Goats & Dogs

February 23, 2010 at 10:12 pm 22 comments

I really couldn’t decide what to make for dinner tonight. I guess I used up my recipe-creating quota on last night’s meal. I finally figured it was just going to have to be a pizza night.

I started with a frozen pizza, but made up for it by adding my own fresh veggies to the mix. I sauteed a pile of chopped onion, red pepper, zucchini, and spinach, then finished it all off with some tangy goat cheese and dried basil.

veggies

pizza

The pictures don’t do this pizza justice. I swear the best food ideas come from not having a clue where you’re going with something when you start!cutting pizza goat cheese pizza

I love goat cheese. The husband tried to make a joke and said “What, is it made out of goat’s milk or something?” Umm yea hubby, it is…….;)

Sadly I ended the meal with the last slice of babka. (Not sad that I ended the meal with babka….sad it’s the last piece :()

DSCN1886

So on my run today, a dog came running up behind me, jumped on me, then tried to run through my legs. Umm, hello? I kinda freaked out (I’m not a dog person) but I saw the owner dashing across the street, so it ended up ok. The run went ok- I could tell I was tight from Sunday’s long run, so I ended the run with a little yoga for runner’s & foam rolling.

Have you ever had any animal encounters on a run?!

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , , .

Lovely Leftovers Oats in a Jar Time!

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kbwood  |  February 23, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    mmm your meal and BREAD look awesome!
    DOG encounters..it scares the crap out of me!

    Reply
  • 2. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  February 24, 2010 at 12:01 am

    When I was living in Maine I came across a Moose and I had one very scary encounter with a rattlesnake while I’ve been here in Phoenix!

    Reply
  • 3. pen  |  February 24, 2010 at 6:46 am

    oh my gosh that babka looks oosoooo delish!

    And I can totally see my dog being that dog…he’s a little hellion…and tries to escape and then you see me flailing down the road trying to catch him…bad dog.

    Reply
  • 4. Anna  |  February 24, 2010 at 7:03 am

    Oh my GOSH that babka looks so good!

    Once, during a run on a trail, a GIANT snake slithered right across the trail. I had the heeby jeebies for about a month afterwards 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. lessonstolearn  |  February 24, 2010 at 7:57 am

    That’s how my pizzas look…loaded with veggies! Looks delicious!

    I haven’t had any bad animal encounters on a run, but I have been almost run over by a couple of bikes…

    Reply
  • 6. lindsayruns  |  February 24, 2010 at 8:13 am

    was the dog happy or trying to attack you? My running partner and I almost ran INTO a deer once!

    Reply
  • 7. Matt  |  February 24, 2010 at 8:24 am

    I love goat cheese too!

    I have a had a dog follow me for like 3 miles before lol. It kind of creeped me out!

    Reply
  • 8. Jessica  |  February 24, 2010 at 8:30 am

    I AM a dog person, just not while running 🙂

    I think knowing in great detail what happens to both 1. the person who gets nipped/bitten, and 2. the blameless dog who simply wasn’t safely controlled, makes me absolutely furious with guardians who let their pets approach runners off-leash, friendly or not.

    Ooops, there I am on my soapbox again…

    I’ve never made babka before, but that is something I have to try ASAP!

    Reply
  • 9. brandi  |  February 24, 2010 at 9:16 am

    i love adding more veggies to frozen pizzas 🙂 makes them feel more homemade!

    I got bit by a dog last summer while running. he didn’t break the skin, but I had a bruise on my thigh for WEEKS!

    Reply
  • 10. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  February 24, 2010 at 9:26 am

    I totally agree…the meals where no direction is known always turn out the best. And I never thought of adding sauteed zucchini to pizza, but that just sounds so perfect. And goat cheese? My favorite. 😀

    I’ve had a couple of “dog encounters.” Most are usually big goofy dogs that simply want to play. However, I’ve had some not-so-great experiences with little dogs. Usually I’ll stop running, stomp my foot and tell them to go home. It usually works (*crossing fingers*.) 😀

    Reply
  • 11. Erin Eats and Exercises  |  February 24, 2010 at 9:44 am

    In January I was vacationing in Mexico and decided to take advantage of the beautiful weather a go for a run. There was nice and safe walking/bike path right outside of our hotel so I took advantage of that. I was running along and this guy running towards me was smiling at me and waving. I was thinking to myself “wow, everyone in Mexico is super night.” And you know how there is a “jeep wave,” I figured it was the same thing but for runners. Little did I know he was trying to prevent me tripping over the GIANT Iguana that was lying directly in my path. Once I noticed what he was talking about I screeched (not even a scream) and basically darted into the middle of the road. Thank god for no traffic! I love animals, but reptiles and amphibians…not so m much..

    Reply
  • 12. marathonmaiden  |  February 24, 2010 at 9:50 am

    i once had a “run in” with a fox. luckily it ran the other way but i was sooooo scared! haha

    Reply
  • 13. Sophie  |  February 24, 2010 at 9:51 am

    I love “raid the fridge” dinners! You’re looks great, and super healthy! I LOVE goat cheese too!! Its so rich and creamy 🙂 I’ve never had an animal run in, but running in a city I’ve had a bunch of near-awful people crashes!

    Reply
  • 14. Morgan @ Healthy Happy Place  |  February 24, 2010 at 10:00 am

    I can’t get over that chocoholic bread that you made! yum!

    Reply
  • 15. runningwithsass  |  February 24, 2010 at 10:34 am

    I am almost out of a jar of peanut butter and I am so excited about doing this lol!

    animals on a run, yes, dogs and cats following me. I have run next to a swamp and had great fear an alligator was going to eat me..but I never saw one.

    Reply
  • 16. Kelly  |  February 24, 2010 at 11:21 am

    Oh my gosh…yes…once i ran across a skunk! It as scary because he got scared and posed ready to spray. I totally froze in place and stood there for like 3 minutes praying he would relax and go away. He did…but I am sure I looked ridiculous on the side of the road standing stock still while I had a skunk take pointed at me!

    Reply
  • 17. Christine (The Raw Project)  |  February 24, 2010 at 11:37 am

    The pizza looks awesome. I mainly encounter un-leashed dogs … which I HATE, rabbits and wild turkeys in this area.

    Reply
  • 18. shelly  |  February 24, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    Loads of animal encounters!

    Yum yum yummy! Your pizza looks soooo good!

    Reply
  • 19. Lacey  |  February 24, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    i am a super dog person but i’ve had a couple of bad encounters so it just goes to show there are some bad-behavior dogs out there. i have been lunged at twice andn one time it was a german shephard and he left a wet mark on my shorts, i was super shaken like would he have bitten me if i’d given him enough of a chance? his owner yanked him away and i was still moving at least. but whewwww.

    Reply
  • 20. Karissa @ CardioFoodie  |  February 24, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    I always add veggies and extras to my frozen pizza too! Yours looks delicious!

    Reply
  • 21. Britt @ Runnerbelle  |  February 24, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    Eeks! The dog jumped on you? I love dogs, but I don’t love dogs that are loose. I had two dogs come after me once, fortunately their owner finally got a clue and called them.

    I prefer to have animal encounters like seeing deer, rabbits, birds, etc.

    Reply
  • 22. inmytummy  |  February 24, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Babka always reminds me of a Seinfeld episode.

    I like dogs but not when they’re chasing me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

