Olympic Poutine & February Favorites

February 28, 2010 at 8:03 pm 14 comments

I was SO hoping the US was going to pull out another win against Canada when they tied up the game, but no such luck. Sad day. 😦

My game day snacks included a Pete’s Wicked Strawberry Blonde and bunches of Kashi cheese crackers.

Pete's Wicked Strawberry Blonde

Kashi cheese crackers

I’m mature enough to accept that Canada has a great team, so tonight’s dinner was a tribute to Canadians.

Here’s the story: the other morning the husband and I were watching the Today Show where they were talking about the Canadian dish called poutine. To my understanding it’s basically French fries with gravy and cheese curd. Just the description makes me want to gag, but in typical male fashion the husband thought it sounded awesome.

I had a big bag of potatoes I got at the grocery store for sixty cents the other day (no joke) so I decided to make a huge batch of baked fries and save some for later. (I made one batch spicy and one savory). As a joke, I said “hey we could have poutine” since the game ended seconds before I started cooking dinner.

Never make jokes you aren’t prepared to follow through on. The husband got so excited about the prospect of poutine that I couldn’t disappoint him. Oh the things we do to keep our men happy.

Olympic Poutine

Lots ‘o fries (I seasoned mine with chili powder, cumin, cayenne pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, s & p- baked at 425 degrees until crispy on the outside, ~30 min)

baked French fries

1 can mushrooms

1 onion, chopped

1 cup broccoli florets

1/2 c vegetable (or chicken) broth

1-2 T flour

black pepper

Saute onions over medium high heat. Add in mushrooms & broccoli. Stir in broth and flour- mix well, scraping onion bits of bottom.

Pour veggie-gravy mixture over fries.

poutine

Toppings: cheddar cheese, salsa, fat free sour cream

poutine

As I was plating this, I was thinking this is by far the grossest thing I’ve ever made. I kept telling myself it was just like a loaded baked potato, just in a different shape.

That’s actually exactly what it tasted like. It was kind of nice to have a crunchy –ish base, instead of just soft potato. It reminded me of the late-night covered, smothered hash browns we used to get in college. (Except definitely lightened up!)

So it wasn’t bad, but I wouldn’t make it again if I had the choice. The husband ate it up within seconds- he was in poutine heaven.

My mouth was on fire when I was done- I guess I made the fries extra spicy this time around!!

I’m totally getting ready to chow down on some leftover 24, 24, 24 dessert 🙂

February Favorites

Some of my favorite things from February:

New ingredient: Coconut Oil

Best recipes this month: Eggplant Parmesan & Black Bean Mango Risotto

My fave DYKT discussion yet: the skinny fat phenomenon

The best breakfast ever: Baked Oatmeal

Sports nutrition series: Hydration 101

Valentine’s Massacre Marathon Relay

Changing my first bike tire!

My first double digit run of half marathon training. And the double digit-er that went much better!

Re-celebrating weddings with 24, 24, 24 !!!

Training

57.52 miles this month!

March has me scheduled for 72, so we’ll see how that goes…

Giveaway Winner

And the winner of the Fitbook:

fitbook

Random.org says it’s….

…#17

….who was….

…Lacey!!

Lacey- shoot me an email (rungirlrunn at gmail) with your address so I can send you your Fitbook! Congrats!!

Time for some closing ceremonies/homework time! I’m going to be sad when the Olympics are over. What’s your favorite winter Olympic sport?

Entry filed under: Dinner, giveaway, LookBack. Tags: , , , .

Foodbuzz 24, 24, 24: Wedded Bliss – Take 2 Spring is Coming

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nora@LiveLifeEatRight  |  February 28, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    That looks sooooo good!! I wouldn’t mind eating a plate of that to warm up after some skiing!

    Reply
  • 2. Lauren @ Reading and Running  |  February 28, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    Your training this month was great! Poutine is exactly as you described it-disgusting! I’ve never had it but on my trips to Toronto every fast food place has it..Burger King, McDonald’s, etc. And people eat it! So weird to me. Yuck. I guess you have to be Canadian to appreciate it!

    Reply
  • 3. marathonmaiden  |  February 28, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    yeah i was really bummed to when the canadians pulled ahead. and hahah “the grossest thing i’ve ever made”! glad it tasted good though 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Morgan @ Healthy Happy Place  |  February 28, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    you are so creative in the kitchen!! Olympic Poutine? how cute are you?! Even if it tasted bad, it’s still fun to experiment sometimes.

    Reply
  • 5. ChrisC  |  February 28, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    I was SO afraid that the US was going to pull out another win against Canada when they tied up the game, but luckily we pulled it off.

    I agree with the gross disgusting poutine comment. Poutine and Haggis are best left for those that appreciate them.

    Reply
  • 6. theprocessofhealing  |  February 28, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Ok maybe i’m just crazy as your husband but that sounds good to me!!! Well maybe I would make a few changes but the concept is good. How about cheese fries? Ok… that’s a bit different but delicious nonethless.
    And I SO need to try that mango risotto… ahh putting that on my list now..

    Reply
  • 7. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self  |  February 28, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    A few days ago, I was running on the treadmill at the gym, watching the Today show on the television in front of me. They did a whole segment on poutine. While it actually sounds kind of good to me, the last thing you want to be watching while trying to bust out some sprint intervals is a bunch of people shoveling that stuff into their mouths! It was gross! Ha!

    Reply
  • 8. Matt  |  February 28, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    Lol that actually looks pretty gross…

    Reply
  • 9. todayslady  |  February 28, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    I’m Canadian and I definitely don’t appreciate poutine! I’ve had it maybe 2 times when I was younger and both times didn’t finish it. I for sure think it’s a “guy” food. Its hilarious that you made it for dinner though! I LOLed when I read that!

    Reply
  • 10. Leslie @ Chomp!  |  March 1, 2010 at 12:18 am

    poutine is only good in Quebed. anywhere outside of tehre and its disgusting. just for context. haha

    that’s the healthiest poutine i’ve ever seen though. haha

    Reply
  • 11. Anna  |  March 1, 2010 at 7:22 am

    I don’t know if I could eat something that sounds so similar to pootang. Is that just me? 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad  |  March 1, 2010 at 7:38 am

    I really liked watching ice dancing this year. Meryll and Charlie are too cute!

    As for the poutine, I can’t believe Canadians eat that! (although your portrayal of it does appear to be much more appetizing than the Today Show description.

    Reply
  • 13. Shannon  |  March 1, 2010 at 8:21 am

    I’ve never heard of Poutine…but then, I’ve never been to Canada either.

    What a game that was! Couldn’t have been closer!

    Reply
  • 14. Sophie  |  March 1, 2010 at 10:49 am

    POUTINE!!! Love it…reminds me of fun times in Montreal 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers


$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

