I built up the rest of the bike from parts! I also have an absurd amount of cycling knowledge if you ever need any advice! You will be shocked at how much changing your tires and hopping on the clipless pedal train will change your ride! I would also really suggest scoping out craigslist and places like that for bikes. There are some great deals to be had!

    Reply
    • 3. Heather  |  February 17, 2010 at 7:36 am

      Oo thanks–I may be coming to you for lots of advice haha 🙂

      Reply
  • 4. lessonstolearn  |  February 17, 2010 at 7:17 am

    My poor bike is sitting with flat tires in my parents’ garage! It’s a mountain bike and definitely not fancy. But I’d like to ride more. I hope when we move (and have a garage!) I can take my bike back.

    Reply
  • 5. Anna  |  February 17, 2010 at 7:43 am

    I have a hybrid bike that I hope to use to go to and from school once all this SNOW clears up! It’s nothing fancy, but I like it! I rode it alot this summer, but then when I started training for my half-marathon, I kind of slacked off on it.

    Dinner looks delish!

    Reply
  • 6. marathonmaiden  |  February 17, 2010 at 9:40 am

    i’m not a cyclist by any means so when i need to use a bike (because i don’t have one) i use the one i used to have a billion years ago…from when i was like 10 oops ha

    Reply
  • 7. Lacey  |  February 17, 2010 at 10:24 am

    ahh i love my bike. it’s technically a guy’s bike i think. a Giant “Boulder”… it’s blue. i almost lost it in college one time– it was stolen, and then a couple months later the police found it at the local high school!!!! i think someone just went joy riding (i went to college in a small town in VT). i was sooooo happy to have it back!! it’s not a racing bike or even a true road bike. i don’t mountain bike, tho. just like it! it’s nice to have the option to \bike outside. i used to go with my family or my sister when we all lived at home.

    Reply
  • 8. Jessica  |  February 17, 2010 at 10:41 am

    This has been on my mind too, but I won’t be upgrading any time soon either. I have a Bianchi road bike that looks great, but it is old and so very heavy. Tires make a huge difference though, and how the bike fits, of course. I took off my clip-on aero bars (a hand-me-down from a friend) because they were too far from shifting/brakes to ever settle in and use in my hilly area. Oh, and good pedals are worth every penny.

    Reply
  • 9. Carolina John  |  February 17, 2010 at 11:05 am

    i just bought a new bike for christmas. at the end of the year, the local shops dump all of the previous year’s inventory. so i was able to get a 2009 model (normally $2500) for $1600 – what a steal!

    it’s a cannondale synapse 5-c all carbon frame and fork. road bikes don’t normally come with pedals. i added clipless pedals and clip-on aerobars to mine and it’s tri ready.

    don’t feel like you have to get a tri bike to run triathlons. i (like most average people) love road bikes, you can ride them on group rides from your local bike shop, and race with them in triathlons.

    i can’t wait for tri season!!! going to put a mile in the pool over lunch today.

    Reply
    • 10. Heather  |  February 17, 2010 at 1:22 pm

      Oh how awesome!! I’ve been watching when the best sales are- I told myself if I did tri’s for 2 seasons, I could buy a road bike on sale. Almost there…;)

      Reply
  • […] buy everything in sight if you can afford such luxury.  But hey, I’m trying to save for some bike gear […]

    Reply
  • 12. Bike Tire Changing « with a Side of Sneakers  |  February 18, 2010 at 8:17 am

    […] step closer to a tri-ready bike! Next up- another tire. Then […]

    Reply
  • 13. LindsayRuns  |  February 18, 2010 at 10:29 am

    I have a cannondale mountain bike. Super nice, when hubby buys, he goes all out. I am afraid of triathalons because I know my bke isn’t a good fit, but it’s so nice…I don’t want another hobby that requires nice toys! too much hanging over my head 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

