Archive for March 2, 2010

Meatless Meatloaf

Don’t worry, all the food is back in the pantry. 🙂

food pantry

After seeing this recipe over at Foodologie, I knew I had to make it. I saw this on the Food Network awhile back and completely forgot about it. Love Giada’s recipes!

Of course I didn’t follow the recipe well. Here’s my version:

vegetarian meatloaf

Vegetarian Meatloaf

2/3 cup green lentils

1 cup short grain brown rice

1 can vegetable broth

1 cup water

1 rib celery, chopped

1/2 onion, chopped

1/2 c carrots, shredded

1/2 c zucchini, shredded

1/2 c frozen corn kernels

4 cups spinach, wilted

garlic & onion powder

nutmeg

black pepper

3 slices part skim mozzarella cheese

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

1/4 cup shredded Italian cheese

Sauce

1 can Italian style diced tomatoes

4 cloves garlic

lots of basil

Edited to add: Optional but highly recommended: top with roasted red peppers. YUM. Do it!

lentils and rice brown rice veggies corn

Boil broth & water. Add lentils & rice (well-rinsed). Turn heat to low; simmer while prep veggies. Add veggies to rice mixture; simmer 30 minutes. Add corn. Mix tomatoes, garlic, and basil together for sauce. Mix rice mixture, seasonings, spinach, half the sauce, mozzarella cheese, and parmesan cheese together. Spread in pan. Top with shredded cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Serve with leftover sauce on the side.

veggie meatloaf

SO GOOD. You can betcha I went back for seconds 🙂

I had dessert too:

gluten free brownie

Long story short, I tried to make my cupcakes for 24, 24, 24 gluten-free, but turns out they used spelt flour, which isn’t gluten free. So at the last minute I made some gluten-free brownies instead. These things rocked. This was the last decent looking one, but I’ve got a whole Tupperware full of un-presentable broken edges…yummm!

March 2, 2010 at 8:03 pm 19 comments

Tropical Wheat Berry Salad

This morning I was in a mad dash to pack lunch and I was absolutely convinced I had Craisins in the pantry. I didn’t see them where I usually keep them, so I immediately proceeded to rip through everything on all the shelves, searching frantically. Don’t asked me why I was so obsessed with finding dried cranberries.

I made a pitiful attempt at putting things back, then gave up. Looks like somebody’s organizing the pantry tonight. (I’m sure the husband thoroughly appreciated all the ruckus so early in the morning. Actually, I’m even more certain he slept through it like a rock.)

DSCN2521

Don’t worry, I found the Craisins:

DSCN2514

Exactly where I first looked. I blame the pre-oats morning stupor.

 

When I was making my oatmeal, I realized I might have gone a little overboard in my wheat berry making escapade. I have SO many wheat berries pre-cooked in the fridge that I’ll never get through them by oats alone.

DSCN2024

I decide to make a wheat berry salad. As I threw things in to the wheat berries, it quickly took on a tropical theme: Granny Smith apples, dried cranberries, lime juice, unsweetened coconut, walnuts, and celery. (Celery? You know, that famous tropical celery?)

DSCN2519

Next time I’d ditch the celery. That was just strange.

 

You can’t live on salad alone, so I also had barbeque pizza.

DSCN2516

Told you I’d turn into pizza. Just wait. I’m ok with it.

 

 

So on the radio on the way to work this morning they changed the snow prediction to little accumulation and mostly overnight tonight. Umm I just looked out the window…the cars in the parking lot are already covered! Geez. Bring on the 60 degrees.

March 2, 2010 at 1:18 pm 9 comments

Perfect Oats & DYKT #5

This morning was just screaming for creamy stovetop oats. I usually make banana oats on the stove, but the banana I had was a teeny tiny wimpy one, so I ended up adding pumpkin too. I wasn’t too sure how those two flavors would mesh, but I was willing to risk it 😉 Verdict: YUM!!!

I couldn’t taste too much actual banana flavor, just a hint of sweetness coming through the pumpkin.

I also added cottage cheese and Amazing Grass powder. I went a little overboard with the grass powder and got a little worried I’d ruined my stovetop oats, but it turned out just fine! I could ever so slightly taste the Amazing Grass, but none of the bitterness.

I used rice milk instead of almond milk so I’m surprised these still turned out as creamy as they did. I didn’t notice a difference at all. (Geez I was messing with a lot of variables in one bowl ;))

stovetop oats

Peanut butter and wheatberries only made it that much better.

oats with wheatberries

Plus some Christmas Blend coffee. (I know, I’m way behind on the season- but it’s cold enough to feel like Christmas this morning.) With some So Delicious Coconut creamer and sugar free hazelnut syrup. The coconut creamer makes it a funny color, but it tastes fine!

morning coffee That’s what I call breakfast 🙂

oats and coffee

Now time for Did You Know Tuesday!

DYKT #5

Did you know…

Weight loss is not only about willpower.

This goes along with last weeks ‘fit and weight’ discussion. Having trouble dropping the last 5 pounds? Or does it seem like no matter what you eat or don’t eat, you stay the same weight? Maybe it’s time to reassess your goals. Weight loss is not about willpower. Yes, it’s a factor, but it’s also about genetics. Take a look at your extended family. How do you compare in size? Are you significantly smaller? Then the goal weight you have in mind just might not make sense for your body. Stop frustrating yourself. Evaluate your goal from a different outlook. Why do you want to be that weight? What would be different if that was your weight? Is it because that number sounds good? You think it’s the “right” weight? Would you be able to run faster or lift more? Think about the answers and what they mean to you. Maybe it’s more important for your goal to be to improve your 10K time or gain strength. Remember, thin doesn’t equal fit, and vice versa. Being fit plays the bigger role in your health 🙂

Thoughts?!

March 2, 2010 at 6:10 am 16 comments


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere