Reality Check

February 22, 2010 at 7:08 am 17 comments

You guys are great…thanks so much for all the encouraging comments re: my less than stellar run yesterday. I knew I was sore before I even rolled out of bed, so I was definitely working it yesterday even though it felt like poo!

I really do need to be honest with myself here. There’s no question why yesterday’s run was crappy. I was slacking in my training during the week. I know I promised myself that I would listen to my body, and I’ve done more of that than I ever have before. But I’m either taking this whole new concept too far, or not far enough.

Here’s how it seems to go: I push myself too hard one day, then I have to take it easy for a few days to recover. Then I get back to it, push too hard, have to rest, repeat. You get the picture. But with the race looming ever closer, I haven’t been willing to cut back the way I should when I miss a run. I guess I just really need to keep in mind that if I keep this pattern up, there very likely could be no race for me. I would rather have a poor performance (read: slow) than no performance at all.

Ok enough of that!

Breakfast

Breakfast was an odd one this morning. When I first got up I wasn’t all that hungry, but didn’t want to wait too long to eat, so I grabbed half of a cranberry orange English muffin and some sugar free orange marmalade.

DSCN1772

Then a little while later I saw that fabulous babka just sitting there lonely on the counter. So I heated up a slice- oh warm gooey heaven in a bread.

DSCN1780

By then I wasn’t hungry for oatmeal. I threw a pack of the instant in my bag to take with me in case I got hungry later. I doubt what I’ve had so far is going to keep me full for long 🙂

Training

As I was sitting outside on the porch eating fro yo in my flip flops yesterday, I realized summer was just around the corner. It may not seem like that today, but it’ll be here before we know it. And that means……

Triathlon season is coming!!

And training starts today! New plan will be revealed later today 🙂

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Training. Tags: , , .

Sports and Tater Skins Time for Triathlon Training

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  February 22, 2010 at 7:49 am

    I’m so excited to hear about your triathlon training! How exciting! 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Tricia  |  February 22, 2010 at 9:07 am

    Good luck with the training!

    Reply
  • 3. theprocessofhealing  |  February 22, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Trathlon training… very exciting!!!
    It can be so hard to find a balance in listening to your body where you aren’t overdoing it and pushing your body only to a certain point.

    Reply
  • 4. Anne Marie@New Weigh of Life  |  February 22, 2010 at 9:38 am

    Good luck with the training! It’s exciting!

    Reply
  • 5. Nutritious Foodie  |  February 22, 2010 at 10:11 am

    Triathlon sounds great. My biggest hurdle would be running! But I would love to do one.

    Reply
  • 6. Sophie  |  February 22, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Good luck with your training!

    Reply
  • 7. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  February 22, 2010 at 10:52 am

    It is so hard to hold back sometimes, even when you know it’s for the best!

    Reply
  • 8. Estela @ Weekly Bite  |  February 22, 2010 at 11:53 am

    It’s so important to listen to our body… I know its hard though 🙂

    Good luck with Tri Training 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. lindsayruns  |  February 22, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    ooh exciting! looking forward to the details!

    Reply
  • 10. Christie @ Honoring Health  |  February 22, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    I do the same thing. Push. Pull. Push. Pull. Finding balance is hard.

    Good luck with your training.

    Reply
  • 11. Becky @ flybynyght  |  February 22, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Hi!! Just stumbled on you from your guest post – great blog! You’ve got yourself a new reader!

    Reply
    • 12. Heather  |  February 22, 2010 at 4:28 pm

      Welcome! Glad to have you reading!:)

      Reply
  • 13. Matt  |  February 22, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Just remember that training for a race is all about balance/ Push yourself, recover, push yourself, recover… Your not going to improve if you don’t push yourself, but your body needs time to recover and build up.

    Reply
  • 14. Anna  |  February 22, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    Can’t wait to see your plan! I can definitely relate to the push and pull of training too hard, and then not hard enough…it’s all about finding that sweet spot, right? 🙂

    Reply
  • 15. Julie @ Pickley Pear  |  February 22, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    I am jealous of your weather. Detroit just got 8″ of snow all day today! Can’t wait to hear about the training schedule.

    Reply
  • 16. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  February 22, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    ooooh I am excited for you re triathlon season! Our season is coming to a close *sniff* and I only have 1 or 2 races left until October!!! 😦

    Reply
    • 17. Heather  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:21 am

      Oh no that’s so sad! It sounds like you got a lot of great races in this season though! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

