Sunny Saturdays = Smiles

February 20, 2010 at 1:36 pm 12 comments

The babka I made last night definitely didn’t disappoint. Check out the awesome filling of chocolate-y and cinnamon-y goodness:

cocoa filling

babka filling

I was a little over eager taking it out of the oven, and as soon as I sliced the loaf down the middle I saw it was still doughy inside. Now, I’m all for undercooked baked goods, but this was pushing it, especially since we had guests. I put it back in the oven a bit longer, and it turned out just fine (although a little collapsed.) Still tasted fantastic. I’ve been stealing bites of it all day 🙂

babka

doughy babka

Lunch was leftover eggplant parmesan and walnut-pear salad since I had so much left! I’m putting the rest in the freezer for a day when I don’t have time to cook!

eggplant parmesan

Last night I served the parms over spaghetti and extra marinara, but today I opted for the eggplant parmesan by itself because they flavor was so good. Not to toot my horn, but this dish turned out fantastic. 🙂

walnut pear salad

I love salad with fruit and nuts. The few extra minutes it takes to toast the walnuts is completely worth the extra flavor it provides 🙂

Now I’m happily working my way through the rest of my to-do list:

Work

Ex phys exam

– Library

– Fro yo 🙂

– Soak up warm sunshine 🙂

What are you doing that makes you happy today?!

Entry filed under: Lunch. Tags: , , .

Coconut Almond Oats Déjà Vu

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  February 20, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    Mmm the babka looks delicious!!

    I’m going to be enjoying the sunny weather today with a friend! yay for spring like weather in Feb!

    Reply
  • 2. Jacquie  |  February 20, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    Oh my goodness! That babka looks wonderful. I love babka and am always excited around the holidays when my local bread store makes it… mmm

    What makes me happy today is having the sun shine with no snow falling adding to our crazy winter 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Kelly  |  February 20, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    I have never heard of babka…but that looks FABULOUS!

    Reply
  • 4. Kelly  |  February 20, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    Fro yo is totally on my list of things to do today too! But, I kind of want that babka, it looks amazing!

    Reply
  • 5. Erica  |  February 20, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    yes the chocolately cinnamon deliciousness makes me wish i got the invite to your dinner party. Today i watched my daughter play soccer and that is a tried and true day brightner for me,and it’s not just cause she’s a rockstar at soccer. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Matt  |  February 20, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    <y run made me happy today 😉

    Reply
  • 7. marathonmaiden  |  February 20, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    well the day is almost over but i was looking forward to doing laundry because i love the way it makes my room smell 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Kara (@ Kara's Marathon)  |  February 20, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    WOW that looks beautiful! I don’t think I’ve ever tried making babka before!

    I spent the day at a nutrition class, and will be doing the same tomorrow 🙂 I was bummed to miss the gorgeous day (around 40 degrees — nice for NYC in February!), but had a fantastic time anyway!

    Reply
  • 9. Morgan @ Healthy Happy Place  |  February 21, 2010 at 11:29 am

    that dessert turned out awesome!! I want to try it but I doubt I have the baking skills or patience to do it…

    Reply
  • 10. lindsayruns  |  February 21, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    that bread looks great! well, everything does, really.
    makes me happy? my puppies had a playdate with a friend’s puppies and we got to chat. 🙂 good times!

    Reply
  • 11. Erin Eats and Exercises  |  February 22, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    Bakka looks amazing, recipe??

    Reply
  • 12. Goats & Dogs « with a Side of Sneakers  |  February 23, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    […] I ended the meal with the last slice of babka. (Not sad that I ended the meal with babka….sad it’s the last piece […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

