Thai One On

February 22, 2010 at 7:33 pm 19 comments

I had a serious attack of the hunger monster this afternoon at work. (This is why I eat oatmeal & PB for breakfast- not wimpy bread!!!) Luckily I had a key lime Larabar stashed in my car to tide me over, but by the time I realized that I was already obsessed with thinking about what I was going to make for dinner.

Last night my friend Emily and I were talking about how much we love Thai food. My favorites- tom ka puk soup, tofu pad Thai, and mangoes with sticky rice. Have you ever had mangoes with sticky rice? It’s seriously amazing.

Well I had mangoes with sticky rice on my brain, and I just so happen to have mangoes.  I wish thinking about how I could turn the dessert into a meal, and how I’d have to stop and get some rice on the way home. Then I realized I had Arborio rice (for risotto) in my pantry already, and the ideas just started flowing! I decided I was going to make risotto with coconut milk!! I had no idea whether it’d work or be any good, but it sure sounded like a good idea to me. With some black beans, veggies, and warm mangoes on top? Oh yeah, it was going to be good.

DSCN1898

First things first, I started off with a little snack since risotto takes awhile to cook. Once I let myself get to hungry I just don’t feel right, so this was a vital step!

Honey grain English muffin and almond butter. The warm nooks and crannies just sucked all the almond butter right up! This is definitely the best flavor in the whole box of muffins we have.

DSCN1896

Now back to dinner.

Black Bean & Mango Risotto

1.5 cups Arborio rice

1 can light coconut milk

1 can vegetable broth

1/2 cup dry white wine

1/2 onion, diced

1 red bell pepper

1/2 c shredded carrot

1 can black beans

lime juice

cilantro/dried basil

red pepper flakes

onion/garlic powder to taste

1 T coconut oil (or other oil)

1 mango

unsweetened coconut flakes

Saute red peppers & carrots. Set aside. Melt coconut oil over medium high heat, then add onions. Heat broth and coconut oil (I use a tea pot). When onions start to turn translucent, add rice. Toast lightly. Add white wine. Stir. Add ~1 cup broth/milk mix. Stir. Stir. Stif. Once liquid is absorbed, add more. Stir. Stir. Stir. You get the idea. Keep adding & stirring until it’s all absorbed. Probably takes about 20-30 minutes. Add in black beans, red pepper, carrots, and seasonings. Remove from pan and set aside. Add sliced mango to pan and heat gently. Place on top of rice. Garnish with coconut flakes and a dash of lime juice. Eat. Enjoy. Say yum.

DSCN1906 DSCN1907

DSCN1909

(Add chicken or tofu for extra oomph. Or whatever other veggies you like.)

DSCN1908

(The husband said I had to take a picture of his because I had to “show all variations” hahaa. He also says I should make this again tomorrow.)

I was extremely pleased with the results…this was SO good, and a great change from the usual flavors we have. It takes while to make, but the time invested definitely pays off. The slow cooking and stirring makes it super creamy- if I didn’t know better I would swear this had cheese in it. I’m definitely making this one again (but not tomorrow hubby, sorry haha)

Come back tomorrow morning for Did You Know Tuesday!!! Can’t wait to hear what you have to say about this one…

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , , .

Time for Triathlon Training Pumpkin Chai Oats & DYKT #4

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maria  |  February 22, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    I love black beans and mangoes. You should try this salad:

    http://twopeasandtheirpod.com/black-bean-avocado-and-mango-salad-with-cilantro-and-lime/

    It’s my favorite. Maybe I will have it tonight:) Love your dinner!

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:21 am

      Oh that looks like a fantastic salad, I’ll definitely have to try it! Thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Jessica @ Dairy Free Betty  |  February 22, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    Looks AMAZING!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Anna  |  February 22, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    Yummm!! What a great mix of flavors!

    Reply
  • 5. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  February 22, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    Wow – I am super impressed – what a great combination of flavours!!

    Reply
  • 6. theprocessofhealing  |  February 22, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Girl, you are a straight up genius!!! That sounds incredible!

    Reply
  • 7. Kelly  |  February 22, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    I’m coming over next time you make this!! OMG it looks divine!!

    Reply
  • 8. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self  |  February 22, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    I’ve been looking for a way to use coconut milk…definitely trying this recipe!

    Reply
  • 9. Britt @ Runnerbelle  |  February 22, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Oh yum! That looks awesome, I definitely need to give that a try.

    Reply
  • 10. Matt  |  February 22, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    Looks good. I love risotto!

    Reply
  • 11. Julie  |  February 22, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    Oh boy, does that look good:) You always have such good dinner recipe ideas! Thanks for sharing:)

    Reply
  • 12. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  February 22, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    Anything plus mango is pure magic in my book!

    Reply
  • 13. Leslie @ Chomp!  |  February 22, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    That looks so good!
    i think my boyfriend would even like that if i didn’t tell him what was in it! such a picky eater! haha

    Reply
    • 14. Heather  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:23 am

      Haha I always do that to my husband 😉 He *hates* carrots- I didn’t tell him there were any in this til he was done eating..teeheee 🙂

      Reply
      • 15. Leslie @ Chomp!  |  February 23, 2010 at 5:58 pm

        muahahaha. sneaky!

  • 16. lessonstolearn  |  February 23, 2010 at 6:38 am

    I love mango in grain dishes! I have a qunoa dish I make with mango and I love it!

    Reply
  • 17. Lovely Leftovers « with a Side of Sneakers  |  February 23, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    […] Black Bean Mango Risotto! With a few extra red peppers added […]

    Reply
  • 18. Goats & Dogs « with a Side of Sneakers  |  February 23, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    […] couldn’t decide what to make for dinner tonight. I guess I used up my recipe-creating quota on last night’s meal. I finally figured it was just going to have to be a pizza […]

    Reply
  • […] Best recipes this month: Eggplant Parmesan & Black Bean Mango Risotto […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

