Soy Times Two

February 16, 2010 at 3:30 pm 10 comments

   Lunch today was fake chicken nuggets and in-the-pod edamame, with a side of ketchup and Carribbean jerk sauce for dipping.DSCN1562

I’m not really sure what I was thinking, but I guess I was thinking you could eat the pods…like snap peas. Then I saw they were kind of fuzzy and really tough. I guess you have to pop them out of the pods to get to the yumminess.

DSCN1563

For the second time, I’m not really sure what I was thinking with lunch. I’m not sure fake meat product + soybeans = well balanced meal. Oh well, whatever.

DSCN1564

I’m not a huge fan of fake meat products in general. Usually I draw the line at black bean burgers and tofu. To me, those two things aren’t trying to replicate other foods. I get a little weary when a product claims it tastes just like the real thing. If I wanted to taste the real thing, I might eat the real thing!! I don’t really care for the taste of meat, so I guess that makes it a little different, but still, anytime something is trying to be something it’s not, I wonder what it’s made of. Some of the fake products have more unnatural stuff in them than you could imagine. Anyway, occasionally I like them for their convenience, like the chicken nuggets 🙂

Look at the pretty soy beans! They’re so cute 🙂

DSCN1568

Plus some Thin Mints. That definitely rounds the meal out 🙂 All the other Girl Scout cookies names have changed since I was a Girl Scout. Whatever happened to good old fashioned Samoas and Tag-alongs?! What was wrong with those names?!

DSCN1559

 

Workout

Although I’m in pretty good shape soreness-wise after Sunday, my feet are definitely feeling a little bruised and battered, so I decided to hold off running another day and hopped in the pool instead.

I swam some laps (I absolutely cannot count laps- I always loose count). Then tried some water running. Once I got over feeling like an idiot, it was actually kind of fun. I felt like a little kid playing in the pool. It was tiring too!! Perfect though- just like running but my feet never have to touch the ground. Swimming made me realize how neglected more poor arms have been with all this running. I used the foam weights I was using as floaties to do a few arm exercises, then hopped in the whirlpool- oh that felt so good!! Then I did a little foam rolling and headed home for a snack:

DSCN1373

Hummus and carrots. I think I need to re-blend the hummus with some more liquid…

 

I’m about to attempt to install a new router to see if it will help my internet issues. I’m not technologically inclined, so this could be interesting. I hope I can get reconnected!!

Entry filed under: Cross training, Lunch. Tags: , , , .

Banana Bread Oats & Race Results Bike Envy

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maria  |  February 16, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    I love edamame, I need to pick some up at the store. Thanks for the reminder. Love the hummus dip too!

    Reply
  • 2. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg  |  February 16, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    lol– yeah, you have to suck the pods to get the beans out! I didn’t know they had changed the names of tagalongs too! What to??

    Reply
  • 3. Kelly  |  February 16, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    I love how flexible you are! You are like…eh my feet hurt no worries I will swim! I wish I could be more like that…..

    Reply
  • 4. marathonmaiden  |  February 16, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    girl scout cookie names depend on where you live (there are 2 different companies that make them) because i’ve been eating them forever and have NEVER heard them called samoas and tagalongs here

    share some tips for pool running and getting over feeling like an idiot please? that’s 100% my fear. granted that’s never stopped me before for anything but there are some pretty hot lifeguards at the school pool…

    Reply
  • 5. Teacherwoman  |  February 16, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    Yeah, I don’t get why the changed the name of some of those Girl Scout cookies. geez. What’s the purpose!

    Reply
  • 6. Danielle  |  February 16, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    I’m like you- if I wanted to eat something that reminded me exactly of chicken…then I’d just eat chicken! Except some of the faux meat products (like the morningstar strips) don’t taste anything like meat to me

    Reply
  • 7. Morgan  |  February 16, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    I feel the same way about fake meat. I eat it maybe 3 times a year, it’s just weird!
    Swimming is a fantastic workout. You don’t need to count your laps, just enjoy!

    Reply
  • 8. kt  |  February 16, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    I feel the same way about fake meat problems–if I liked the taste of meat THAT much, I’d eat it! Haha. I totally ordered edamame at a restaurant once and thought you had to eat the pods… couldn’t figure out why it took about ten minutes to chew LOL.
    Where are the Girl Scout cookies around here?? That’s like the only redeeming factor of February and we are sadly cookie-less!

    Reply
    • 9. kt  |  February 16, 2010 at 10:09 pm

      And by “problems” I totally meant “products” lol.

      Reply
  • 10. Dinner in a Flash « with a Side of Sneakers  |  March 4, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    […] Giant mixes. I started adding some edamame to the mix, but then I realized I was doing the whole soy and soy combo again, so I stopped. There’s probably like 8 soy beans in there […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

