Take that McDonald’s

February 25, 2010 at 12:52 pm 17 comments

In case you were wondering, 34 degrees is too cold for running in a t-shirt!! (For me anyways) I don’t know what I was thinking. The sight of sunshine must have confused my brain cells into thinking that must mean it was warm outside. I even opened the door to check the temperature, but I guess it didn’t register.

Anyway, I had an absolutely freezing but nice 4 mile run today. It’s amazing to think the first time I ran this route I barely survived using the Galloway run-walk method. Now the only part I walk is a steep gravel down-hill—and that’s for fear of wipeout, not utter exhaustion!

My arms were so cold by the end of the run I couldn’t feel them. I couldn’t even function enough to turn my Ipod off or stop my watch. (Seriously I’m the most cold-natured person I’ve ever met- I wear hoodies year-round.) My arms and hands still feel funny.

After my run I had a nice lunch to refuel. A gourmet Egg McMuffin:

DSCN2037

(It doesn’t just look ginormous- it IS ginormous)

It’s a Jalapeno Cheddar English muffin with a microwave egg, cheddar cheese, spinach, and some sautéed onions leftover from last night’s fajitas.

DSCN2023

I didn’t really care for this English muffin. I don’t mind spicy things, but the flavor combo in an English muffin just didn’t really work for me. The sautéed onions were the highlight of the sandwich- yummm!!

DSCN2034

(The spinach is a little odd looking because I stuck the whole thing under the broiler.)

Check out this runny yolk action- sometimes you just need the whole egg!!

DSCN2039

Now I’m drinking more coffee to warm up! Yikes!!

Entry filed under: Lunch, Training. Tags: , , .

Fall Oats Mexican Night Take 2 & Giveaway!

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maria  |  February 25, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    I despise McDonalds in so many ways. Love your breakfast sandwich. SO much better than fast food!

    Reply
  • 2. todayslady  |  February 25, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! That breaky looks so good!! Sauteed onions are one of my favorites!!

    Reply
  • 3. Megan (The Runner's Kitchen)  |  February 25, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Mmm, it’s been far too long since I’ve had a egg & cheese sammie. I need to get my hands on some Ezekiel english muffins and enjoy one soon!

    Reply
  • 4. Kelly  |  February 25, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    It looks mouth watering!! I need to try one of your famous english muffins!

    Reply
  • 5. Jessica  |  February 25, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    That totally owns anything McDonalds could mass produce. You’ve totally pwned, and it looks delicious!

    Jessica

    Reply
  • 6. lindsayruns  |  February 25, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    feeling you on the cold…I had to run/walk my 3 only cause the wind kept sucking my breath away! That egg (mc)muffin looks glorious. sauteed onions are a nice touch!

    Reply
  • 7. Kelly  |  February 25, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    Oh I hate when my hands get so cold on a run that they go numb. Hope you thawed out!!

    Reply
  • 8. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self  |  February 25, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    I’m chronically cold as well. I also have a major problem with my hands getting super cold when I run outside…sometimes I even stick hand warmers inside my gloves!

    Reply
    • 9. Heather  |  February 25, 2010 at 7:22 pm

      I’ve done that too!! 🙂

      Reply
  • 10. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  February 25, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    oh boy that looks GOOD!
    And congrats on the run, albeit a chill one 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. marathonmaiden  |  February 25, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    i hate the cold too! my hands can never function after a cold run. i’m very cold intolerant. butttt great run! character building 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. Anna  |  February 25, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    I’m a terrible judge of weather when I exercise outside!! I always put on WAY too many layers when it’s not that cold outside, and not nearly enough when it’s freezing!

    Reply
  • 13. Kara (@ Kara's Marathon)  |  February 25, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    WOW that looks good! I’d take your sandwich over a scary hockey puck egg from McDonald’s every single day of the week 🙂

    Reply
  • 14. Heather  |  February 25, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    I am always cold too – I keep a big, ugly sweater on my desk chair. When I’m by myself in my office, I’m wearing it.

    I love making homemade breakfast sandwiches. So simple and delicious.

    Reply
  • 15. Britt @ Runnerbelle  |  February 25, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    Ah the sun can be deceiving…. especially this time of year. That lunch rocked, looks delish!

    Reply
  • 16. lessonstolearn  |  February 26, 2010 at 8:09 am

    Home-made egg sandwiches are so much better than anything McDonalds can do! Looks so good!

    You were brave to wear a t-shirt running. I am always cold, and like you, am wearing hoodies in the summertime.

    Reply
  • 17. shelly  |  February 26, 2010 at 11:49 am

    Looks yummy! McDonalds could take a lesson!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

