Mexican Night Take 2 & Giveaway!

February 25, 2010 at 7:12 pm 28 comments

At the risk of being redundant, dinner was leftover fajitas. Hey, thatโ€™s what happens when you make something tasty. You eat more of it ๐Ÿ™‚ It was exactly the same as last night except I added some frozen corn kernels to the veggie mix before I heated them up. Nothing beats whole wheat tortillas, refried beans, and veggies.

DSCN2077

DSCN2081

I also had some thick, creamy, V8 Sweet Red Pepper soup on the side.

DSCN2074

Soup and beans- both so filling! I should have eaten a little slower, Iโ€™m stuffed! I got hungry again after the fajitas last night, so hopefully the soup will help hold me over a little longer tonight.

BYHOBadge

Feb 12, 2010 was the first Blog Your Heart Out Day- a day to blog our hearts out to increase awareness of heart disease. (You may or may not remember me attending a local GoRed event and blogging my heart out about it.)

Why is it important to talk about heart disease?

– Heart disease is the #1 cause of death among women- it kills one woman every minute

– 90% of women have one or more risk factors for heart disease

– 80% of cardiac events can be prevented by choices like diet, exercise, and not smoking

GoRed & the American Heart Association are about encouraging women to live healthier lifestyles. Did you know that women who keep track of their eating and physical activity habits are more successful at improving them?ย  Youโ€™re 75% more likely to achieve your goals if you write them down. Fitbook is a diet and fitness journal that helps you track your progress as you work to reach your goals.

fitbook

As a result of participating in Blog Your Heart Out, fitlosophy has offered to reward one lucky SoS reader with a Fitbook!! Fitbook is a great way to track the things that can help you live a healthy, heart disease-free life!

Win a Fitbook!

How to Enter:

1. Leave a comment sharing something you can do today to help prevent heart disease. (Required)

Bonus entries:

2. Spread the word. Knowing how to help prevent heart disease is powerful information- no reason to keep it to yourself. Link back to this post on your blog. (Leave a separate comment)

3. Tweet tweet! Share one heart-disease preventing tip on Twitter & link to this post. (Include @SideofSneakers). Leave another comment ๐Ÿ˜‰

(If you donโ€™t have a blog or Twitter, leave a comment telling me how you spread the word on preventing heart disease.)

โ€œWhen you speak up, you help save lives.โ€

Contest ends 2/28/10. Fitbook provided by Fitlosophy. ๐Ÿ™‚
Entry filed under: Dinner, giveaway. Tags: , , .

Take that McDonald’s Wheat Berry Ready

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. merittothecarrot  |  February 25, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    Is it weird that I want Mexican for dinner all of the sudden?

    http://www.merittothecarrot.org

    Reply
  • 2. Heather  |  February 25, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    I love mexican food – I was thinking of trying to make something this weekend!

    That fit book is interesting!

    Reply
  • 3. Sophie @ yumventures  |  February 25, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    I exercise 4-5 times a week to keep my heart healthy ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 4. fromatopink  |  February 25, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    Those fajitas sound perfect to me! And one of the few meals I just might be able to make with things I have in the house! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 5. Julie @ Pickley Pear  |  February 25, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    To prevent heart disease: engage in 30 minutes of cardiovascular activity 5 days per week. This is especially important for people in their 50’s such as my parents, who eat and drink probably a bit too much. I’m always on them about getting on the treadmill!

    Reply
  • 6. lindsayruns  |  February 25, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    *Today* I went for a 30 minute jog, ate oatmeal, got my blood pressure checked at the doctor (even just went to the doctor), annnd other stuff I’m sure…all of those things can help prevent heart disease!

    Whats the white stuff on your burrito?

    Reply
    • 7. Heather  |  February 26, 2010 at 8:00 am

      Sour cream ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  • 8. Shelly  |  February 25, 2010 at 11:56 pm

    We had turkey tacos tonight. My kids loved them!
    Eating (none) very little red meat is something I do to help my heart be healthier. And running nearly everyday! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  • 9. Shelly  |  February 26, 2010 at 12:01 am

    Linking your giveaway in my Friday post!

