Fah-jeet-ahs

February 24, 2010 at 7:36 pm 16 comments

I started off the evening with my own version of wine and cheese.

DSCN1988

Cabernet sauvignon and Kashi Cheddar crackers. These crackers are like crack to me. Get it…CRACKers…Ok it was only funny in my head. Anyway, I really like them. They’re perfect for a little tide-me-over when dinner’s just a bit too far away.

Dinner

I started with the same veggies as last night’s pizza but with a completely different end result. I sautéed some red pepper, onions, and zucchini over fairly high heat to get them all charred and yummy, then seasoned them with chili powder, cumin, Worcestershire sauce, and red pepper flakes.

DSCN2001

While the veggies were cooking away, I cracked open some refried beans. I mixed them with a little Worcestershire sauce and chili powder too.

Then it was make your own fah-jeet-ahs night! Whole wheat tortillas with refried beans, veggies, salsa, sour cream, and shredded sharp cheddar cheese.

DSCN2004

With some extra veggies on the side because they’re so darn good.

DSCN2009

I love fajitas! I especially love the sizzling sound they make when they bring them to you piping hot in a restaurant. 🙂

Then a little something to sweet to end the day (and to make up for my lack of baklava ;))

DSCN1984

A Kashi oatmeal cookie.

Hope you had a wonderful Wednesday! 🙂

Entry filed under: Dessert, Dinner. Tags: , , , .

No Baklava For You Fall Oats

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly  |  February 24, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    YUM! That looks like a perfect ending to a Wednesday! Enjoy your night Heather! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Anna  |  February 24, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    I love thsoe Kashi Cheez-It knock-offs!! So tasty! I don’t buy them too often because I can inhale an entire box in one sitting!

    Reply
  • 3. marathonmaiden  |  February 24, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    wine & goldfish are my wine & cheese. because we’re classy like that 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. theprocessofhealing  |  February 24, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    Kashi rocks. I LOVE those crackers. But like Anna, I don’t buy them because I can sit and eat them all.

    Reply
  • 5. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  February 24, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    ooooh that looks good! I think I will have to suggest a Mexican inspired dinner to Mr BBB 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. julia  |  February 25, 2010 at 5:08 am

    Such a coincidence, I had fajitas too this week, delicious:)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

    Reply
  • 7. lessonstolearn  |  February 25, 2010 at 7:02 am

    That’s my kind of meal! Kashi crackers are great…I just wish they were gluten free 😦

    Reply
  • 8. Jessica  |  February 25, 2010 at 8:21 am

    If you like those crackers (so do I!) you HAVE to make cheese straws. I’ve used this recipe a couple of times: http://www.lottieanddoof.com/2009/11/thanksgiving-and-cheese-straws/

    They taste eerily like cheez-its, you get to use whichever natural cheese you like, and they work great with whole wheat flour. Oh, and they’re fancified for wine pairing 🙂

    Reply
    • 9. Heather  |  February 25, 2010 at 8:46 am

      Ooo fancy enough for wine? I’ll definitely be checking those out! 😉

      Reply
  • 10. fitandfortysomething  |  February 25, 2010 at 8:44 am

    Gosh those fajitas look great! What a great night…..from start-crackers and cheese to the end-cookie!
    Have a good Thursday.

    Reply
  • 11. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  February 25, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Love the wine and cheese!! I love fajitas too – yummy. I made some recently myself.

    Reply
  • 12. Sophie  |  February 25, 2010 at 9:37 am

    Awesome cab sav (my favorite!) and I LOVE that you use Worcestershire sauce! My absolute love, its good in everything!

    Reply
  • 13. thetwentyfifthyear  |  February 25, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    That photo of the wine and cheese is out of this world great! You need to pat yourself on the back for that!!! I lurve fajitas – mainly in a restaurant where they come sizzling from the kitchen. What can I say, I like hype.

    Reply
  • 14. onelittlejill  |  February 25, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    I am a huge fan of that dinner; so much so that it is what I am making tonight!

    Reply
  • 15. Mexican Night Take 2 & Giveaway! « with a Side of Sneakers  |  February 25, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    […] 25, 2010 At the risk of being redundant, dinner was leftover fajitas. Hey, that’s what happens when you make something tasty. You eat more of it It was exactly the […]

    Reply
  • 16. Heather  |  February 25, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    I love refried beans – I just wish my husband did too. Its kinda hard for me to eat an entire can by myself…

    Love your dinner!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

