Meatless Meatloaf

March 2, 2010 at 8:03 pm 19 comments

Don’t worry, all the food is back in the pantry. 🙂

food pantry

After seeing this recipe over at Foodologie, I knew I had to make it. I saw this on the Food Network awhile back and completely forgot about it. Love Giada’s recipes!

Of course I didn’t follow the recipe well. Here’s my version:

vegetarian meatloaf

Vegetarian Meatloaf

2/3 cup green lentils

1 cup short grain brown rice

1 can vegetable broth

1 cup water

1 rib celery, chopped

1/2 onion, chopped

1/2 c carrots, shredded

1/2 c zucchini, shredded

1/2 c frozen corn kernels

4 cups spinach, wilted

garlic & onion powder

nutmeg

black pepper

3 slices part skim mozzarella cheese

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

1/4 cup shredded Italian cheese

Sauce

1 can Italian style diced tomatoes

4 cloves garlic

lots of basil

Edited to add: Optional but highly recommended: top with roasted red peppers. YUM. Do it!

lentils and rice brown rice veggies corn

Boil broth & water. Add lentils & rice (well-rinsed). Turn heat to low; simmer while prep veggies. Add veggies to rice mixture; simmer 30 minutes. Add corn. Mix tomatoes, garlic, and basil together for sauce. Mix rice mixture, seasonings, spinach, half the sauce, mozzarella cheese, and parmesan cheese together. Spread in pan. Top with shredded cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Serve with leftover sauce on the side.

veggie meatloaf

SO GOOD. You can betcha I went back for seconds 🙂

I had dessert too:

gluten free brownie

Long story short, I tried to make my cupcakes for 24, 24, 24 gluten-free, but turns out they used spelt flour, which isn’t gluten free. So at the last minute I made some gluten-free brownies instead. These things rocked. This was the last decent looking one, but I’ve got a whole Tupperware full of un-presentable broken edges…yummm!

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , .

Tropical Wheat Berry Salad Starbuck’s Perfect Oatmeal Claim

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karla  |  March 2, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    Yay! So glad you liked it! I thought that veggie meatloaf was delish! Next time I’ll try adding extra veggies like you did!

    Reply
  • 2. theprocessofhealing  |  March 2, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    Oh girl, lucky you with all those brownie bits! Love brownies!
    And the meatloaf looks fabulous! I love Giada’s recipes. Most of hers are always so fresh and healthy.

    Reply
  • 3. Kara (@ Kara's Marathon)  |  March 2, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    Mmmm…broken brownie edges are the best! 🙂

    Congrats again on your 24, 24, 24 meal – what an awesome idea! We missed the entire cocktail hour at our wedding, and I was SO bummed to not get any mushroom crepes or pasta or anything; half the reason we booked our reception site was for the food!

    Everyone kept talking about the watermelon pirate ship (that our reception site carved to serve the fruit); I thought it was some sort of secret code, like “the crow flies at midnight”!

    Reply
  • 4. Shayna @ Cuts and Curves  |  March 2, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    It all looks so good! I’m gonna have to try out that meatloaf recipe.

    Reply
  • 5. Anna  |  March 2, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    Yum!!! That looks so good! I secretly want to be best friends with Giada so that I’ll get invited to all of her fun dinner parties! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Lisa (bakebikeblog)  |  March 2, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    oh that ‘meat’loaf looks great! I will have to give it a try for sure 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Abby  |  March 2, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Oh wow that looks so good!!!!!

    Reply
  • 8. Amy @ Second City Randomness  |  March 2, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    I always save the broken/cut off edges in the freezer for later- to mix with ice cream when I’m feeling dangerous… yum! 😉

    Reply
  • 9. Becky @ flybynyght  |  March 2, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Glad to see that you got your pantry back together…. it was making the organizer in me anxious!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Jess (Fit Chick in the City)  |  March 2, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    Those brownies look delish! I’ve also been wanting to try some sort of veggie loaf.

    Reply
  • 11. todayslady  |  March 2, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    That vegetarian meatloaf looks so good! I love veggie loaves, they are the perfect comfort food. I love that this one uses zucchini:)

    Reply
  • 12. lessonstolearn  |  March 3, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Great photography! That dish looks really good. I wonder if I could sell my husband on it…

    The broken edges of brownies are the best 🙂

    Reply
    • 13. Heather  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:16 am

      My husband said “This is ok. It’d be better with….ground beef.” Haha you can’t win them all. I loved it though, and until he starts cooking he gets what I make 😉

      Reply
  • 14. Sophie  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:09 am

    I love gf brownies, they come out so dense and fudgy!! Great “meatloaf”…should we call it veggieloaf now? =)

    Reply
    • 15. Heather  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:18 am

      Veggieloaf it is! 🙂

      Reply
  • 16. Lacey  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:10 am

    wow that is so cool!!! looks really really great.

    Reply
  • 17. Heather (Where's the Beach)  |  March 3, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    Thanks for the meatless meatloaf recipe!

    Reply
  • 18. Jenna  |  March 3, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    Yummy lasagna!

    Reply
  • 19. Penny  |  March 4, 2010 at 11:18 pm

    LOVE this recipe! Thanks for posting. Can’t wait to try it.
    Great blog you have!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! This blog is all about food & fitness, and trying to find balance after an injury. Read along as I train for a half-marathon, triathlon, & have FUN while staying healthy!

Recent Posts


13.1

Follow my training!

Join 6 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

$5 off your 1st order!

Wellsphere