    Reply
  • 10. Shelly  |  February 26, 2010 at 12:07 am

    Side note: When I was young I had a variety of health issues. When I was born my blood and body did not store vitamins and minerals. I was sickly a lot! I had rheumatic fever that damaged my heart and was severly anemic. My parents (not of great worldly means) got assistance from the American Heart Assoc. for paying for some of my meds. It was a running joke that the AHA had me registered as Shelby. It drove me crazy. Much to my family’s delight. Thank goodness for everyone who give of their time and money for organizations that really do help people. They once helped me…and they may one day again. So I give of the things I now have because there may be a day when I don’t have anything left to give. Now you know me a little bit better. *smile*

    Reply
    • 11. Heather  |  February 26, 2010 at 8:01 am

      Wow what an amazing story- that’s wonderful AHA was able to help out–I hope you don’t need them again, but it’s nice to know that there’s people out there like that ๐Ÿ™‚ Sorry you had to go through all that!!

      Reply
  • 12. Wheat Berry Ready « with a Side of Sneakers  |  February 26, 2010 at 7:06 am

    […] forget to check out my Fitbook Giveaway! Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Pantry DumpGood Ol’ Sunday MorningPie for […]

    Reply
  • 13. onelittlejill  |  February 26, 2010 at 7:06 am

    I would not use a Fitbook but I would love to win this for my best friend Jessica. She struggles with her weight and over the past few months has made a lot of progress. She is currently working even harder in order to be ready for a wedding she is in. She is a fabulous friend, and this would make a great gift!

    Reply
  • 14. Casey  |  February 26, 2010 at 7:15 am

    I would love the fitbook! To keep my heart healthy I don’t eat meat, I eat my oats, get regular exercise, and enjoy the occasional glass of RED WINE, which is excellent for you, delicious and fun! Thanks for your posts! I can’t wait to make veggie fajitas now!

    Reply
  • 15. theprocessofhealing  |  February 26, 2010 at 9:22 am

    I would love to win that! I can choose whole grains over refined grains to help prevent heart disease.

    Reply
  • 16. Lacey  |  February 26, 2010 at 9:27 am

    exciting!! i would looove a fit book. one thing i can do today to prevent heart disease is get out there and go running!!!!! i will also never ever smoke a single cigarette.

    Reply
  • 17. Lacey  |  February 26, 2010 at 9:29 am

    i tweeted1!! (and friended you ๐Ÿ™‚ )

    Reply
  • 18. Lacey  |  February 26, 2010 at 9:30 am

    i also linked back to the contest on my blog b/c my tweets show up at the top right of the blog to spread teh word!

    Reply
  • 19. marathonmaiden  |  February 26, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    wow i would love this! i think exercise is the best thing you can do to prevent heart disease

    Reply
  • 20. marathonmaiden  |  February 26, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    i blogged and linked

    Reply
  • 21. marathonmaiden  |  February 26, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    and i posted it on facebook

    Reply
  • 22. Recovery Time (per usual) « MarathonMaiden's Blog  |  February 26, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    […] I’ve written a novel haha.ย  Hope everyone is having a great Friday so far and check out the giveaway that Heather’s having. Leave a […]

    Reply
  • 23. runeatdatesleep  |  February 26, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    I run at least 3 times a week, so I think that’s keep my heart healthy ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your mexican leftovers look amazing!

    Reply
  • 24. runeatdatesleep  |  February 26, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    I tweeted… my username is runeatdatesleep

    Reply
  • 25. Morgan @ Healthy Happy Place  |  February 27, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    cool giveaway!

    I eat a healthy balanced diet and exercise often. I think that reduces my risk of heart disease!

    Reply
  • 26. sarah  |  February 27, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    Exercising regularly, not eating too much salt and not smoking are all things that can help prevent heart disease.

    Reply
  • 27. pen  |  February 27, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    I keep my heart healthy by keeping my stress in check with meditation and yoga!!

    Reply
  • 28. Jessie  |  February 28, 2010 at 6:52 am

    I’m about to go for an early morning run – that way, I’m sure to get my heart-pounding exercise early! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

