Time for Triathlon Training

February 22, 2010 at 12:22 pm 16 comments

Lunch

As predicted, I was hungry quite early today! I started off with an appetizer of V8 Sweet Red Pepper soup mixed with a little leftover Tomato Herb soup.

red pepper soup

Ouch I burned my mouth on the spoon!

And some RiceWorks Chips.

riceworks chips

Then a little later I had my main course: eggplant parm! (Surprise, surprise- I obviously failed to put this in the freezer….it’s just soooo good!)

eggplant parm

Triathlon training starts TODAY!

tri training

Since my half marathon is in 4 weeks (!!), training for that will take precedence. For now I will approach the triathlon training as cross-training for running. It will be a good way to remind my body how to swim and bike. When the half is over- it’s full on tri mode!

The plan is listed by time as of now. I’m fine with that until the half marathon, but I’d like to make it more specific and distance oriented after that. Anybody have any good recommendations for sprint triathlon training plans that are by distance instead of time?

Entry filed under: Lunch, Training. Tags: , , , , .

Reality Check Thai One On

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly  |  February 22, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    Are those rice works chips good? I contemplated buying a bag the other day, but didnt’ want to hate them

    Reply
    • 2. Heather  |  February 22, 2010 at 4:34 pm

      I like the Sea Salt flavor better than these ones, but they’re good!! Nice and crunchy 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Kelly  |  February 22, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    You are so awesome! I hope you don’t beat yourself up about your run…we all have our less than stellar days but you are seriously incredible! A half marathon and a tri…WOW! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Erin Eats and Exercises  |  February 22, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    Im training for a tri, what do you plan on wearing? Im contemplating buying tri shorts and am looking for suggestions!

    Reply
    • 5. pen  |  February 22, 2010 at 8:31 pm

      you def want tri shorts! I’m a fan of zoot and sugoi tri shorts, but there are a lot of great brands out there!

      Reply
      • 6. Heather  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:28 am

        Thanks for the recommendation! I’ve tried on some pearl izumi ones as well as the zoots…I like them both! I’ll have to keep an eye out for the sugois. I held off buying them until I was sure I was going to do more triathlons- I’m definitely sure so it’s time to get some!

  • 7. shutupandrun  |  February 22, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Wow that parm looks amazing. Good luck with the start of your triaining!!

    Reply
  • 8. Heather @ Get Healthy With Heather  |  February 22, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    Those rice works chips are so tasty but some of the flavors are a bit too salty for me. Haven’t had them in a while though 😦

    I’ve never done a triathalon before but might be doing on in the fall (fingers crossed). I’ll have to check back and see what you come up with as for a distance training plan. Good luck on the half marathon soon!

    Reply
  • 9. Matt  |  February 22, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    Have you thought about just converting the time to distance based on your abilities?

    Reply
    • 10. Heather  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:24 am

      Yea I was thinking of just doing that, but I thought if I saw a plan already in miles it might push me harder 😉 The plan I have so far doesn’t really change a whole lot in time, so maybe I’ll just adjust it as I go along. Luckily I have plenty of time to come up with something! 🙂

      Reply
  • 11. Anna  |  February 22, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try those chips– and how exciting to see your plan! Can’t wait to hear all about it being put into action!

    Reply
  • 12. marathonmaiden  |  February 22, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    no suggestions here as i am a triathlon virgin but i’m so excited for you to start training!

    Reply
  • 13. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  February 22, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    Great looking training plan! Be sure to get some rest days in there too 😉 I don’t have any specific recommendations re training plans – but I know that there are a lot of books out there that include some sample plans. Keep an eye out for them 🙂

    Reply
    • 14. Heather  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:25 am

      Some of those books get so detailed they intimidate me…maybe I’ll take another look and just look at one week at a time 😉

      Reply
  • 15. pen  |  February 22, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    I was just about to say what Lisa said. I used a book training for my first tri a few years ago. Now, I do what ever my coach tells me to do (makes it so easy). You also might want to check out beginnertriathlete.com They have a great social networking platform and a lot of info (including training plans)

    Reply
  • 16. shelly  |  February 23, 2010 at 11:22 am

    Looks like a busy training schedule. I don’t think a Tri will every be in my future! I do not like to swim.

    Good luck with your training!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

