Hello Double Digits

February 21, 2010 at 3:12 pm 18 comments

DSCN1838

Well, I officially have 10 miles under my belt. Am I jumping up and down with pride? Not so much. Today’s run definitely isn’t on my list of great runs. It’s still an accomplishment because I did it, but it was long, slow, and hard. Honestly, I was hurting by mile 5, if not earlier. I kept telling myself I’d done longer with no trouble, so it was just an off day. And it was just an off day- I know the next one will be better. Well, I hope! Still, every inch covered is an inch closer to my goal. At least now I know I can continue even when it hurts. I felt like I had the stamina to last for the two hours it took me to go 10 miles, but my lower half just wasn’t cooperating. My legs felt like cement blocks the first few miles. I finally stopped and stretched quickly, and felt loads better after that. I never really got into a good rhythm though. The last mile or so was an embarrassing effort of run-walk-shuffle. I least I managed not to crawl 😉

Well you can’t win them all. If it was easy everyone would do it 🙂 It’s warm and sunshine-y out, and I can’t think of a better way to spend two hours enjoying the beautiful weekend. It was pushing 60! I can’t wait for spring- I hope we don’t skip straight to summer. I almost forgot what it’s like to sweat during a run!

I’m not really sure exactly how far I ran- I ran along the Greenway starting at this sign:

greenway sign

It says Strawberry Road is 5.4 miles away, so I figured if I ran most of the way there and came back I’d hit around 10. I just got a new Nike+ sensor- I just stuck it on my shoe and ran without bothering to calibrate it. In hindsight I probably should have.

I ended up running all the way to Strawberry Road- I even saw the sign at the other end that said my starting point was 5.4 miles the other way. I only kept running because my Nike+ said I wasn’t even at 5 miles yet. Grr. So it ended up saying I did 10.13 miles in 1:54:25, meaning 11:17 per mile. But according to the trail signs I ran 10.8 miles, which would put me at 10:35. I hate not knowing exactly. Both slow, but the 10:35 makes me feel a lot better. I’m going with that one 🙂

There were SO many people on the Greenway today!! Not surprising since it was the first nice weekend in a looong time. I like being able to people watch 🙂 Most of the path backs up to houses, and there was a guy burning his Christmas tree. (Gee not late at all there buddy….) Gulping pine smoke definitely provided for an interesting lung sensation.

After my run I spent a little quality time with my friend ice:

DSCN1845

Along with a hot chai tea latte to keep me warm. Yum.

DSCN1841

Then some lunch. Part of a veggie burger left over from last night and a mango. I love mango but man those suckers are hard to cut! I know how you’re supposed to cut them (cut around the pit, score into cubes, cut away from skin) but those buggers are crazy slippery! I did the best I could. SO GOOD.DSCN1847

DSCN1849

DSCN1850 DSCN1851

DSCN1854

Well off to enjoy the rest of the weekend! (Wow time really disappears when you spend two hours running!)

Entry filed under: Lunch, Training. Tags: , , , .

Ready, Ready, Ready, Ready to Ruuunnn! Sports and Tater Skins

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  February 21, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    Great job on the run! The important thing is, you finished!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Kelly  |  February 21, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    Hey 10 miles is 10 miles… nice job!

    Reply
  • 3. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  February 21, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    WOW – What an awesome run! You go girl!!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Kelly  |  February 21, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    CONGRATS! That is awesome! Double digits feels awesome doesn’t it!!

    Reply
  • 5. pyrodan77  |  February 21, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    Congrats on the run! That’s a great accomplishment you should feel wonderful! I’m trying to work up to adding miles myself – this is a bit of motivation. ^_^

    Reply
  • 6. Danielle  |  February 21, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    Congrats!! I’m sorry you weren’t feeling the best but you should be proud 😀

    People burn their christmas trees? lol

    Reply
  • 7. Julie @ Pickley Pear  |  February 21, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    Your mango cutting skills are professional compared to mine! Great job on the run! Today was hard, it will only get easier.

    Reply
  • 8. marathonmaiden  |  February 21, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    oh man i hate not knowing exactly too. it drives me bonkers. bummer you weren’t feeling the run today but it was still a great job. 10 miles = 10 miles whether you feeling like youre sprinting or crawling. so awesome work 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Lacey  |  February 21, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    oooh i would also hate not knowing exactly!! you can try gmap-pedometer??

    congrats on double digits!!!!!! and that mango looks amazing. i have never cut one well.

    Reply
  • 10. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self  |  February 21, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    Your attitude is really inspiring! You’re right that every run can’t be amazing, and the fact that you FINISHED is an AWESOME accomplishment in and of itself! Sometimes I beat myself up when I have a difficult run, but you’ve reminded me to stay positive! 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  February 21, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    Even if it was an off day, kudos to you for getting it done!

    Reply
  • 12. Shelly  |  February 21, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    Great run! You body will benefit even if it didn’t feel like one of those amazing runs!

    Reply
  • 13. Matt  |  February 21, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    Some runs are tougher than others… Thats just the way it is. Great job pushing through 🙂 That is when you get stronger.

    Reply
  • 14. Britt @ Runnerbelle  |  February 21, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    Great job on your run! Sometimes you have an off day and its more of a character building session…. so you built some running character today. 😉

    Reply
  • 15. Anna  |  February 21, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    Great job on your run!!! I remember my first ten miler went great…and then my next one was AWFUL! Sometimes you’re just off, you know?

    That sandwich looks delicious!

    Reply
  • 16. MCM Mama  |  February 21, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    Great job getting it done! Even a bad run is moving towards the goal!

    Reply
  • 17. Reality Check « with a Side of Sneakers  |  February 22, 2010 at 11:29 am

    […] really do need to be honest with myself here. There’s no question why yesterday’s run was crappy. I was slacking in my training during the week. I know I promised myself that I would […]

    Reply
  • […] first double digit run of half marathon training. And the double digit-er that went much […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

