No Baklava For You

February 24, 2010 at 2:49 pm 13 comments

Once a month on Wednesdays, we have a big meeting at work where they bring in lunch. I look forward to it because it always tastes good, and includes yummy brownies or baklava for dessert. It makes the long meeting more bearable 😉

However, today the director decided we were all going on a diet and no more sweets or “bad” foods allowed. So what did we have today? A sandwich platter, pasta salad, and cream cheese ball dip thing with crackers. Uhhh… not exactly what I would have chosen if we were trying to go down the “healthy” road. Plus I look forward to that baklava! It’s like a mini inch sized triangle piece. Hardly a huge diet detriment. i say if you want to diet, skip the baklava. Don’t eat it if you don’t want it. Don’t make everyone else suffer!! Haha ok ok I’m done. I’m not against being health (obviously), I just don’t think that’s what was accomplished today.

[Sorry no pictures- patient confidentiality thing. Not that there were any patients in the meeting, but I don’t mess around with pushing confidentiality limits.]

Needless to say, I came home and immediate had a little snack. A cranberry citrus English muffin with almond butter and cinnamon, and a nice mug of hot chai tea latte.

DSCN1980 DSCN1981

The weather’s a bit on the nasty side today- snowy and wet and dreary. I rode my bike on my trainer for a little over half an hour this morning, according to my schedule. I have a bottom-of-the-line trainer though, which means no resistance settings, so it didn’t really feel like much of a workout. Hopefully the sun will start shining more as we get closer and closer to spring. 🙂

Entry filed under: Cross training, Lunch. Tags: , , .

Oats in a Jar Time! Fah-jeet-ahs

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather @ Get Healthy With Heather  |  February 24, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    That’s interesting that your boss is deciding how “healthy” you all are going to eat. I probably wouldn’t consider that the most healthy either but everyone has their own opinion about what constitutes as healthy.

    Reply
  • 2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce  |  February 24, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    what? i can’t believe the director is now dictating what you guys can eat? that is so bizarre. girl get your baklava lovin on! that stuff is GOOD! sorry the weather is gross today, hope tomorrow brings you some sunshine

    Reply
  • 3. Kelly  |  February 24, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    Okay first…that english muffins looks yum…what brand is it? I have never heard of a cranberry citris english muffin!

    Second, seriously I love what people consider to be “healthy”…I guarantee that pasta salad and a cheese ball pack more caloires and fat than a peice of baklva…but whatever. Sorry you had to miss out! 😦

    Reply
    • 4. Heather  |  February 24, 2010 at 7:24 pm

      Wolferman’s…my mom ordered them online and sent them to me…not sure if you can get them in the store or not. They’re SO good though…and gigantic!

      Reply
      • 5. Kelly  |  February 25, 2010 at 5:45 pm

        THANKS!! I am going to go check them out!!

  • 6. marathonmaiden  |  February 24, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    interesting that your boss decided to make you guys eat “healthy”. i guess health is all relative. and i agree with you: if you want to diet then just skip the baklava yourself and don’t make others suffer hahaha 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  February 24, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    oh no – I am shocked at how many people ‘think’ they are being healthy – when they are in fact not making the best health choices. Think creamy pastas (ie. “pasta is healthy isn’t it?”) or creamy caesar salad (ie. “but all I had was a salad?”). I guess it comes down to education?

    Reply
  • 8. theprocessofhealing  |  February 24, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    Wow.. that stinks girl. Your English muffin looks delicious however 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  February 24, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    Isn’t it funny what people deem “healthy”?

    Reply
  • 10. lindsayruns  |  February 24, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    oh I’d be pissed if I was used to baklava…that’s a weekness!

    Reply
    • 11. lindsayruns  |  February 24, 2010 at 9:48 pm

      also, spelling is a weakness 😉

      Reply
  • 12. Sophie  |  February 25, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Bernstein Bears mug?! No way!! Love it.

    Reply
    • 13. Heather  |  February 25, 2010 at 7:22 pm

      Haha yup. I’ve had it since I was little 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

