Tropical Wheat Berry Salad

March 2, 2010 at 1:18 pm 9 comments

This morning I was in a mad dash to pack lunch and I was absolutely convinced I had Craisins in the pantry. I didn’t see them where I usually keep them, so I immediately proceeded to rip through everything on all the shelves, searching frantically. Don’t asked me why I was so obsessed with finding dried cranberries.

I made a pitiful attempt at putting things back, then gave up. Looks like somebody’s organizing the pantry tonight. (I’m sure the husband thoroughly appreciated all the ruckus so early in the morning. Actually, I’m even more certain he slept through it like a rock.)

DSCN2521

Don’t worry, I found the Craisins:

DSCN2514

Exactly where I first looked. I blame the pre-oats morning stupor.

 

When I was making my oatmeal, I realized I might have gone a little overboard in my wheat berry making escapade. I have SO many wheat berries pre-cooked in the fridge that I’ll never get through them by oats alone.

DSCN2024

I decide to make a wheat berry salad. As I threw things in to the wheat berries, it quickly took on a tropical theme: Granny Smith apples, dried cranberries, lime juice, unsweetened coconut, walnuts, and celery. (Celery? You know, that famous tropical celery?)

DSCN2519

Next time I’d ditch the celery. That was just strange.

 

You can’t live on salad alone, so I also had barbeque pizza.

DSCN2516

Told you I’d turn into pizza. Just wait. I’m ok with it.

 

 

So on the radio on the way to work this morning they changed the snow prediction to little accumulation and mostly overnight tonight. Umm I just looked out the window…the cars in the parking lot are already covered! Geez. Bring on the 60 degrees.

Entry filed under: Lunch. Tags: , .

Perfect Oats & DYKT #5 Meatless Meatloaf

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theprocessofhealing  |  March 2, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    Yum, that salad looks great! Cept the celery.. not a fan, even if it WAS a tropical veggie ha

    Yep, snow is coming down FAST here. But not fast enough to cancel my night class yet apparantly.

    Reply
  • 2. todayslady  |  March 2, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Whew, you found the craisins! When things are missing, they’re always in the first place you looked! That salad looks so good!! yum 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  March 2, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    I love love love pizza too! The wheat berry salad looks fantastic (I’d cut the celery too, only ’cause I don’t like it though).

    Reply
  • 4. Daniel  |  March 2, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    The salad is a great idea, I’ve always wanted to try a grain-and-veggie salad but I always though it wouldn’t fill me up as much as one with leafy-greens. Maybe I could pour it all over the greens and have the best of both.

    Hopefully warm weather comes our way soon, I agree, 60 degrees or more please!

    Reply
  • 5. Heather @ Get Healthy With Heather  |  March 2, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    I love the way you’re using up left over wheat berries! They’re so good in salads and tropical fruit pairs great with it I bet! I’m not a big celery fan so I’d leave it out too

    Reply
  • 6. Kelly  |  March 2, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    haha…glad you found those craisins!! 🙂 That salad and pizza looked yum! I think if I was going to turn into a certain food (because I eat it so much) it would definitely be fro-yo! I have seriously made it it’s own food group in my world! haha!

    Reply
    • 7. Heather  |  March 2, 2010 at 7:59 pm

      I would be perfectly happy to turn into fro yo! 😉

      Reply
  • 8. Cole  |  March 2, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    Turning into pizza is definitely a-ok in my book

    Reply
  • 9. homecookedem  |  March 2, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    Woah, that looks awesome!! I’ve always wanted to try wheat berries!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

