Perfect Oats & DYKT #5

March 2, 2010 at 6:10 am 16 comments

This morning was just screaming for creamy stovetop oats. I usually make banana oats on the stove, but the banana I had was a teeny tiny wimpy one, so I ended up adding pumpkin too. I wasn’t too sure how those two flavors would mesh, but I was willing to risk it 😉 Verdict: YUM!!!

I couldn’t taste too much actual banana flavor, just a hint of sweetness coming through the pumpkin.

I also added cottage cheese and Amazing Grass powder. I went a little overboard with the grass powder and got a little worried I’d ruined my stovetop oats, but it turned out just fine! I could ever so slightly taste the Amazing Grass, but none of the bitterness.

I used rice milk instead of almond milk so I’m surprised these still turned out as creamy as they did. I didn’t notice a difference at all. (Geez I was messing with a lot of variables in one bowl ;))

stovetop oats

Peanut butter and wheatberries only made it that much better.

oats with wheatberries

Plus some Christmas Blend coffee. (I know, I’m way behind on the season- but it’s cold enough to feel like Christmas this morning.) With some So Delicious Coconut creamer and sugar free hazelnut syrup. The coconut creamer makes it a funny color, but it tastes fine!

morning coffee That’s what I call breakfast 🙂

oats and coffee

Now time for Did You Know Tuesday!

DYKT #5

Did you know…

Weight loss is not only about willpower.

This goes along with last weeks ‘fit and weight’ discussion. Having trouble dropping the last 5 pounds? Or does it seem like no matter what you eat or don’t eat, you stay the same weight? Maybe it’s time to reassess your goals. Weight loss is not about willpower. Yes, it’s a factor, but it’s also about genetics. Take a look at your extended family. How do you compare in size? Are you significantly smaller? Then the goal weight you have in mind just might not make sense for your body. Stop frustrating yourself. Evaluate your goal from a different outlook. Why do you want to be that weight? What would be different if that was your weight? Is it because that number sounds good? You think it’s the “right” weight? Would you be able to run faster or lift more? Think about the answers and what they mean to you. Maybe it’s more important for your goal to be to improve your 10K time or gain strength. Remember, thin doesn’t equal fit, and vice versa. Being fit plays the bigger role in your health 🙂

Thoughts?!

Entry filed under: Breakfast, DYKT. Tags: , , , , .

Feed Me Nowww! Tropical Wheat Berry Salad

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self  |  March 2, 2010 at 6:39 am

    I think it’s all about finding your own personal “happy weight” – the weight where your body feels its best and its strongest. Too often we have a certain number we want to reach, not because it’s the best number for our bodies but because it’s the number society says is “ideal.”

    Reply
  • 2. Estela @ Weekly Bite  |  March 2, 2010 at 6:48 am

    I agree with Katie. It’s important to be realistic with our goals. Its not about being perfect, but about finding a place where we feel good about our body.

    Reply
  • 3. NYCRunnerGirl  |  March 2, 2010 at 7:02 am

    Hey, thanks for commenting on my blog! I just checked yours out, and so far I really like it.

    I definitely agree with you that thin does not equal fit. I think that sometimes weight-loss involves a periodic reassessment of goals. You may think you have a few pounds to go, and then realize that you are already at your ideal weight.

    Reply
  • 4. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down)  |  March 2, 2010 at 7:43 am

    That’s exactly why I always encourage “happy, healthy weights” rather then “perfect weights.” We are all so different, just like you said, and there’s no one-size-fits-all when it comes to health. 😀

    Pumpkin + oats = amazing. 😀

    Reply
  • 5. fitandfortysomething  |  March 2, 2010 at 9:09 am

    great idea adding amazing grass. i have always thought of it but have not. i was afraid i would ruin my oats too.
    you are right about those last five pounds! i have beaten myself up over those for far too long and you just have to learn to be happy and healthy……thanks!

    Reply
  • 6. Sophie  |  March 2, 2010 at 9:28 am

    I totally agree! I have recently adjusted my goals from weight loss to strength gain and being able to run farther. Sometimes your body is just not meant to be a size 2, and thats ok 🙂 I feel happier and healthier now with these goals than ever before!

    Reply
  • 7. Lacey  |  March 2, 2010 at 9:54 am

    i mostly agree! i think what it comes down to is erring on the side of thinness. i would rather be too thin that too big and that is just me being self-conscious. and honest about it. and sometimes being on the lighter side translates into faster running times (of course i’m not talking about skin and bones). i’m just talking about lean. i always feel like i have 5-8 lbs to lose b/c my fastest race times were when i weighed that and i FELT better and faster. but i also try not to obsess over it b/c that is not productive. as long as i am active + healthy that is what matters most.

    Reply
  • 8. Shayna @ Cuts and Curves  |  March 2, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Great willpower vs. fat loss discussion topic! I have recently dropped my weight loss plan. It was starting to drive me insane (I was restricting my calories, and working out too intensely for how many calories I was allowing myself to eat each day). I did see results with my plan, and I am close to my goal. I just realized I don’t need to sacrifice my happiness and health to get there faster 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Kelly  |  March 2, 2010 at 10:05 am

    GREAT post! I always tell my clients that a feel great weight for them needs to include three things:

    1. It needs to be a weight they feel comfortable about themselves with
    2. It needs to be a weight that is HEALTHY for their height and activity level
    3. MOST IMPORTANT: It needs to be a weight that is sustainable! There is no point in dieting down to some “ideal number” that you can’t maintain. A feel great weight is a number that is easily managed with diet and nutrition without feeling likea slave to the gym or feeling like you are always depriving yourself of food!

    Reply
  • 10. Daniel  |  March 2, 2010 at 10:16 am

    Those are some really good questions to ask yourself, great post! It really focuses in on reality and not the image of how we’re “supposed” to look presented by the media and all of that junk.

    Your oats look spectacular too. 😉

    Reply
  • 11. todayslady  |  March 2, 2010 at 10:29 am

    Awesome breakfast and great post! I 100% agree with you. I know that for me, I’m at a weight that pretty much stays the same give or take 5 pounds. I always stay this way when I’m leading a healthy, moderately active lifestyle. I know that I could drop some weight if I cut down on carbs for a while but that is not a realistic way to live and the weight would come right back. It’s taken me awhile to accept my “feel great weight” and I have but sometimes I need encouragement, like this post, to realize it again. I love all these comments too!

    Reply
  • 12. Anne Marie@New Weigh of Life  |  March 2, 2010 at 11:24 am

    I’ve never tried wheatberries, but they look so good.

    Reply
  • 13. Madeline - Greens and Jeans  |  March 2, 2010 at 11:40 am

    I think finding a healthy, happy weight for your body is incredible important! So many people focus on a number rather than how they actually FEEL!

    Reply
  • 14. Anna  |  March 2, 2010 at 11:57 am

    I’ve had many “conversations with myself” about this topic– sometimes I realize that I am working SO hard to lose five pounds– but what does five pounds matter? You can’t even see it on my frame because I’m pretty tall! I’ve accepted that the weight that my body likes to be at is about five pounds heavier than I’d like to be…but that that is absolutely fine!

    Lovely oats!

    Reply
  • 15. theprocessofhealing  |  March 2, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    I loooove pumpkin oats!! I always add banana to it too. So good.

    I do think that everyone’s “happy weight” is going to be different. You just have to figure out what works best for you.

    Reply
  • 16. marathonmaiden  |  March 2, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    banana and pumpkin isn’t something i’d think to try together but now that you mention it, it definitely sounds good. i’m going to have to pick some up at the store today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

