Kneading to Run

February 19, 2010 at 2:17 pm 4 comments

I am just itching to get outside and run. The sun is shining and it looks beautiful out!

First I needed some lunch and to do some prep work for some baking for dessert tonight!

 

Lunch was leftover tofu, northern beans, sundried tomatoes, corn, and spinach topped with lots of red pepper pesto.

hot salad beans and tofu

baguette

Somebody might have taste-tested the bread to make sure it was fresh enough to serve for dinner. No idea who that might have been 😉

 

As soon as I was finished lunch I started on my baking project. The in-laws are coming over for dinner tonight, so I thought it was a good excuse for a real dessert. (And plus if they eat some there won’t be so many leftovers!!)

I decided to make a chocolate babka from the holiday issue of Cooking Light since I’d already pre-made the filling a long time ago when I thought I was going to be able to make it and ran out of time. I first made this recipe back at Christmas-time and swore up and down I’d never make it again because it was so much work. Then I had my first bite fresh out of the oven and took back everything I said- it’s totally worth every minute.

Most of the time involved is actually in letting it rise, so I broke up the work throughout the day. Early this morning I did the mixing & kneading of the dough, and now it’s on it’s first rise- for an half and a half!

 dough

Kneading dough is SO stress relieving. If you’re stressed at all I recommend baking some sort of bread- you get the stress relief from kneading and then from the serotonin when you eat it. Hehee 🙂

kneaded dough

Even though the sun is shining, I wouldn’t go as far to say that there’s any place in my house that’s warm, so I pre-heated the oven for just a minute or two, put the dough in an oven-safe bowl, covered it with a damp dish towel, and set it in the oven to work it’s magic.

DSCN1746

You’ll have to come back later to see what the finished product looks like!! (Or I supposed you could just peek here)

Entry filed under: Dessert, Lunch. Tags: , , , , .

Finally Friday Parm Two Ways

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly  |  February 19, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    The temp is above 40 here for what feels like the first time in decades, so I totally understand your wanting to go out and run. I’m so impatient, I hate cooking things that require time to rise, or set. I can’t make myself wait.

    Reply
  • 2. Anna  |  February 19, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    Babkas always remind me of Seinfeld 🙂 I bet yours is going to be awesome!

    Reply
  • 3. theprocessofhealing  |  February 19, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    Wow I bet that is going to be GOOD!! I agree about the weather… it’s gorgeous!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Morgan @ Healthy Happy Place  |  February 19, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    I can’t wait to see how your recipe turns out! I love cooking light, i’ve had great luck with everything I’ve made from the magazine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

