Coconut Almond Oats

February 20, 2010 at 7:01 am 10 comments

The smell of coconut wafting up from bowl is letting my mind drift of to the tropics….oh how wonderful it would be to be somewhere tropical instead of working on a Saturday. 🙂

I went with Bob’s Red Mill 5 Grain cereal again this morning because I was craving some of that wonderful chewy texture.

DSCN1660

DSCN1671

DSCN1681

Ah it’s just so pretty 🙂

To change it up a bit, I added cottage cheese plus triple almond: almonds, almond milk, and almond butter. Plus double coconut: unsweetened coconut flakes and coconut creamer. Boy oh boy. This is the way to do coconut 🙂

DSCN1683

Check out the beautiful warm morning sunshine:

DSCN1684

I almost forgot to add cinnamon, so I sprinkled it on at the end!

DSCN1689

All I can say is YUM!!!

I made a horrible pot of coffee this morning by the way. I can never get it right- even when I make it the same way every time, it always turns out different.

It’s all watery. Ew. I drank it anyway. (I do not pass up coffee :))

DSCN1691

I love Saturdays. They always feel so vacation-y, even though I still work. Strange. But good! 🙂

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , , .

Parm Two Ways Sunny Saturdays = Smiles

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Missy  |  February 20, 2010 at 9:08 am

    I’m totally with ya – I never pass on coffee, must have coffee – every morning before every workout or trip to work. Breakfast looks GREAT!

    Reply
  • 2. theprocessofhealing  |  February 20, 2010 at 9:17 am

    Oh wow girl… those oats look amazing!!!! Seriously.

    I suck at making coffee too. That’s why I got a Breville.. they are awesome!!

    Reply
  • 3. Erica @ Fashion meets Food  |  February 20, 2010 at 9:42 am

    Dang girl!!!! Those oats look fabulous! I am so glad I just found your blog!

    Reply
  • 4. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  February 20, 2010 at 10:53 am

    I agree with you on Saturdays! I almost always have to work, but people are just in better moods on Saturdays!

    Reply
  • 5. Anna  |  February 20, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    I don’t pass up coffee either 🙂 Have a great Saturday!

    Reply
  • 6. Kelly  |  February 20, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    That coconut almond oatmeal looks divine! I am happy just looking at a picture of it. I HAVE to go to the grocery store later today and coconut just got added to the list…thank you!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Danielle  |  February 20, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    Your oats are beautiful. I’m obviously loving the coconut + coffee 😉

    Reply
  • 8. pyrodan77  |  February 20, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    I’m going to have to try coconut with my oatmeal one of these days… it looks so yummy and seems to be a trend nowadays. 😮

    Reply
  • 9. Matt  |  February 20, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    That looks really good 🙂 It reminds me of the Hawaiian granola that I buy!

    Reply
  • 10. marathonmaiden  |  February 20, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    mmmmm. that is all 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

