Sports and Tater Skins

February 21, 2010 at 7:33 pm 7 comments

(I’m going to say this quietly so I don’t jinx myself, but 3 routers + 5 hrs of tech support later- we have Internet!! I wish we’d decided to get a new router ages ago, it’s so nice not having to fix it every 10 seconds. Now if only my computer could keep up…)

So I completely forgot about my not so great run when I wore flip flops to go get me some long awaited fro yo—highlight of my day!! I don’t know what’s better- flip flops or for yo. Tough call.

After taste testing just about every flavor on tap, I went with peanut butter cheesecake (with chocolate sprinkles & graham cracker crumbs) and cake batter with rainbow sprinkles! Heaven in a cup!

DSCN1858

Now I like sports, but I don’t really like watching them on tv. Ok, more like I don’t like watching them on tv. Give me live action and I’m good to go, but tv, not so much.

The only sport I actually like to watch on tv is ice hockey. And it just dawned on me there’s a HUGE ice hockey game on tonight! USA vs Canada!! Woohoo!! This is going to be the one and only time I’m the one in the house turning a game on 🙂

In spirit of sports watching, I decided to make a veggie version of tater skins. Popped a potato in the microwave to let it do it’s thing, then scrapped the insides out, mixed them with broccoli spinach, milk, and Neufchatel cream cheese, then a little Swiss cheese on top. Baked at 400ish for about 10 minutes, insta-tater skins! The healthy kind 🙂

DSCN1875

And roasted asparagus. I liked it cooked so the “tree” ends just start getting crispy.DSCN1867 DSCN1868 DSCN1873

We have house guests again tonight (Mike & Emily are still without a functioning bathroom in their house!) so it should be a great game-watching night!

Entry filed under: Dessert, Dinner. Tags: , , , .

Hello Double Digits Reality Check

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  February 21, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    Yum.. those sound delicious!!

    Reply
  • 2. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  February 21, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    What a perfect hockey treat! These remind me of the twice baked potatoes my mom used to make when I was little!

    Reply
  • 3. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad  |  February 21, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    I love hockey too! My town used to have an ECHL team, and I went to the games like crazy.

    Reply
  • 4. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  February 22, 2010 at 12:12 am

    ooooh YUM! they look great! I also love watching sport live 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. lessonstolearn  |  February 22, 2010 at 7:09 am

    THat baked potato looks wonderful! I love mixing the insides with yummy things 🙂

    Congrats on the run….You have nothing to be disappointed about. 10 miles is 10 miles. Great accomplishment! Definitely earned some frozen yogurt for that one!

    Reply
  • 6. Anna  |  February 22, 2010 at 7:32 am

    Oooh…I’ve been wanting to make potatos like this…yours look amazing!

    Reply
  • 7. Kara (@ Kara's Marathon)  |  February 22, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Awesome dinner – I love the idea of “healthy” tater skins!

    Hope you enjoyed the game – hockey is SUCH a fun game to watch, at home or at the arena. U-S-A!! U-S-A! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

